We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the middle of ricefields”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #76 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“in the middle of ricefields”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Luxury rooms and apartments in the middle of rice fields. The service is very good and the location very quite. Perfect place to relax. It is located 15 min walk to the centre of Ubud. there are 2 restaurants connected with the hotel. They are good but as for other restaurants, the price is higher than in warums (kind of budget restaurants).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
160
285
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Alam Shanti is really a nice place to stay, so quite and relaxing. The hotel ground is amazing and I couldn't stop contemplating our breathtaking garden (we stayed in Shindu). As for the room itself, well, I think the comment of my 5-year-old daughter entering the room sumarizes it all: "Maman, this IS a real princess room!!!".
I have only one negative comment regarding the swimming pool, indeed the water was so green that it was not transparent (you could not see the pool bottom or even your arms & feet once in the water)... I would recommend to clean it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyager5792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

lucky for us, when planning our trip to bali Alam Shanti was named as travellers choice 2012 and they still had 1 room available (Purwati). Alam Shanti was our first hotel in a 3 week tour aroud Bali and it could not have been a better choice. huge airco room overlooking the rice fields, big bed and 2 huge terrasses, one for breakfast and one with daybed for an afternoon nap. huge marble bathroom with a bath (although not very practicle when washing your hair but plenty of hot water). fridge, watercooker, flowers everywhere and our own elefant for worshipping. nice infinity pool surrounded by lotus flowers with sunbeds and sun or shade, great spa for balinese massage and lovely attendants. great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, eggs, fresh bread and tea or coffee.
waking up the first day there came a monkey, and another one (lets take pictures), then two more, in no time more than 60 monkeys in all sizes had taken over not only the rice fields and the trees but also our terrace and breakfast table. as the big alpha was kind of aggresive, we called reception: 2 boys with katapults were very apt in chasing them away.
our driver Dewa Parsi came to meet us at the airport and has been driving us around for several days. his english is excellent, he is very knowledgable on Bali and things to do and see, helping us finding nice places to eat and bargaining in markets. and on top of that: the rabbit my daughter insisted on buying in a market (sooo cute....) is now his daughter's pet rabbit! we highly recommend Dewa when in Bali! mobile 081 747 002 76, email dewaparsi@yahoo.com.
for dinner we took the (free) shuttle into Ubud: going and coming back whenever we called. following recommendations on tripadvisor, we enjoyed meals in Cinta, Ibu rai and Batan waru.
one day we went cycling in a small group, only 4 of us and perfectly organised by Agung of Bali Moon Group, Monkey Forest Street 12B. on the way up to the vulcano we visited a herb garden where we tasted lupak coffee, we had a snack in a restaurant overlooking Batur crater, and good bikes to go down for approx 40 km in 2,5 hours through little villages and rice fields with sanctuaries everywhere . lunch was in a local balinese place. it was a lovely day that we warmly recommand!
all in all we were very pleased and next time in Ubud we will surely stay in Alam Shanti again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myriam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I absolutely enjoyed our stay here at Alam Shanti. The rooms were beautiful, overly spacious and clean. The decor is Balinese but not over the top. Very tasteful touches everywhere. The staff were so accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was served daily to our room and it was superb ! There were also some restaurants on the same street where you turn into Alam Shanti. I would suggest Laka Leke and catch one of there theater performances. I will definitely stay here when I return to Bali. The only negative is trying to find the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Alam Shanti is pure MAGIC!!!!
The hotel setting is superb, the room BEAUTIFULL, the surroundings breath taking and the breakfasts delicious!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMayrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked Alam shanti on recommendation by our family members who had stayed here before and had loved the place. We booked the Dewi room 6 months in advance as this property gets booked quite early.

Its located just 5 mins away from the main Ubud market in a lovely village which makes you feel very very close to nature. The property is absolutely stunning and beautiful. The staff are as good as the property. We were welcomed with smiling faces and a refreshing drink on our arrival. 5 mins of paperwork and we were off to our room which was the closest to the reception. The Dewi room is huge with a large balcony and a day bed - exactly how it has been shown in pictures on their website.

The Indonesian breakfast served here was the best we have had in Bali. They also serve complimentary evening tea with cake of the day either in your room or by the pool - we preferred ours by the pool. We also took a full body spa which was pretty good and worth the price.

They have added 2 more villas across the rice fields which we were skeptical to book as they were a bit far. But after reaching the property we realized how it would have been more amazing to stay in the villa by the rice fields - its absolutely safe with even more beautiful views.

There is a bike rental shop right outside the hotel where you can even book tours. Though, we resorted to Google maps and planned all our trips on our own - bird & reptile park, elephant park, etc. There is a shortcut via the monkey forest that makes you reach the main ubud market within a couple of mins on a bike - we loved taking this road. There is a huge supermarket in the main market which is where we went for anything and everything we needed - except food and street shopping.

All in all - Alam Shanti and Ubud are already in our redo list.

Room Tip: Order their Indonesian Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunalbahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, QLD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Alam Shanti for three nights at the end of our holiday and found it super relaxing. The Spa was amazing and we loved being away from the hustle and the bustle of the town centre. It's close to a cooking school, yoga and the breakfasts were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alam Jiwa
Alam Jiwa
#51 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing