We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money! beautiful place surrounded by rice fields”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best value for money! beautiful place surrounded by rice fields”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 days 2 night and loved that place. We wished we stayed longer. Good place to relax, the rooms are big, clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly, we had a lovely welcome,they showed us around. The hotel provides shuttle as well to ubud centre. The location is great and we loved the view. No drawbacks but book early(long booking process by email). We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    305
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
350
642
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Yet another fantastic stay at Tegal Sari. The weaving gardens, our spacious room, central location and ever friendly staff were once again...absolutely perfect for the very affordable price that we paid. This time we also did the cooking class that is available through Tegal Sari. It was a delightful, informative and delicious session with Wayan which we thoroughly enjoyed. Wayan spoke knowledgeably about traditional Indonesian cuisine and with his assistance we cooked up a magnificent multi-course feast. We highly recommend it! The hotel is undergoing some extensions but these did not impact negatively on our stay. Thankyou, once again Tegal Sari, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

For days, I have been sending them emails. They answered once leading me to believe they had the week of 15-22 open. If is very hard for me to get to a phone, but I finally was able. The only thing they had open was a villa at $150/night open for the next 2 months. Their rudeness has left me without a place to stay. Obvious I am very upset at how much of my time they have wasted. They could have said right up front they were booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank judywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights...from arriving to checking out, without doubt the staff are the nicest and most accomadating I have ever come across, their level of customer service goes above and beyond.
Yes the booking system is a bit if a pain but not a lot if work for what you get in return, we stayed in deluxe room 10 for two nights and the changed to wooden hut 10 which we actually preferred. All rooms we were in where top quality, extremely clean and looked after, both have an amazing terrace that you can simply sit back end let time pass....
Breakfast was good....there warung semester just at the side entrance to monkey forest is also really good...
Tegal Sari also has a small but perfectly apt swimming pool......it's really a jewel in the crown the entire place....highly recommend it....
We also did a northern tour with Wi who was really friendly and professional at all times

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Tegal Sari from June 18 - June 22 and enjoyed my time there. The location is good and other reviewers have mentioned the attentive, friendly staff and I couldn't agree more. Breakfasts, delivered to my room from the Warung Semesta, were extremely good and one of the highlights of my trip to Bali. The food was that good I ate other meals at the Semesta as well and thoroughly enjoyed them all.

The room, number 20, was large, comfortable, upstairs and offered great views over the rice field. My only criticism of the room would be the shower: it's extremely small, I'm of slim/average build and still found it difficult to move around in.

The resort offers free shuttles to nearby attractions.

I enjoyed my stay there but for the small shower, which is only a minor criticism, I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a unique and wonderful experience. Loved my time there. Would love to return and hope that I can enjoy the stay as much as i did last time. It is special and worth the effort. Nothing is amiss for the visitor

Room Tip: Go there asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a super deluxe room at the Tegal Sari. The room was massive, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and with stunning views of the rice paddies. The staff are some of the best and friendliest we have experienced on our 6 months travels around SE Asia. The food at the hotel restaurant Warung Semesta is really good and and excellent value for money. We booked a northern tour through the hotel and our driver/guide Ketut was excellent and very knowledgeable about what we wanted to see. The hotel is also in a nice part of Ubud and they offer free transfers in and pick ups from town for hotel guests. We would recommend Tegal Sari to anybody looking for a great value, high quality hotel in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 197 in Ubud
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 197 in Ubud
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 197 in Ubud
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 197 in Ubud
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 197 in Ubud
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 197 in Ubud
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing