We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy and damp rooms with bad smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sahadewa Resort & Spa
Ranked #145 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mouldy and damp rooms with bad smell”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my friend decided to go back to Ubud during our 3 weeks vacation as we liked it so much. I found this hotel on the internet and called to see if I could bargain on price, I ot one deluxe room for 600 rupiah which was ok. We came and got a really beautiful rooms as we thought at the first sight. When the staff left us we felt the really bad and mouldy smell and saw the stains on walls after water/rain. The room was really damp and my friend went to the reception to complain. The staff said that before us it was a family from India in our room and that they often use badsmelling oils (?) and they put in a airfreshener. We went for a swim in the pool, which had really nasty water. You couldnt see the bottom of the pool while the water was so dirty. When we came back to the room after a swim and a massage in spa the smell was even worse so we said we rally had to change room. We got another room on the second floor which was much better, but still very damp. The beds were comfortable. The towels and sheets were stained and old.
The breakfast was ok, nothing special, the serving staff ony smiled when you had eyecontact with them, otherwise they seemed to be so bored and not very satisfied at all to be there. It has a good location close to Monkey forest and to walk to the market and the center maybe takes 20-30min and its a nice walk with restaurants and handycraft shops.
I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna_Sandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    64
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
68
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Extremely disappointing.

Damp sheets and the rancid smell of mould were two of the problems on our first suite. Along with the fact that the security on the doors consisted of a padlock as the doors did not independently lock and we asked to change room pretty quickly.

Our second room did not have the smell of mould that the first did, but the damp and stained (yes...stained!) sheets made it worth remembering for all the wrong reasons.

I have stayed in far better in Ubud and won't be returning to this one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last June during our tour of the mystical island of Bali... It provided a good respite from the extensive travel we did and offered a well appointed, nicely decorated and spacious clean room with a beautiful 4 poster bed out of carved wood and a bathroom big enough to fit a family of four at the same time (tho' there was just 2 of us!). As we had a corner room, it gave us a nice view of the pool below. The staff were warm and friendly, the pool was quite small but clean and refreshing and the location of the hotel is right next to a number of shops, restaurants, bars and an array of galleries featuring paintings, sculptures out of wood and stone and several other artifacts of local artists. Ubud is a haven for artists.... The only downside was that this hotel is right next to another building that it fails to provide a better view of this lovely town. Also the breakfast was not buffet and one is simply offered either a Balinese or American breakfast, not much choice really. However, for a short stay, it will do as it is right next to everything one would need to see in Ubud!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDP-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A nice litte resort close to the centre off Ubud. Rooms are very clean and spacious.
The resort has a nice little but clean pool and a great spa.
Breakfast is a bit poor with only 2 choises.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rien_-_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Staff were very friendly from the moment they picked us up from the airport. Always helpful, smiling and up for a chat.
We had a downstatirs room which had a wonderful 4 post king size bed complete with mosquito netting. But we did not have any problems with mosquitos during our 5 night stay.
Plenty of cupboard space and a bar fridge. The television reception wasn't great but really who goes to Bali to watch television anyway !
The rooms are set back from the road so it is very quiet during the day and night.

The pool area is very intimate and relaxing with lovely garden surroundings throughout the place. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves.

WiFi works in the lobby or restaurant and worked fine for us.

From Sahadewa it is only a short walk to the Monkey Forest, an abundance of great places to eat, shops and the Ubud market.

The Spa is open and operating and the massages are fantastic with a variety of choices at very low prices!

Hope to return next year !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSandra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for five nights in Feb on a Spreets voucher$299AUD for 5 nights and loved it. Rooms are large and clean with fridge and tea/coffee making and bottled water each day. Bathrooms now have a curtain to close off from main room. Lovely gardens and small pool area is very nice and relaxing. Staff are all lovely, some don't have the best English ( still much better than our Bahasa though ! ) but with a bit of patience we always got our message through, front desk staff have excellent English.

Didn't eat in the restaurant although pool snacks were good and ridiculously cheap. Had breakfast across the road at The Pond which was excellent $5 for toast,croissant,juice,coffee,fruit and choice of cooked breakfast. Lovely view of lily pond and rice fields.

Turn right outside the hotel and it's 50m to Zen Spa massages $10 or $15 for 1 1/2 hour treatment. I had Daywee and she was wonderful. Please mention that Begonia from KupuKupu foundation ( foundation supporting disabled people in Ubud ) sent you and they will get 10% commission at no extra cost to you.

Did the bike trip down the mountain with Bali Baik which was excellent.

If you are looking for a small relaxing hotel in a good location for a great price Sahadewa is a great choice !

PS WiFi connection works best upstairs in restaurant - they don't mind yo going up there to use it

Room Tip: For two couples we had 2 first floor rooms with a great adjoining balcony. The road Is busy but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rozl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Sahadewa is a nice little resort. we arrived late that time, but the concierge is friendly and nice towards us. service is quite good by far
our room was in second floor, it has nice poster, king size bed and large bathtub, seperated by sheer curtain. the sheets are clean but the towel is quite dirty (3 out of 4 was dirty). the shower was weak.
we didn't have time to try the pool but it looks nice even though it's tiny. the restaurant is not so good, but there are lots of eatery outside and two mini-markets nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#95 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#101 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#106 of 198 in Ubud
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 198 in Ubud
708 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#96 of 198 in Ubud
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahadewa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahadewa Resort & Spa

Property: Sahadewa Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Hanoman | Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#110 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sahadewa Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sahadewa Resorts & Spa Sahadewa Resort and Spa is Ubud Boutique Hotel artistically built in Balinese style, is situated in the centre of Ubud within walking distance from the museum, monkey forest, art shops, bars, restaurants, travel agents, car rentals and almost all other tourist requirements. UBUD is the cradle of painters, woodcarvers and dancers. It is about 600 metres above sea level. With fertile paddy fields and rivers with clear running water, adds to the magnificent view and beauty. Its very polite people, who follow their tradition faithfully, makes everyday life a continuous string of ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahadewa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahadewa Resort And Spa
Sahadewa Hotel Ubud
Sahadewa Resort Ubud
Sahadewa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing