We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My home away from home………time after time and…….perfect in so many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #124 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
St. Helena, California
1 review
“My home away from home………time after time and…….perfect in so many ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I travel often to Ubud for business and pleasure and you know what they say – location, location, location. Cendana Resort, downtown Ubud, is great for me in so many ways. I agree wholeheartedly with the many other reviews noting its serene location amidst the hubbub of a very busy downtown center, the rice field overlooks, attentive staff, lovely grounds, two swimming pools (one salt-water), on-site spa, great breakfast buffet and home-style feeling keep me coming back. All these and the perfect location make Cendana my home away from home each time I travel to Ubud. I’ve stayed here 5 times and each of them re-affirms my choice. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Close to all the great Ubud restaurants, a mini-mart, reputable money exchange and shopping the location is perfect for the casual traveler. Short walks to the traditional market (go before 8:00am if you want to see local village sellers, artisans and buyers beginning their day. At 8:30am it changes over to the tourist market), the royal palace, art museums, cooking classes and rice field excursions are additional bonuses.

If you are traveling for adventure, like most of us, remember it’s probably very different than where you live and that’s what it’s about. A word of advice if you are a light sleeper; travel with earplugs or one of those traveling white noise gadgets. (there’s an App for that :>) and they are always a good idea for traveling). Cendana being in the center of town, with all of that convenience and next to a rice field with the farmers, different noises could be a challenge. The roosters awake long before dawn, the ducks chum the fields for breakfast, rice field workers begin early and a neighbor added a bar to their warung a couple of years ago offering live music a few nights a week. I’ve never had a difficulty and sleep like a baby with my gadgets so plan ahead and your Bali adventure will be magical, it always is.

Some additional practical notes: In room WiFi (and on site hard wired computer room if it’s down), air con in room, private bath, attentive room staff, daily bottled water supplied, money exchange just outside the hotel grounds (with reputable pricing and secure interactions), complimentary local village transport, help with or recommendations for any sort of tour/itinerary/activity you desire, healthy great cuisine within easy walking distance, easy communications via email for reservations and airport transport. Great healthy restaurants within easy walking distance. All in all – great choice to stay at Cendana !!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are comfortable for one or two and are furthest from the warung with live music. IIf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHtravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    180
    59
    15
    4
See reviews for
80
140
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just stayed at this beautiful hotel in the heart of Ubud and it was 5 star! The gardens were amazing with the most beautiful infinity pool overlooking the rice paddy field in a peaceful romantic setting off the main road but so quiet ! Wonderful and deluxe room had a four poster bed and air con - very reasonable for lovely size room! This hotel made my holiday in Bali perfect! I will dream about this place forever!!!!

Best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Deluxe are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707emmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed at Cendana twice and now it is my hotel of choice in Ubud. The location is perfect for me, right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road, but set back a bit from the road. I have stayed in the deluxe rooms which are very large and have a huge bathroom. The two pools are gorgeous, and I love the one overlooking the ricefield. The spa is also very good, but there are cheaper options very close by, in fact there is everything you could want very close by, including a couple of mini marts within 200 metres.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrystalks4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cendana is located perfectly on Monkey Forest Road. It is an oasis in the busy road. Breakfast is great and the pool is lovely. Staff were very helpful The price is very reasonable. The pillows and beds cab be a little hard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at Cendana for one night in October with my traveling companion. We both stayed in deluxe rooms for our stay. Although the property and decor were quite enchanting (you really felt as though you had escaped busy Ubud) the hotel is showing it's age and is in need of a facelift. My friend found 5 living cockroaches exploring his room (and toothbrush!) and we also faced broken toilets, unenthusiastic customer service, loud music late into the night and disappointing food. The hotel has potential but we won't be returning in the near future, there are significantly better hotels to be found in Ubud for this price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Since I wanted the convenience of Monkey Forest Road, I moved to a superior room at the Cendana for twice the price of the Suly Resort. I regretted that move as soon as I saw my room. The hallway to my room is in front of the garbage dump, which does not affect the inside but is a nasty homecoming after time. There were huge gaps in both the door to the balcony and the main door -- mosquito doorways I called them. The mosquito netting also had huge gaps and the critters came in. As did the tiny ants who swarms my toothpaste by morning. The shower was fine but the bathtub never became hot. The room had a musty odor which after a day of air-conditioning, got better. I was prepared for the music but honestly, didn't know it would drive me so crazy.

The rest of the hotel was great. The front desk was very helpful in making local calls to book appointments for me. The pool was lovely. The breakfast buffet was yummy. The staff brought a free pot of coffee at our request. And yes, it was great to be on Monkey Forest. But I had never hated a hotel room so much.

After two nights, I upgraded to a deluxe room. The management was sympathetic to my complain and gave me a discounted upgrade. It was a different world! There were no gaps in the doors, the rice paddy view was gorgeous as was the larger balcony. The night time music was just a dull thud. The bathtub didn't look appeal so I didn't try it.

So it's deluxe or nothing for me. Maybe there are better superior rooms, but I will never take that chance again. The Cendana is often sold often so there clearly there are people who are happy with the rooms.

Room Tip: I think my superior was 314, on the last corner away from the lobby, on the second floor. The delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chakimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

There is an unwritten policy to refuse refunds on any deposits. We had booked a room for 4 nights and 8 days before our scheduled arrival we had to reschedule some of our intinerary. We were given about 3 different stories why we couldn't get our deposit back, we then asked to speak to the manager and even though he said if you cancel within 7 days we keep some of the deposit, we reminded him it was 8 days before and he still kept 20% of our deposit. He told us in the past even if you cancel 3 months prior to arrival and they have the right to keep the deposit. I can understand if we cancel without notice we would expect to loose our deposit, but we gave 8 days and its also high season and they would have no problem renting the room. Another couple were having similar problems when they were checking out at the same time. Besides the policy problems the hotel looks nice and well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#96 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#109 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#94 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#126 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#98 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing