We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second favorite place on earth!”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #75 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My second favorite place on earth!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Oh Bali, how I love you. We were a group of 3 early 30's ladies travelling together for one last trip before we got married and moved away from our homes in Italy. We booked this hotel based on reviews and we were NOT sorry for it. The place is divine. I imagine it might be hard to get bad service in Bali, as the people in general were so wonderfully respectful and genuine.

From the welcome drink at reception, which was a delightful banana-ish smoothie (YUM!), to the sweet people who looked after us every day, we felt like royalty. I forgot our room name, but it was upstairs facing away from the resort. Very spacious rooms, lovely open air balcony with furniture to lounge on, gorgeous tub and bathroom. The only drawback to the hotel for me was being hot, I can't recall if they had no air conditioning or just not one big enought to cool the very large suite. It was so hot and humid, but you really can't get around that in Bali. We expected this so it was fine. The service is simply outstanding, we returned to our room once and there was a (VERY) large spider right on the key lock on the door. I was not expecting it so I screamed. The workers came running from everywhere to check on us. I apologized profusely for the fuss, and one of the men took care of the offending creature. :-) Every morning we walked the grounds and checked out the pools looking at all the vegetation. It's hard to take in just how gorgeous Bali is until you spend some time there.

We did enjoy the pool and the spa services. Wonderful service and facilities. These folks are true care takers. The free shuttle into town was a huge hit with us as we didn't have to sweat the walk in and back. It was easy to go grab dinner, shop and take in shows knowing we didn't have to walk everywhere. I remember the resort being very close to the moneky forrest, we walked and it was one of the highlights of our trip.

While I can't recall the name, one evening we were hngry, but wanted food close, so they recommended what I think was a sister hotel just next door to them. We sat on a patio legs crossed on beautiful pillows at a low table surrounded by tiki torches in the middle of a wade pond on a huge wooden deck. frogs croaking all around made the atmosphere fabulous. And it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Chicken skewers, some sort of curry, it was awesome. And our meals were about $4 each, so we tipped well.

Overall, I loved this place. I'd return to say again in a heartbeat. You can't really beat the price for the service and accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
162
285
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The location in Ubud was not the best because because it took a good 15 minutes to walk to the edge of town. The hotel had a shuttle but not convent. The staff went out of there way to help.. Wi-Fi in the room did not work, had to go to reception.. Lots of stairs to our room on the second floor. Each building had 2 units..
Need a driver call Dewa Parsi ph 081-747-00276
E-mail dewaparsi@yahoo.com

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My first trip to Bali.I was disapointed in Bali way over built ugh!!!Thats the way of the world now!!
We stayed in Ubud at the Alam Shanti property for 5 nights.Everything about our villa stay was perfect.The service was top notch as well as the food and location.They even have free shuttle service into town!!!

I shout out 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livetoravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This beautiful place is like a paradise. Well maintained property, clean and very very hospitable staff. We stayed in Utari room, which was an independent bungalow with the rice field view. Its proximity to the town centre was another added advantage. Kudos to the team and management for creating such a beautiful property.

Room Tip: " Utari room and the adjacent room, with the rice field view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shreenathunplugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Alam Shanti five or six times. We've stayed In a number of different rooms of which Gangga, Indus and Gayatri would be my pick.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable with airy balconies
It's a beautiful property with friendly and helpful staff which makes it a perfect place to relax.

When we go to Bali we use Bali Nice tours who provide a VIP service at the airport and we also use them for transport around the island. Wayan and his brother Made are always there to greet us. They speak fluent English and have an incredible knowledge of the island, their rates are very reasonable and they are great company during any journey and very reliable.

They can be found at www.balinicetour.com

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are the best option in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent traditional boutique hotel among ricefields. The room was outstanding, in traditional style but with all the modern amenities, and a private pool (shared with the room downstairs but separate from the rest of the hotel). Staff as is usual in Indonesia was very friendly, and in-house massages are of good quality and affordable.

We very much enjoyed the pool, and having breakfast in the terrace with views of the rice fields and of the monkeys doing their morning gathering round. Great property to rest and to get to know the not-so-touristy Bali.

PS We stayed at this property in June 2012.

Room Tip: We stayed at "Mangga" room, which was outstanding (private terrace, outside but covered ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkamBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Alam Shanti Ubud is a tipical Balinese Resort. Simple Breakfast. Friendly staff. At the Wangi Spa I had a tension relief back massage, which was very relaxing.
The rooms are very clean, some with air condition.
If you like to experience tipical balinese coulture and you do not miss the cappuccino in the morning this is the right hotel.
The owner Wayan has many Restaurants in Ubud, they offer great food: Laka Leke, Indus, Cafe Wayan (Buffet on Sunday), Casa Luna.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#66 of 198 in Ubud
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#56 of 198 in Ubud
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 198 in Ubud
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing