We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the booking process....this place is magical!”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the booking process....this place is magical!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The reviews you read about this place are 100% accurate. Yes the booking process is a bit laboured compared to some other places but it is worth it! It is within moments of everything but you feel like you are in your own private retreat! The rooms are outstanding (we stayed in a super deluxe) looking over the beautiful rice paddy fields. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. The hotel restaurant (with the exception of breakfast) is actually on Monkey forest road but you can eat there and charge it to your room. We had the most incredible massage by the pool on our last night which I can highly recommend.
Ubud is a stunning part of Bali and this place really does compliment your stay. We could have stayed there for a month! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23 at the bottom. As this is on the end you have unrestricted views immediately ou...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennywinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    308
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
353
642
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

after reading such great reviews about the tegal sari we had to stay here. we were not dissapointed! the staff were great and very helpful. our room was clean and tidy and had the most amazing view out onto the rice paddies. be sure to take advantage of getting a massage down by the swmming pool - best massages we had by far on our holiday. be sure to book in advance as this place can be hard to get into!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokoreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Outstanding service- Balan was so helpful and kind! This is a peaceful retreat from the overcrowded city center, yet walking distance to great restaurants and The Yoga Barn. Beautiful pool, views and an outdoor massage space- $8 for an excellent massage- I'll definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenyogasurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As Tegal Sari was one of most popular accommodations in Ubud, I booked wooden room about half year earlier before arrival. All were perfect during my stay, staffs were friendly, the room was good, the location was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Certainly this intimate hotel is difficult to find its match for Ubud area. Great value in all aspects and we don't have words to describe how we fell in love with this hotel. Unfortunately you will have to book early to get the available rooms. There is a small fitness facility - although I rated it as poor but it is provided for free any way. Hence, we can't ask for more in view of the very reasonable room price.

Room Tip: Choose for new family-type of rooms at the back of the complex. They are more quiet and are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

great price, great place.. this place is surrounding by rice field and trees, you shouldn't worry to get fresh air. I can easily find some food and mini market nearby. Nasi goreng is good. It's a nice place to hide away from your routine..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ranindyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel surpassed our expectations. The staff are very helpful the rooms are clean and well put together. We highly recommend this hotel. The pool is well kept and you can refill your water bottles for free.

Room Tip: Ask for one of there newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
599 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing