We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil and magical - a real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Ranked #42 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tranquil and magical - a real treat”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

due to weather issues, we made a sudden change in plans and went to visit ubud. a room was available at kajane, and we took it. not expecting much, we were blown away. off of the busy street, the property is a series of intimate buildings. our villa was a duplex with a beautiful pool, elegant outdoor room, and lavish bath. of course, there are some nits to pick - placement of light switches could be better, reading lights could be brighter, but our stay was a real treat. excellent, personal service, great restaurant, we will surely be back - longer stay next time.

Room Tip: ask for loja gaga 2 villa if you are looking for privacy and a great pool - a long hike to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyandstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    189
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
202
555
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Set on Ubud's busiest street, the monkey forest road, Kajane Mua offers an unbelievable experience of calmness and quiet. They have rice fields and a waterfall on the property!!!. We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we stayed for more. The staff, right from the folks at the reception to the cleaning crew are extremely friendly and polite.

Checkin was very efficient. Our room was spacious and we had a semi-private pool literally at our door step. Upon checkin they provided us welcome drinks and snacks. Internet was free and our rate included breakfast. The breakfast was sumptuous and you can get it to your room if you want. We just ate at the restaurant and watched all the hustle and bustle of Monkey forest road.

The second afternoon it rained so we stayed at the hotel and they had afternoon tea for free. Again you can get it to your room and sip on some tea listening to the birds chirp.

They also have a spa which we used and very reasonable rates.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax_krish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Is mostly like what other reviews mentioned. Arrange with front desk to send you to your destination in Ubud area, even pick up FOC.
Recommend to have breakfast at restaurant instead in your villa, it serve more fresh in restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JCH794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great experience with this hotel started right from the airport. Our driver/guide mr Sardi picked us up at the airport and because our rooms weren't ready, offered to show us ard and brought us to a lunch place in the meantime. Our driver/guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the local culture and traditions. Good enough tat we engaged him for a full day on our second day at the hotel as well.

Breakfast can be served right on the balcony in the room, the quantity and range was pretty huge. And there's free afternoon tea as well. The room was large, clean and well appointed. There's a nice hat, bag and umbrellas provided in the room for those unequipped for the tropical weather.

Location of the hotel is right between monkey forest and the traditional ubud market. 2 of the major sights in town. Walking along the Main Street is easy but if tired the hotel provides free shuttle service to and from places within central ubud as well.

The hotel restaurant is very close to the mansion rooms; on nights where they have live bands it can get pretty noisy in the room. Oh and the hotel has more than its share of steps, keep in mind if mobility is an issue.

Room Tip: Choose the villas for large groups and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftly_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place has many hidden villas after the guest reception, deep behind the river, up to the hill - frangipani trees and flowers everywhere - rustic, serene, aesthetically pleasant.

The location is in the heart of Ubud - Monkey Forest, Dance Theatre (Balai Banjar Ubud Kelod), Nice Cafes (Ibu Rai, Cafe Wayan - next door- , Batan Waru, Nomad, etc) and Ubud Market are within walking distance.

The room amenities and facilities may be just three stars with some wear-out imperfections here-there but fret-not the place is generally clean and pleasant, still worth the cost you pay.

The services are definitely five stars. Friendly yet professional staffs with delivered services and hospitality. We are grateful for being allowed to bathe post-checkout once again after browsing the town before heading to airport. Breakfast and afternoon tea are delivered to your villa. The attached restaurant of this resort is high up the stairs overlooking the Monkey Forest Street -- the crispy duck was nice!

I recommend this place, definitely will come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Kajane Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Great driver/guide of the hotel staff, Mr. Agung Wibawa (English speaking), who was able to show us and tell us all the beauties, culture, traditions and society of Bali through the day trip. We felt very fortunate to encounter Agung through the hotel, and would like to give huge compliments to the hotel for hiring such a wonderful staff member.
Reliable email correspondence from the hotel reservation staff members from the moment we made the booking.
Very nice restaurant at the hotel from breakfast to dinner, flexible with our orders.
Location is perfect to walk around Ubud and nice to stay in the swimming pool when hot.
All the staff members were very kind.
There were only a couple of things it would nice to see some improvements. The room is spacious, modern, and beautiful looking bathroom with shower floor with the pebbles; however, due to the structure of the water draining, all the hair was remaining on the pebbles, and it was unfortunately very disgusting. Plus, we could see other people's hair on the floor even after cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcakiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at Kajane for our honeymoon in October and we just couldn't fault it.
The service from the moment we were picked up from the airport by guest assistant, Budi, was just outstanding. He greeted us with a smile and when we got to the car had cold towels and cold bottles of water for us which was fantastic after our flight.
All of the staff at Kajane made us feel so welcome and they accommodated any requests that we had.
The villa we stayed in was just beautiful and the food was great. We had breakfast in our villa most days which was beautiful. We also arranged for a few honeymooner extras like the candlelit dinner in-villa and the rose petal bath, which they actually did for 2 nights. The bath is half outside so it was very relaxing and special.
A service that they offer is the guest assistants taking you out on day tours and it is quite inexpensive. We asked for Budi to take us on a tour and he drove us around to different temples and the volcano and came in everywhere with us to show us around. He was such a great tour guide and was so knowledgable. He took us to a few different places, like a bit of jungle trekking at the elephant temple, which was so beautiful and you can see things you wouldn't know to see if you we're by yourself.
The location of Kajane is perfect- it's a walk to anywhere you want to go in Ubud and if its too hot you can call the guest assistants to come and pick you up from wherever you are, which we did a few times.
We also had a couples massage at the spa- it's a beautiful wooden hut at the back of the property. My masseuse was just amazing and when we had our massages we could hear the river flowing and there was some afternoon rain so it was just a magic experience.
All in all, we had such a great honeymoon and everyone at Kajane made us feel so special. We would absolutely stay there again and if you do go to stay there ask for Budi to show you around- he is great company and a fantastic guy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the spa and river- it is at the back of the property and quieter than the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelleMayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,913 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion

Property: KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#36 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theese exclusive private villa offers ten individually-designed spacious one bedroom villas and twelve more two-bedroom, three-bedroom, four-bedroom villas with locally-crafted furnishings reflecting Balinese and Javanese influences. Long glass windows and doors mirror the bamboo hand-woven ceiling of the room and view the green tropical garden at staggering ravine or rice terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajane Mua Private Villa And Mansion
Kajane Mua Private Villa & Mansion Hotel Ubud
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing