We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say more”
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a unique and wonderful experience. Loved my time there. Would love to return and hope that I can enjoy the stay as much as i did last time. It is special and worth the effort. Nothing is amiss for the visitor

Room Tip: Go there asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a super deluxe room at the Tegal Sari. The room was massive, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and with stunning views of the rice paddies. The staff are some of the best and friendliest we have experienced on our 6 months travels around SE Asia. The food at the hotel restaurant Warung Semesta is really good and and excellent value for money. We booked a northern tour through the hotel and our driver/guide Ketut was excellent and very knowledgeable about what we wanted to see. The hotel is also in a nice part of Ubud and they offer free transfers in and pick ups from town for hotel guests. We would recommend Tegal Sari to anybody looking for a great value, high quality hotel in Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I have read the reviews made previously that said the reply e mail was slow. I just filled in the forms for booking this coming august. Even though I could not manage to get any rooms due to their unavailability ( to my regret), I am satisfied with their booking process. Both times, they replied my e mail within 24 hours.

So, I would really love to go to Tegal Sari next time. And next time I will remember to book much earlier ;D as I saw some book a year in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hotel, in a quieter part of town, but they have a car to drive you into town and then you call and they pick you up.
The hotel is the cheapest we stayed at but it was really fantastic, staff were more than helpful, breakfast was good.
The whole place is spotless, it is owner and operated by locals

Room Tip: Believe it or no their $30 are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janali05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel over 4 times. Staff is friendly and courteous, rooms are excellent and most importantly, clean. While the Tegal Sari is not a high-end 5 star luxurious resort, I would choose this hotel anyday over a fancy resort. The spa affiliated with the hotel is great, and the hotel will drive you and pick you up for your appointments. In fact, the hotel staff will drive you and pick you up basically anywhere in Ubud.
Location is great, right behind Monkey Forest and a quick 2 minute walk to either Jalan Monkey Forest or Jalan Hanoman and all the restaurants and shopping you require.
Be sure to book in advance, as they fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Rupiah and go for a deluxe room over looking the rice paddies. You will not be disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingduo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located hotel with view on the ricefields at least if you take a deluxe room. Good price quality! You can enjoy breakfast on the balcony of your room. Friendly staff and free shuttle to town or 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephaneBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Know this hotel from my friend. At first I was not sure to stay there. But because the price is cheap enough, I tried to stay with my family.

The first night I stayed in the cheapest room. I did not expect much for a room for 300,000 rupiah, but I was surprised to get a large enough room with a beautiful view of the rice fields. There is a shortage of the cheapest rooms. Our room at the top, so we had to use the stairs. The steps were so high that my parents hard to climb.

The second night I moved to the most expensive room (only 750,000 dollars) with the most beautiful views of the rice fields. I really like this room. The photos I will explain everything to you.

Service is very satisfying. There should be no television in the room, but we ask to be provided television and we do not need to pay for this.

Breakfast is provided in small portions so that we feel the price is a bit expensive. But do not worry not far from the hotel there is a supermarket supply all kinds of bread and groceries for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiaSurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#80 of 199 in Ubud
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#37 of 199 in Ubud
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing