We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to stay”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #71 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Alam Shanti. We keep coming back because the place is fantastic. The staff are friendly and always helpful. We stay in Yamuna, which is a large room and has the most beautiful outlook and private pool, which we love. We will always come back to Alam Shanti it feels like a part of us and a home away from home. Big thanks to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 579 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here one night in the Garden House Saraswati ( upper floor) room. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our little oasis. There was a large sitting room with windows throughout and a separate bedroom and washroom which had AC. We didn't have a chance to enjoy afternoon tea as we were rushing to tour around with our wonderful driver Wayan Lia. The room had all the amenities you needed but as others have noted don't leave food around due to the ants.
We phoned in our breakfast request which was delivered to our room and the table set nicely for breakfast (you can also eat in the reception area). We didn't have time to use the pool but it was very nice and refreshing looking.
The hotel is down a long laneway removed from the busy street and there is an air of serenity in the setting.
There is lots to do in Ubud, monkey forest, shops, Bali dance show (we went to an evening show)
We would definitely return if we are in the Ubud area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper floor which had a nice view...if someone had mobility problems they would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriends and i stayed here for 6 nights & it definately lived up to its 'Travellers choice' Reputation and the well deserved wraps on Tripadvisor.
Everything, location just out of the hussle & noice, with a very easily organised free shuttle in and out. Although, it is an easy walk along side the Monkey forest if you want to brave them jumping at you.. twice !!
The grounds are just beautiful, we stayed in the Gangga Room with the Private Pool, which was awesome & the staff are beautiful. Having had to rearrange our travels the reception were on and off the phone for us helping out, no problem. The balcony, comfy lounges and open air bathrooms are cool & add that wonderful special 'im on holidays' feel. Overlooking the rice paddies, this is BALI !!!
Breaky delivered to our room was great and if your around afternoon tea as well, which we had around our pool. My girldfriends used the spa on site as well & loved the massage.
Would go back in a heartbeat.... this is a real gem !!!

Room Tip: Gangga with Private Pool, large & we slept 5 no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAE1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have just come back from 10 days holiday in Bali. We stayed in 3 different hotels during our holiday and Alam Shanti is my best hotel. We stayed in Narmada room. Although there somebody stayed on the second floor room, we almost always had the garden to ourselves.
It is a little way from the centre of Ubud but the hotel shuttle bus provided rides whenever we asked for it. I asked the suttle bus to a dance performance at the Ubud palace and the driver came to pick me up after the performance, pronto.

We enjoyed the quietness (well, except the roosters in the mornings). The property was gorgeous and breakfast was fantastic. They had water-bottle refill service, which is a big plus. If we had a chance, we will come back. This is such a precious little hotel. Thank you Alam Shanti and the staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megumi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I visit Bali three or four times a year and am always looking for somewhere new to stay. I found Alam Shanti on Trip Advisor and decided to join my daughter on an impromptu 6 night holiday to Ubud at the beginning of February. We were very lucky to get accommodation at the last minute, I understand the Alam group of hotels in Ubud are booked out for months in advance. We had to split our stay into two bookings, 3 nights in Gayatri; the house in the rice fields, and the following 3 days in Narmada.

They were both excellent and both so different. We preferred our stay in Gayatri, the room was smaller and more cosy, and we loved the balcony and view out to the rice fields. Having said that, we were also ambushed by monkeys one morning and lost most of our breakfast! The staff however responded very quickly to our cries of help and continued to patrol the area until they felt the monkeys had all move away. The Namarda room was much larger, with a huge verandah, huge bathroom, an outside kitchen and a separate dressing room....we felt like we should have invited all our friends to come and stay!

The staff and service were outstanding, and they had the best shuttle arrangement in and around Ubud that I have ever come across. The pool area was beautiful and even though the hotel was apparently full, each time we swam there we never saw anyone else, so we felt like we were in our own private villa. The hotel is close enough to walk to the centre of Ubud, and far enough away to feel like you're not with all the other tourists. Take a good torch with you if you intend to walk back to the hotel at night around the monkey forest....it's dark but safe, the monkeys are all asleep.

We enjoyed this hotel so much I booked two more stays in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jbabe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What an amazing experience!! Alam Shanti met and exceeded our expectations in every possible way. The location was fantastic - very convenient to central Ubud but located behind the Monkey Forest Sanctuary to create some distance between you and the throngs of tourists. The property is absolutely gorgeous, our room (Saraswati) was spacious with a fantastic balcony, and the staff is accommodating and professional to a fault. The breakfasts and afternoon tea breaks were very appreciated, and although we only sat at the pool once, it was absolutely lovely. The only complaint we had was with the WiFi - for some reason, we had to continually log in to stay connected to the network, but considering we were on it so infrequently, it wasn't a major concern. The price was very reasonable considering the value we received - we won't hesitate to book there again on our next trip!!

Room Tip: The Sarawati suite was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oriolesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we arrived at our guesthouse, the Alam Shanti off Monkey Forest Road, we felt ourselves completely cut off from any of the negative aspects of development to be seen out on the main streets of Ubud. And yet all the attractions of Ubud are close by, and far outweigh any shortcomings resulting from such rapid development

The guesthouse was beautiful beyond belief, with villas spread out among gorgeous gardens and ponds, enhanced by many flowers and well kept grass and trees. Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated in excellent taste.

Moreover, the service was outstanding. As with other Indonesians, or some would claim more so, the Balinese are extremely personable, pleasant and charming, always greeting people including strangers with smiles and appropriate words. We were particularly well treated by being able to take breakfast and afternoon tea anywhere on the property, and we had a very efficient shuttle service to go any place in town. My wife got her hair cut and I scheduled a message at the spa which in the same complex and run by the same people. And the swimming pool was spectacularly beautiful. A great place to stay!

In addition, the hotel arranged for the hire of an excellent driver to help us get where we wanted to go. His name was Dewa Parsi, who was willing and very able to drivw ua ro see the scenery, temples and other sights outside town, who had enough knowledge of English to carry on a good conversation, and who charged only $10 an hour That was our introduction to Dewa whom we hired for the next day (Tuesday). He turned out to be the key to our enjoyment and learning in Ubud. He took great care of us, told us where to eat, where to go for anything we wanted. He was so good to us that I paid him more than he asked and when he insisted that the standard price for the hour’s drive back to Denpasar airport was about $25 or a little more, I told him that was totally ridiculous and it should be a lot more. So after viewing temples and the scenery around Ubud on Tuesday, we hired him again on Wed just to facilitate our shopping and getting from one place in town to another without expiring from the heat. We had a list and we whipped around and visited all the galleries and did the other errands we needed to. We even went to the post office to mail home books I had bought in order to lighten our load..
Dewa was ready to talk to us about anything and everything and what he thought of it.For example, one of Dewa’s firm convictions was that tourism was an unqualified good because it brings money and employment, tourists should be able to do what they want to enjoy themselves, and that they should be free to take photos of anything and everything, except pornography. At the same time Dewa is strongly devoted to Balinese language and criticizes those Balinese who speak the national language Bahasa Indonesian too much. But he and his wife do speak some English to their children because they think that is essential to learn. He is also critical of people who have sold their land, leaving them no fields to raise food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack-1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#72 of 198 in Ubud
425 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#45 of 198 in Ubud
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 198 in Ubud
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 198 in Ubud
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 198 in Ubud
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $83 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing