We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Rooms- Beautiful, Serene Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #73 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Rooms- Beautiful, Serene Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I went to Bali and Lombok (Gili Trawangan) on our honeymoon last year. We absolutely loved Alam Shanti and thought our room was spectacular. It was the Indus, which is not even the "best" room but it was upstairs and huge and for the price it was amazing. The bathroom was lovely with a tub/shower that was big and nice and a big area to change and store luggage. From the bathroom there were beautiful views of rice paddies behind the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful (my absolute favorite of the four hotels from our honeymoon, and they were all delicious). I especially loved the thin pancake with cinnamon and honey. The bread also was delicious and fresh from Cafe Wayan. And the rice pudding was very good (you have to order it the day before). I loved ordering every morning over the phone and they were always so polite with a "Selamat Pagi!" Then they would deliver our breakfast to our huge veranda and that was also lovely eating outside. The drink upon arrival was refreshing and there was also a yummy cake at tea time. There was a pretty flower arrangement in our room special for us for because we were on our honeymoon. The hotel staff will take you anywhere you want in Ubud (and pick you up!), which is very helpful and saves money on a taxi or gas money (we rented a car in Bali). The location is good, but we had trouble finding it. It is in walking distance to the Monkey Forest and you can walk through the monkey forest into town without having to pay the entrance fee. There is a spa at the entrance of the hotel and I had a massage there (one of MANY on our honeymoon) and it was very good. The pool area is very nice and the atmosphere of Alam Shanti is wonderful and beautiful with statues and candles along the walkways. At night the staff closed all the windows and put a coil outside our door to keep out bugs. This was very helpful as there were many windows! The room itself really was amazing, it was ornate and SO big (there were two beds!). Don't miss Ubud, there is so much to see and do there, and don't miss Alam Shanti! (we also went to Alam Indah briefly when we got lost on the way to Alam Shanti and it seemed very similar).

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fredders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
157
283
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

This hotel is gorgeous. Upon arrival, we were given fresh fruit juice while we checked in. We then walked through the beautifully manicured grounds to our room, which was the bottom half of a villa filled with gorgeously carved furniture. The main room is air-conditioned; the dressing room, bathroom and shower are not -- in fact, it's open-air where the shower walls hit the roof. We also had a big porch, which is where they brought our breakfast daily. The whole property has a very calm vibe -- it's definitely filled with couples in their 30s, 40s, or 50s looking to chill out, not party. There's also a nice infinity pool stocked with towels available for a swim until 9 p.m. at night. The staff is also pretty spectacular -- I definitely recommend getting set up with a driver to take a tour of Ubud and the surrounding countryside. It's worth it. And the spa there is phenomenal and cheap -- my hour-long massage was $19 USD. The hotel is a bit far from central Ubud, but a free shuttle will get you into town (and possibly home, though we just usually cabbed it). My only complaint would be the open-air nature of the bathroom. One night, going in there all bleary-eyed, I saw a two foot-long gecko on the wall, clearly more freaked out by me than I was by him. On my last morning there, there was a large spider in the shower, which definitely freaked me out. I guess that's just the flip side of having a beauitful, open-air shower, but I prefer to *not* share my bathrooms w/ any creatures.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighlee0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

I think it's all been said before. This is a lovely place to stay and I can't think of anything that would improve it. We stayed in Saraswati which was huge with a lovely verandah. Sitting there in a downpour, listening to the crickets in the evening and birds in the morning was a great experience.
The staff arrange trips for you and we visited the elephant sanctuary and did the paddy walk. The paddy walk is good for learning about Balinese culture and our host Darta was very good at explaining it all to us. After we stopped by his house for breakfast.
Down the road is the sister restaurant where they have Balinese dances three times a week. Be prepared to join in on the Thursday night as the girls get the audience to dance with them at the end.
The shuttle service to Ubud is really good, though do walk through the monkey forest at least once - the banyan trees are amazing and if you ignore the monkeys and don't have food they leave you alone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

I've tried to write this 3 times including Video..but it will not go thru ...so in summary ..the best place we have ever stayed. Thank you to the other reviewers who have said it all...JUST BOOK ...you will not be sorry.
For romantic couples. I kept the full details a secret from my wife and when we arrived at night the feeling was unbelievable walking into the gardens then the rooms.We thought we were in paradise.
5 days min would be perfect if you can afford it...not cheep....we could only get 3 night ..thats how popular it is ...PS they have other Alam places near by so check the reviews if you can not get in here........you wont want to leave !!
Remember you have to go into town for L/ Dinner meals which was not a problem in by free shuttle and 30r back by taxi or walk beside the Monkey Forest for 10min.

Take pleant of spare disc space the gardens are beautiful
The free shuttle is great, the massage at the street front spa is fantastic.....now go and book it !!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FelixF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the extensive reviews in tripadvisors and we very pleased with our experience there. In fact its our most memorable place in our 24days stay across Asia/Southeast Asia. We had the whole house including the Indus and Narmada rooms.. The rooms were spacious, beautifully designed, attentions to details, beautiful gardens, nice pool, and has this wonderful charm about it.. It is not one of those bling bling place or ultra luxurious, but simple and serene, one that lingers in your mind after you leave, like an after scene or taste that are pleasant and delightful.
The walk from the hotel to the Ubud town is about 20 mins, through the monkey forrest.. The monkeys can be pretty vicious and they were trying to snatch my fruits in my plastic bags. You also go through some wooden shacks where local trying to sell local crafts and batiks. I tried it twice but prefer to use the complimentary minibus provided by the hotel. You can ring the hotel for the pickups from anywhere in ubud town..
The memorable things for us is the service by the staff, the wonderful high quality breakfast in the morning and the house we stayed in.. I tried the indonesian pre order breakfast and it turned out delicious.. They serve this wonderful black rice in coconut milk and it was simply divine..
We also used its sister restaurant up the road lelaki which also has a good menu.. They daytrip provided by the hotel was great and pretty reasonable..
The downside? Hard to find I am afraid..!! Ubud is such a beautiful place and we were pleased to have stayed in Alam Shanti and we shall treasured our experience there...

  • Liked — The design and layout of the place, the garden, the breakfast, the people etc
  • Disliked — Not in the high street or Ubud
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PHILYEOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Excellent, had a great time. I have chosen the hotel as a X-mas surprise 2 day trip to Ubud also based on the reviews at tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed. It is such a lovely hotel. Stayed in the Dewi room. The place is so romantic, quiet we did not want to leave, will definetely be back. The service was excellent. Try also the recommended cafe Wayan in Ubud, you will not be dissapointed and the spa in front of the hotel.

  • Liked — The overall atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Short stay.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Great place! Stayed a week and enjoyed every day of it.

Lovely garden, huge room, friendly staff, quite, relaxing.

Staying with two small kids (1 and 3 years old) worked very well. Great garden for exploration, pool for swimming and three minutes walk to the monkey forrest.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No beach...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sigsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Jiwa
Alam Jiwa
#49 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#40 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#8 of 512 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing