We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As good as everyone says - or better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #55 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“As good as everyone says - or better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Having stayed at Alam Indah last year, we knew we were in for a treat staying at another Alam property this time. And we were not dissappointed. The rooms and buildings are very similar to Alam Indah. So spacious and well set out. We had the Dewi room, upstairs and close to reception - but totally private and quiet. The bathroom is bigger than our lounge room at home, with a dressing area off to the side and semi-separate toilet. I loved the huge bath too!
Lovely comfy bed and a gorgeous day bed on the balcony. It was hard to not relax. The gardens are supurb. Pool was lovely - not huge, but we're not the sit-around-the-pool types. For an afternoon dip to cool off ,it was perfect.
And the staff are couteous and friendly. We used their shutle to get to and from the main town a few times which was so convenient. But we also enjoyed the walk through the monkey forest and quiet village.
A picture tells a thousand words, so I'm uploading a few thousand words to give you more details.
Last word for those concerned about creepy-crawlies - yes, there were gekos in and around the room, and heaps of bugs and butterflies in the garden - like everywhere else in Bali.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
153
282
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have just came back from our journey to Bali and Gili Trawangan. We stayed at Alam Shanti for 6 nights and our room was Lumbung house. I only can say that everything was simply excellent! This experience putted us very close to the nature and to the Balinese culture.
The whole cominication around our booking was very fast and efficient - they usually replayed until 24 hours and answered all our questions and needs. The location of the hotel is very good - near to the Monkey Forest and Monkey Street (which is one of the main trade and entertainment street in Ubud). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - they even send some belonging of mine to our next hotel in Sanur because I forgot it in our room, while we were on Gili T. The hotel has a beautiful garden and small but clean and comfortable water pool which we liked to use at the afternoons. The food was excellent as well.
We spend two evenings at Laka Leke restaurant near by which was owned by the same family and was also very good. They had a performance every second day - usually a Balinese dances which are very interesting, like story.
I highly recommend Alam Shanti hotel for your travel to Bali and Ubud!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gregorexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights at alam shanti and it was everything it promised to be. We stayed in Narmada and it was extremely comfortable and private. The staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is trouble. Our yummy breakfast was delivered to our balcony and we watched the geckos and butterflies and listened to frogs in the waterlilly pond. The pool was beautiful and the spa treatments were excellent. Location is out of the business of ubud centre and we enjoyed the walk through the monkey forest into ubud each day. The shuttle collected in town at our request. The nearby restaurants are great for dinner - For a restful and relaxing holiday alam shanti ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Narmada was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AngelaG164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in the Saraswati room on this visit and the Laksmi room two years ago. We thought our last visit was good, but this time was even better. The Saraswati room is upstairs and has a nice private outdoor lounge area. The bedroom area is comfortable with a big bath, efficient AC and a lovely mosquito netted bed. Terrific, friendly service by the staff; yummy breakfast each day. The pool and spa are a great plus too. The free as needed shuttle service to and from town is a big plus. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The Saraswati room is good for a couple. Private and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were lucky enough to get 3 nights at the Lumbung House as I understand this hotel is very popular and deservedly so. The Lumbung is set a short walk away from the others, but there is a second house next door. Its 2 storeys, although the ground floor is probably a bit of wasted space really. Nice patio area to sit out ond look after very peaceful surrounds - although beware monkeys!One chased us into our room and tried to grab my husband's snack and it was quite intimidating, although the staff quickly scared it off. Pool is gorgeous, perfect temperature, and bacause its a small hotel, most of the time we had it to ourselves. Nice breakfast that was delivered hot every morning with the best mixed juice ever. We also went on a rice padi walk organised by the hotel which I definitely recommend as we learnt about traditional Balinese beliefs and how these are being challenged.Pricewise excellent value $US75 per night. Only cons for us was the shower could have been better, and the shortcut through the monkey forest was definitely not an experience we cared to repeat. But if you don't mind the monkeys then go for it! Free pickup and drop off anywhere in Ubud too at any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is my husband's favourite hotel in Bali. We booked last minute so the only room available was the Gangga room which is the top floor of the bungalow that has a private pool.
We paid A$200 per night with breakfast and afternoon tea
Pros
Very authentic Balinese room - huge.
Beautifully decorated, lovely furniture
Choice of open sided bathroom or outdoor bathroom - very decadent
The big verandah with fabulous, relaxing views over the trees - a heavenly place to have breakfast or an evening drink
The beautiful super clean "private pool"
The on call transport service
Position - we took the short cut through the monkey forest to restaurants and shops
Friendly staff
Pros
Price - we think this room is a bit overpriced compared to all the other places we stayed. $150 might be a fairer price
The bedding is getting really old and could be cleaner - time to replace it if you want to keep charging these prices
The so called "private pool". We may have just been unlucky but this pool is shared with the ground floor room and the occupants had friends dropping by who were also using the pool.
The main pool was also out of action for a day so that meant all the hotel guests had to use "our" pool. This included a really noisy, obnoxious kid and his loud , inconsiderate parents . I am not sure how the hotel can police who uses the pool .
I know this sounds selfish but one of the drawcards of staying here was to have the pool to ourselves and we paid a lot extra for a privelege we didn't get :(
The main pool - what a disappointment !! This was new since our last stay and it was really awful - not a nice setting - lacked any atmosphere and didn't look very inviting.
I know my husband will kick and scream ...but.....I think Alam Shanti has slipped a lot since our last stay and at it's current price level and with so much competition, I think we will be staying somewhere else on our next visit to Ubud

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasília
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Second time there, this time I got the room Gayatri, in front of the rice fields. Very good breakfast, nice pool and spa. Staff very efficient, free transportation for the restaurants in Ubud center, but very nice walk though Monkey Forest if you walk to the center. New very good restaurants in the surroundins. Always exellent!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank augmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#47 of 171 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#54 of 171 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#131 of 171 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#34 of 171 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#66 of 171 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Shanti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing