We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic property and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
tasmania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“fantastic property and great value”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is difficult to add superlatives to a property that so many reviewers find hard to fault. It is little wonder that is the case. Set as it is in verdant rice padi fields Tegal Sari is a peaceful haven when staying in Ubud. My wife and I have stayed here previously and on both occasions have encountered superb service, great food, delightful staff in a beautiful location close to everthing in Ubud. The best coffee in Ubud can also be found at Sparkly in Monkey Forest Road which is across the road from the Tegal Sari's rear entrance.

The property does not have its own spa but will take you to a spa close by that is quiet, calming, professional and with nothing but the sounds of the relaxing music, running water and your own relaxed breathing.

Room Tip: Any room with views over the rice fields is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    295
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
343
622
163
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Tegal sari 5 years on.

This was a return stay to Tegal Sari 5 years on and the changes are noticeable. If you visit Bali without a stay in Ubud you really don't do yourself any favours. The people of Ubud have a genuine friendly disposition. I noted some familiar faces at check-in from 5 years prior, so management must be treating them well. Tegal Sari is expanding upwards with more rooms offered in apartment style living, we were housed in Bali style wooden constructed lodgings as before and I'm glad we were. They have far more character and the elevated position allowed lovely breezes to pass through. I really enjoy the feeling of privacy you get with the layout and there has always been something incredibly relaxing about overlooking farmers/ducks/roosters and the occasional dog going about there daily activities amongst the rice fields. Yes the room had no TV,why would you need one with vista's from your balcony, and no alarm clock is no issue with smart phone users.

The breakfast served daily on the balcony was great and the pool was refreshing after an afternoon walk in town. The property has shown a little wear as to be expected over the years, the environmental impact of plastic has been addressed with water bottle refill stations located throughout the property and the addition of a restaurant serving mostly organic dishes is great, even though long waits for food were experienced on both occasions. I always say after visiting Ubud and heading back down into the rat race of Denpasar etc that our next visit will be direct from the airport to Ubud. Treat yourself to a major wind down, visit Ubud.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms facing west are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This small place is still our hidden gem in Ubud.
We love the pool, with rice field view! So quiet and nice.the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff are so friendly and helpsome. They bring you everywhere in Ubud for free and with a big smile.
The small restaurant close to the reception, makes the most wonderful and cheap food.
This small tropical place is full of peace and harmony.
We will be back !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

5 stars for you Tegal Sari! We had a wonderful stays at Super Wooden Deluxe room. Great view. Peaceful and relaxing. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. And yet, the room is always clean. Good location at Ubud town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (Super Deluxe Room).
1.Value for money
2.Staff are nice and patient.
3. Good location at least for me - near to good food - Bebek Bengil (Dirty Duck), Ibu Oka, The Pond (great place for breakfast), Casa Luna (nasi champhur is shiok!) and check out the yummy handmade jam at KOU CUISINE @Jl Monkey Forest.
4. Supermarket just across - can stockup cheap beer, drinks...

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5- which was great. on second floor overlooking the rice field and lovely! I booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malvis3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am in my early 50's from Perth Western Australia and have just recently stayed at the Tegal Sari. Great location...Friendly helpful staff...Beautiful room with great verandah overlooking rice fields...very clean with nice crispy white sheets:) The Tegal Sari is walking distance to good shopping and restaurants...actually anything you need. Will be staying there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed in super wooden deluxe. For the room rate, we were happy. I only gave it 4 stars because I was awaken every morning by the ongoing construction and also the daylight from flimsy curtains.

The good:
1.Service and attitude of the staff in Tegal Sari. They are never too busy or tired to inquire about us/our day.
2.Rooms are always well cleaned. Water pressure in room is very good. Towels & bed linens changed everyday, clean and doesn't have musty smell. Bathroom is mold-free too.
3.The view from my balcony enjoyed from a daybed provided (nice & thick single sized mattress on a wooded platform) or from rattan chairs.
4. Good location - back of hotel is Jl Monkey Forest, front of hotel is near Coco supermarket. You might not need to rent a bike.

The not so good:
1. Construction going on at the moment directly across room 28 & 29. I can hear it from my room but not a big problem as we were in only after dinner.
2. Units are quite close together so you can hear conversation from next unit & vice versa.
3. Local offerings in breakfast menu not so tasty.

Tips:
1. Bike rental rate is better from the shop next to Delicious Onion outside hotel (45k nett)
2. If you have a late flight, the hotel provides luggage storage, fresh towels and use of toilet & shower at pool area..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing