We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad pricey, but really really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #129 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A tad pricey, but really really nice”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a Superior room because that was all they had left. After taxes and all, it was $85 a night. The room was just fine - very comfy bed with mosquito net drapes all around. Nice sheets. No TV, thank goodness, but in room phone. Had a fridge with mini bar. I thought the bathroom was quite nice - small semicircular tub with separate shower. Sink outside the main bathroom. The room was very clean.

Breakfast is included in the rate - way better than your average Bali free breakfast. They set up an all you can eat buffet with made to order juices, bread and a toaster, selection of breakfast meats (including odd little hot dogs cut to look like flowers), scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes and tomatoes, fresh cut fruit, croissants, fried rice or noodles, fabulous banana pancakes and more. Full waiter service for drinks and plate removal.

We did not eat at the restaurant (other than breakfast) but did order my son room service for dinner one night and it was good.

It's a great location, just about in the middle of Monkey Forest Rd, quite close to the Football Field. Easy walk to Monkey Forest or the main intersection of Ubud and the outdoor market.

The grounds are beautiful - well maintained, very lush and tropical. Yes, the hotel borders rice fields on one side and is quite pretty. The front pool is shallow and great for kids. My 9 year old met 3 other kids there to play with and had a blast. The back pool is really deep, but joy of all joys, was salt water with no chlorine (or at least so little that I couldn't sense it)

The spa was really nice. I did not get massage there, but my two friends did and said it was very good. They charge $15 for a massage - I walked out of the hotel and turned left and within 100 feet I got offered massage for $5. The facility was not nearly as nice, but since I had my eyes closed the whole time, I really didn't care.

One complaint - it was really noisy at night. One building next door was a gamelan practice hall of some sort. Soon after the gamelan was done, the hotel next door started up with the live outdoor reggae band. Ear plugs helped, but it was not the most charming part of the stay. And, the next door neighbors chickens and roosters started up really early right outside my door. I think the rooms at the back of the hotel (near the spa) are probably a lot quieter than those at the front.

All in all, a really nice place...but I do think there are better values in Ubud to be had. I would stay there again, but I would get a standard room for 50 plus taxes and feel better about it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the back would be quieter, but I think they are also the Deluxe rooms which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilythia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    185
    60
    15
    6
See reviews for
83
146
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Let me start by saying that Cendana has a great location and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. We stayed 5 nights in September. Breakfast was included...pretty much the same every day but tasty and ample. We had the standard room in what seemed to be the older part of the property. it was a little dark, but it was clean and for the price seemed to be a value considering the location.

The highlight of our stay in Ubud was our taxi driver...Wayan Oka. Wayan usually has his taxi parked on Monkey Forest Road across from the Cendana entrance. He offers "transport" like the other drivers, but he seemed to be a notch above the rest. He spoke excellent English and his car was spotless. We wanted to see a local celebration at one of the temples, and he offered to take us to one happening in his village. He took us to meet his family and helped us wear our sarongs properly. He took us where we wanted to go...not where he thought we should go. In the end, he became our friend and he recently e-mailed photos of him and his lovely bride. He made our trip special. Wayan can be reached at 081-2399-4824 or yan_oka31@yahoo,co.id

Room Tip: Spring for the newer rooms and use Wayan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent 5 nights here in January of 2013. I was disappointed and I will stay elsewhere when I return next year.

PROs:
- Located in the middle of Monkey Forest Road.
- Friendly staff.
- The back pool was nice. (Never saw anyone use the front pool by the lobby.)
- Breakfast was ok.

CONs:
- The bathroom was really outdated and ugly. Shower only had cold water, so I had to use the tub. There was a floor drain that made gurgling noises day and night.
- Light switches and door handles were filthy.
- Several of the lights in the room did not work.
- The wireless internet signal strength in the room was very weak and slow. Very frustrating.
- The desk area had no power outlet, so I had to setup my computer elsewhere.
- There was no seating in the room that had a back, so it was not possible to lean back while working. The bed had no headboard, so I couldn't lean back and work on my computer while sitting there, either. This led to back pain and added to my stress over the poor internet connection.
- The massage in the spa was the worst I have ever had. The changing room and the shower was filthy.

Overall, I recommend skipping this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia, Ipoh, Perak
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I paid usd70 per night for a superior room and was very disappointed with the room. Despite the comments bout the quietness and tranquility , the noise is unbearable. I would have stayed in kuta if I wanted a live band. When I conplained to the hotel reception, their answer is that it will stop at 12 normally. What?! The superior rooms overlook the normal swimming pool and is near the hotel lobby. No paddy field view rooms for the superior room. I personally find that the cheaper standard rooms has a better baliness taste compared to the superior rooms. Also, my partner saw a stain on the sheets and suspects it to be blood stain. Size of the room is great though, big bed, ample space and big toilet. But honestly, for usd 70 per night. Cendana Resort failed to meet my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stay regularly at Cendana due mainly to its location and friendliness of the staff. Previously I have stayed at a number of other hotels, however due to mobility restrictions I prefer to stay in the centre of town. Cendan,a whilst an older style of resort, provides a good place to stay for a reasonable price.They have 3 categories of rooms depending on your requirements. I usually stay in the Deluxe rooms, ground floor. What I like about this hotel is their location, friendliness of the staff, the fact it does have a TV and most improtantly the beds are really comfortable. Cendana has two pools, one overlooks the rice paddies and breakfast is included. Gardens are well maintained and it has a lovely outlook. Like any breakfast in Bali, it does have its limitations, however at least here you get fresh juice and a variety of food on offer both at breakfast and during the day via room service or in the restaurant at very reasonable prices. The only issues I have with this hotel are that they do not have tea and coffee making facilities, however staff are more than happy to bring hot water to the room on request. Staff who clean the room need to pay more attention to the cleaning of the toilet and this has been mentioned to management. I would also like to see the hotel offer more English speaking TV channels, however these are all minor issues. Overall I have always enjoyed my stay at this hotel and will continue to stay with them in the future.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the salt water pool, gardens and rice paddies and have fridge and TV. Less exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were staying in Ubud for two nights and we spent one night in Cendana. It's right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road which is extemely convinent.

The rooms are clean but the bathroom was not extremely clean. Perhaps because it is old more than anything. They provide towels which is a plus.

Breakfast comes with the room and it's a good buffet with delicious fruit juices and a 180 view of the rice paddies!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outofkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We chose Cendana for location. Staying as a family we had two rooms and worked out much less expensive than family accomodation offered elsewhere. The room are quite and it is easy to relax. For a location in the middle of Monkey Forest Road this is a great option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffArn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 196 in Ubud
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 196 in Ubud
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 196 in Ubud
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#100 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing