We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an amazing gem”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #33 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Still an amazing gem”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's been five years since my last visit and this is still THE place to stay. The value, staff and beauty are perfection and with as much comfort as it offers there is still a nice feeling of location that you lose in a bigger resort. The staff even organized an incredible last minute birthday extravaganza (in three hours) for my husband's parents. They are truly amazing. I'm a fan of the Super Deluxe Wooden Rooms but all of the rooms are good choices. They are building several new rooms that should be ready in the fall of 2013. It's a wonderful spot and I'll return time and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    305
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
348
639
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Tegal sari, and my high expectations were once again met. The rooms are magnificent, very clean, fabulous views, and great value for money. Last time breaky was included, but given the set breakfasts are very good value it did not matter. Staff were always very friendly, and the grounds pristine. Didn't want to leave a review as I don't want it to become popular, but quality deserves recognition.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzieol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This truly is an amazing hotel. Absolutely excellent value for money and the customer service is the best I've ever seen.

The rooms have everything you need an even extras like adapter plugs and mosquito coils.

The setting is beautiful with amazing views across the paddies.

Although set slightly back from the centre of Ubud, they will give you a free lift at any time. In fact the staff- all of them will help with anything you need.

It's a must stay in Ubud!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeybrownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The rooms a modern Balinese theme. They have hit the jackpot on the "less is more" with everything you need in accommodation without taking the focus off the gardens, scenery and place of calm. The staff are friendly, helpful and have a true understanding of hospitality. After spending a week in Kuta we were pleasantly surprised that the shop assistants in Ubud are happy for you to look without pressuring you to buy and the many restaurants and cafes are true value for money.
Tegal Sari is of high standard of cleanliness and the menu items are well priced and delicious!
I can not stress to come stay with them before this hidden gem becomes discovered by everyone as the price is more than affordable for this type of accommodation and holiday.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe rooms up high give a beautiful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Reason for stay and brief over view:
My friend and I stayed here for a Wedding; we were there for a total of 8 days. Between us we booked out 5 Rooms. Each of us had to move rooms at least once for our visit, despite booking at least 6 months in advance (Tegal Sari is very popular, and with good reason). For this reason I recommend pre booking, and as soon as you can. We saw people turning up without bookings and regrettably being turned away as every room in the Resort was full.
As my friend and I (who were sharing a room) had to move twice we were able to experience 3 different rooms first hand, and 3 others second hand through our other mates. Each room was meticulously kept, spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout our stay.
The transfers from the airport were efficient, comfortable and Air-conditioned. Tegal Sari will also organise pick up and drop off into the town of Ubud, free of charge. This can be very handy late at night or in the heat of the day (which is 9am to 2pm). Simply keep a Tegal Sari card in your bag and show it where ever you are and someone will call the staff to come get you. You can also hire a driver for as long as you want, who will take you where ever you want. It is AUD$6 an hour to hire a car with the option of their set Tours or your own desires.
If you want anything all you have to do is ask. It will be bought to you, done for you or organised on your behalf in the blink of an eye and with a massive smile! The staff are all amazing, friendly and extremely accommodating. I would stay here again just for the service and smiles. For example: some of the people in our group bought a bunch of flowers and balloons to put in the newly weds room for them after the wedding. They returned to the room to not only find the bunch of flowers and balloons we had organised for them, but also to have the stair case lined with flowers leading up to their bedroom where the most amazing spread of tropical flowers had been meticulously placed over their king sized bed. The whole display was incredible!
Every moment was like that in Tegal Sari. But despite us all being treated like VIP’s, living in an amazing setting and eating at the resort or local Restaurants it cost us very little. Tegal Sari does not charge Western prices, but instead is one of the few places left still charging Bali prices. Our rooms cost between $30-75 AUD a night and meals totaled $5-10 AUD.
Tegal Sari is close to the local shops, markets, temples and Monkey Forest; which is a must see. If you visit Monkey Forest it will cost you $1 AUD, but if you go early enough in the morning (which will avoid the heat of the day) the ticket office is closed and entry is free. Because Monkey Forest is next door to Tegal Sari, across the rice fields, you have the illusion of being in a little floating paradise. You do not feel the social congestion and built up environment that Bali can often display.
Food:
You have a choice of eating at Tegal Sari or elsewhere, Tegal Sari is one of the cheapest places to eat and the variety of food was enough to keep me interested throughout my 8 day stay. They have a Western, Asian and Balinese menu; so no matter what your tastes you will be catered for.
Food can be ordered from the kitchen and delivered to your room, or the pool (there is a phone by the pool which is very convenient). Alternatively, you can have breakfast or lunch at the small Restaurant at the entrance or dinner at the Restaurant Tegal Sari owns which is on the street and only 1 minute walk from your room. This Restaurant is also where you can book in for a Balinese cooking class. I highly recommend this; it was the best day we had (apart from the wedding of course). We had a group of 10 which was perfect, smaller groups would be just as fun though. The staff who ran the class were hilarious and had an amazing understanding of western cooking styles and food produce, which meant he was perfectly able to explain the ingredients and their substitutes to us. The cook book you get with the course is fabulous and has made an excellent edition to my kitchen.
I am a vegan and many in our group were vegetarian. If you state no egg you are pretty much safe with all of the Balinese dishes (they do not use fish pastes, or the like, as other Asian countries do). There are plenty of Vegetarian, Western and Balinese Restaurants near by. The Tegal Sari staff will tell you which are the best, nearest and/or cheapest. Once you have decided where you wish to eat, they will drive you there and pick you up when you are done if you wish; for free.
Rooms:
Each room we experienced was spacious; had fans, air-conditioned, had hot and cold running water (not always an option in Bali), adapters, bug repellent burners, tea and Balinese coffee (very yummy but strong) facilities, mini bar, safe and plenty of storage. There is also a phone where you can ask the staff anything you need or order anything you desire. Lots of the rooms facing the rice fields have massage beds on the verandah so you can order a masseuse to come to your room.
The beds were extremely comfortable and beautifully designed. If you don’t mind the odd reptilian visitor you’ll be fine (small geckos make their way in occasionally to eat any bugs attracted by your lights).
Staff:
Awesome. I can’t say anything else. Matur Suksma Tegal Sari!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Rice Fields offer the best feeling of space, not to mention fabulous views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AGane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Don't come here if you're looking for 5 star luxury. This peaceful and very friendly hotel is for those who love Bali, the Balinese people and the whole Bali experience. Very large rooms, spotlessly clean and more authentic than luxurious. You can get a massage in your room or get free transport to the hotel owned spa not far away. If fact, transport is free at any time in the Ubud area.. Be dropped at your restaurant for dinner and ring when you want to be picked up.

Room Tip: The duplex is 2 story with a huge spa bathroom downstairs. We had room 11 this time - super value a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights in a super deluxe room in April. We had booked about 6 months in advance and had no problems with the booking. We arrived late at night and were picked up at the airport by Made who was a wealth of information about Bali in general and Ubud in particular. His knowledge and personality made this a quick and enjoyable trip. One of the things that differentiates Tegal Sari is the friendly and helpful staff. It was our wedding anniversary and the staff had put a lovely card and gorgeous flowers in the room. Nice touch. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished with a relaxing view of the rice fields from the patio. As others have said, it is a peaceful location to come back to after a busy day. Breakfasts were delivered to our room and were always hot and delicious. We had lunch one day as well and it was also good. We wanted to climb Mt Batur and the hotel quickly organized it for us. A real highlight. Nothing ever seemed to be a problem for them. we also had several massages while we were there. highly recommended if you arrived stressed and rushed! you wont leave that way. We will definitely be back to Tegal Sari

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#52 of 198 in Ubud
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing