We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So peaceful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alam Shanti to your Saves list
Alam Shanti
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Alam Shanti is the most amazing place to relax. We stayed at the Shindu villa accommodation, which has all the comforts of home and the staff takes care of you at any time when you need them. The staff are friendly, competent and helpful. The main pool area is amazing and the local wildlife is extraordinary. You can take your complimentary afternoon tea and early evening cocktails in various settings and the quality of all meals is excellent. We really enjoyed the Kecak Dance evening at Leke Leke and we felt the experience was very authentic. The unique setting of this small resort is truly magical. The staff deserve a special mention as they took a personal interest in ensuring you had a wonderful stay.
Thank you for a wonderful experience - world class and exceeded our expectations
Will return in the future :)))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElenaMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
152
282
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
funked27
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nothing to complain about. Stunning location and incredible service. Will go back in a heartbeat...rooms were beautiful, pool perfect and service incredibly friendly. Also went to the spa which is on site and had an excellent massage, although the price we paid didn't seem to be the one they were advertising, so only comment would be to check what it will cost before booking, but that it is a tiny quibble and was still very cheap...

Room Tip: All good, as far as I could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funked27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We returned to this piece of paradise and were happy to discover that our memories had not let us down. Surrounded by greenery, a wonderful breakfast, traditional decor and warm staff. The pool area was a place to cool down and read whole surrounded by serenity. We stayed in the house by the rice paddies and listened to the frogs at night and had a great view of the New Year's Eve fireworks.

This complex is out of the town of Ubud but a shuttle bus or a walk through or around the Monkey Forest means that the many restaurants and shops are not far away.

On our last day my daughter and I enjoyed time at the spa and we had a cooking class one day too. Both of these activities I'd happily recommend to everyone :)

We also had a thieving monkey so keep valuables inside, and behind closed doors, he stole, and enjoyed, fruit and a whole packet of biscuits. Clever thing was also able to turn on the taps to get a drink.

Room Tip: There are a great variety of rooms on the property. Different prices and sizes will help make choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just far enough. We hired a moped (very very cheap from near Alam Shanti) to zip around Ubud and miles and miles beyond, on we parked up right outside Purwati. Our accommodation was delightful, in the middle of a rice field, where the monkeys would rock up while we were having breakfast and occasionally be a bit cheeky and take a piece of fruit from the table, we saw the odd guest now and again in reception on our way out, but other than that it felt like we had the place to ourselves although obviously we didn’t. We liked it here and could totally understand why it gets great reviews; we would have preferred a shower to the huge sunken bath that took forever to fill but that our only was minor issue. We would stay here again and tell our friends to as well. Nice touches were breakfast brought across the rice field to our accommodations for us to enjoy on the veranda, and if were were there in the afternoon, tea and cake would appear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Purwati room which is the downstairs room overlooking the rice fields. We loved our room however would definitely try and get in earlier next time to try an grab an upstairs room, as many of them had large, private decks.

As mentioned by other reviewers, we had the lovely pool to ourselves most days. We loved the breakfast and found it to be more than ample in amount.

We caught the shuttle into town for dinner most nights and a cab back. As all Alam properties are well known, taxis never had a problem finding it.

Alam indah is literally 2 minutes down the road closer to the monkey forest and also looks amazing.

Only downside was the height of the shower head in our room. You could not stand up and use which was a little annoying.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanniesDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the Sarasvati room, wonderful! Second floor of a villa and a private oasis. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Staff were amazing, so friendly. Afternoon tea and breakfast brought to our balcony (huge!) every day. Lots of choice with food. Highly reccommended, there is a reason you have to book so far in advance! We finally got to stay here after booking 9 months in advance! Great location, so much to see and explore in Ubud. Highly reccommend booking a motorbike (if comfortable doing so) to explore the local villages and surrounding temples.A short 10 minute walk into Ubud from the hotel, but they also provide a free shuttle service. Stay here for a true taste of Bali.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sarasvati room, very private and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaliGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman mt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our second stay at Alam Shanti and it was great both times. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculate, with frog and lily ponds and private trails to the rooms. The room was luxury with outdoor bathroom and private waterfall and pond in the shower area, the staff fabulous, the breakfast wonderful, and the location was near the center of Ubud but away far enough for quiet and solitude.

Room Tip: second floor has the best view but all the rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llamamamabzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#47 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#53 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#19 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#134 of 169 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#42 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Shanti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing