We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hehe i love this place and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #122 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hehe i love this place and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first night in Ubud and we went here on recommendation of our villa. We weren't disappointed (although not in the same league as some of the other restaurants around town) as this was a great feast.

Room Tip: this is a restaurat not hotel hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    180
    59
    15
    4
See reviews for
80
140
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

view days ago , I try get hotel near ubud with my friends from french,so he stay at cendana resort ubud,this nice place and more go inside from mains street ubud /monkey forest roads way.with nice room and good swimming pool and good price for accommodation at ubud area.
in the night we go walk about 10 minutes to ubud palace and see the legong dance and get some meal at cafe wayan.and when back to hotel just walk not far.
we hope next time we can agiants with our friends to here.

Room Tip: room with aircond and views rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank komangrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went for this hotel when it seemed all the other good ones were taken in Ubud. Located in the middle of Jalan Monkey Forest with Monkey forest sanctuary 700 meters down the road and Ubud market 400 meters up the road. Its a medium sized property and houses several buildings overlooking a small rice field. They have a spa, restaurant and two swimming pools. Gardens are artfully decorated with Balinese statues and art. Skillfully carved wooden doors and furniture make you appreciate it even more. Service here was very good and they helped us more than we could demand. The road outside is full of art shops, restaurants, mini malls, etc, all you could ask for right outside. Was here in the low season i guess because it was not many people to be seen in the restaurants and around. It felt very good imagining how easily this small place could be overcrowded.

Room Tip: Went for the deluxe room on second floor in the last building to get as far away from the road as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMEkeiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room which had a comfortable four-poster bed, air-conditioning and a fridge. The bathroom was huge with a bathtub and good water pressure although the shower had no soap holder. Although both the room & bathroom were clean, the toilet looked somewhat dirty as it was a bit stained inside the bowl. Our room was downstairs and had a good sized verandah. The staff were friendly and helpful. The resort being on Monkey Forest Road is in a great location within walking distance of Ubud Palace & markets, the Monkey Forest and also numerous restaurants & shops. Ubud is very busy but when you come into the resort you feel like you are in a totally different place; it is so quiet, peaceful & pleasant overlooking the rice paddies and with lovely gardens outside the rooms. There were two pools, one being a very inviting infinity pool overlooking the rice paddies. They had the most delicious banana pancakes in their breakfast buffet. This resort was great value for Ubud and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I usually stay at Wahyu Bungalows when in Ubud (also on Monkey Forest Road, behind the soccer field), as they are cheap and cheerful. But as I was travelling with my mother on this trip I decided to go a bit more upmarket for her.
I had visited friends staying at Cendana last year, so was familiar with the rooms and grounds. At $95 a night (Deluxe room), it was nearly 4 times the price of Wahyu...but obviously got a higher standard of rooms and facilities.
The staff were lovely, breakfast adequate, meals at the restaurant well-priced and delicious. The pool by the rice paddy was divine and the gardens throughout the whole hotel were beautiful.
I had requested a room on the upper level so we could have a private balcony and enjoy the views, however when being taken to our room on the first day, my Mum tripped on the top step (which was a different height to all the other steps...yep...that's Bali!) and so I asked if a ground floor room may be available. They were very happy to oblige.
The hotel wasn't very full, so it was all still very private on our ground floor deck and overlooked the lovely gardens. There was just one long seat on our deck that was like a church pew and not very comfy...though saw some other rooms at the front of the hotel with some divine loungers on their terrace (I wanted one!!) and I think they were the standard rooms as well!!
The other trip hazard was the door to the bathroom. One of those ornate Balinese framed doorways with the double door (that was noisy and didn't close properly)...and quite a step over into the bathroom. Thankfully we had torches for night time bathroom visits and managed to avoid any "trips"! The door may have been traditional, but actually a bit annoying and I was very nervous my Mum would come a cropper!
The room was spacious enough with comfy beds (though was a bit squeasy with a double and single in the same room) and had big windows on two sides (though the thin curtains did let a bit of light in). No traffic noise...just the sounds of frogs, geckos and crickets (lovely!).
The location was the big appeal! Restaurants, bars, shops...everything you could want...just outside the hotel.
Basically, it is a lovely hotel and would consider staying here again. I have sounded a bit negative in this review I guess...but the location and ambience were worth the money. But as a regular Bali visitor I did think the price was a bit high for what we got...but it is a popular hotel and so they obviously still get the bookings at that price.
If I could order thicker curtains, two of those comfy loungers on the deck, normal bathroom doorway ... perfect :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDenmarkWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, the rooms were big for 2 adults & 1 child. The place was central to everything. We normally like to stay the higher price end of accomodation in bali but thought we would give it a go from the good reviews. The resort did not disappoint and deserves a higher rating. My mother stayed in room 306 on the upper floor and complained that the noise from a nearby nightclub kept her awake. We stayed next door in room 305 and only slightly heard noise at night. The upper floor had a great breaze and was free from mosquitos.we will be back

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bintang chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hi, I' ve already several times I stop in Cendana Resort & Spa, Monkey forest street in Ubud.
The place is beatiful, rounde by strong and beatiful vegetation with a wonderful view on rice field from any room you stay. The staff is always lovable and ready to offer you any service you need. The breakfast (included) is rich and enough to start your long day of shopping or business activities.
I tried sometime to change but the best average between price and quality for me is in Cendana and now I hope to get an available room when I have to go in Bali.

Room Tip: standard and superior room are OK, but no TV. do you need it in Ubud ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggcaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#100 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#112 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#93 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#127 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#98 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing