We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - hard to beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #55 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
255 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - hard to beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our second stay at Alam Shanti and one we intend to make an annual event. This time we stayed with friends for a week and took the pool rooms, Gangga and Yumana. The hotel staff could not be better and the location and setting of Alam Shanti superb with comfortable restaurants within easy walking distance (Kertiyassa Bungalows, Lake Leke including cultural shows 4 nights a week & Coffee & copper) . If you want to go further afield the drop off / pick up complimentary service works really well. The gardens are immaculate and serene. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
152
282
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay Vic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My sister and l stayed in Indus room for 4 nights early Nov 2012. The room was extremely comfortable. There is plenty of room with a queen bed and a huge single bed. The bathroom/dressing room area has to be seen to be believed. For 2 women it was heaven with a dressing table with plenty of room for 2 and a big wardrobe each. 2 full length mirrors also. There was a bath and a free standing shower.
The service was friendly and very organized. The breakfast on the balcony such a beautiful way to start each day.
The shuttle service always reliable and great drivers on busy Ubud roads.
This is my second Alam property (stayed at Alam Indah before). The quality and calm/serenity about these places is so special.
The Alam Wangi spa delivered really good treatments in a truly beautiful environment up next to the pool. We often had the pool to ourselves. All the rooms were full l think but the place remains quite and relaxing. Loved this experience and hope to go again.

Room Tip: Air con helpful in November but when we stayed in July not necessary as much cooler and a fan was en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torquay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A lovely place slightly away from the main street of Ubud. Just take a 10mins walk pass monkey forest and you will reach Ubud town. The villa itself is so peaceful and calm. Service was great. Love the serenity around the whole resort. The free shuttle is tremendously helpful for dining out.
Well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Lumbung house decorate is really nice. Especially the paddy view!!! Lie at the sofa, look at outside, is really relax n enjoy~~ Can order 1 day before, send breakfast to ur house. The breakfast is delicious, I reli like the jaffer. Staff friendly and service also very good.
Only 2 thing have to improve:
1) Room's floor not really clean, have dust.
2) And the bed can do it more clean, also have a bit dust.
Overall consider prefect!!! Keep it... Must going back in the future, and try other room type.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicechai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I did so love this place. I wish I could have stayed longer than the restful week we did.

We opted to pay the extra for the Gangga suite and were so glad we did. The private pool was such a lovely addition to what was already a wonderful experience.

The service at this place is faultless; not gushing insincere servitude as may be experienced in some hotels, but a genuine and understated desire to assist. From the moment that you are greeted at Alam Shanti with a cool welcoming fruit drink, to the moment you leave, nothing is too much trouble. They will suggest places to eat and make bookings without quibble, translating to and fro. The staff bringing the breakfast of a morning and clearing up afterwards were delightful and were integral to the pleasure of our stay.

The hotel itself is set in extensive grounds of beautiful gardens, lovingly maintained. The singing frogs and geckos of a night make it an opera!

The rooms themselves are by no means luxurious in a traditional Western sense but nor should they be; they are spacious and beautiful in an authentic way. The soaring ceiling was decorated with beautiful painting (and geckos!). Our private verandah was spacious and proved to be an important addition to our living arrangements, allowing us to read outside of a morning before going downstairs for a dip.

The view from our verandah over the rice fields, often being tilled of a morning, provided a splendid setting for breakfast. Breakfast comprised options including wafer thin pancakes -- more of a crepe -- with thinly sliced banana and palm sugar. So delicious. Juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and tea / coffee made for a filling start to the day. Afternoon tea was also provided for guests, lovely cakes and tea or coffee.

Alam Shanti Is a little out of town, about a 10 to 15 minute walk adjacent to the Monkey Forest. However, the hotel also provides a car service so if you are feeling lazy -- or merely disinclined to battle monkeys! -- you can get a car into town and then arrange for it to collect you wherever. This was a terrific way to have dinner of a night and then come home again.

All up I could not fault Alam Shanti. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It's a magnificent property run by gracious people. I would return in a flash.

A tip: book well ahead. Thanks to reviews like this, it is popular and so it is advisable to book well ahead of travel. Also, take advantage of the car service to and fro Denpasar Airport. At $25 each way, it's a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We didn't stay at the Alam Shanti but we did use the spa which was lovely. It was down a little lane near some rice paddies then there were 2 beautiful free standing rooms to which my husband and I used one of them for our beautiful massage. After the massage we were taken to a little eatery near the rooms and were given tea and cake which were lovely little touches to the whole experience.Try it it is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrnamboolBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embsay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights here and kind of falling in love with this place. Want to stay here forever, very beautiful resort, clean and quiet. Room was big and we have our private pool, that was cool. Great service, courteous, friendly staffs, great breakfast. And one of our reason to stay here is price was very reasonable. Absolutely recommend to my friend!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#47 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#52 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#17 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#134 of 169 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#43 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Shanti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing