We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tegal Sari
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,641)
Filter reviews
1,641 results
Traveler rating
1,269
314
33
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,269
314
33
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper deluxe roomvilla sesapirice paddiesmonkey forestrooftop poolfree transportbebek bengilyoga barnyoga roomlaundry serviceground floorpadi fieldsday bedstayed nightsubud centrenasi gorengvisit ubud
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,641 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I just had a lovely holiday in Bali, recharging my batteries. Why I so love Tegal Sari is it is small and harmonius and all the staff are friendly and get to know you well. Its very easy to relax here, with the beauty of the rice terraces surrounding you.

Fresh papaya juice, fresh avocado juice, ginger tea, all available all good and served up with a nice smile and gentle salutation. Fresh Bali Coffee and Tea is provided in your rooms complimentary, and water stations throughout the resort are placed so you may refill your water bottles with bottled purified drinking water for free. it is easy here.

If you like to get away from cocktail bars, loud music, traffic jams, and shopping malls then come visit Ubud. The pace is less frenetic here. Take in the beauty of Tegal Sari, the ponds, the running streams, the orchids, the flowers, orchids, trees and nature, the ducks after rice harvest season, the birds waking you with their song at first light. the sunset over the rice terraces, its all here and abounds, but each visit it is different yet familiar as before. As everchanging are the lifecycles of their the gardens and the rice fields. Take some time out to pamper yourself with in-house Balinese massage in the Tegal Sari massage pavillion. At $9 for an hour massage you'd be mad to miss out! Their pool is small intimate and refreshing on a hot day.

Nearby Ubud has many more spas and great places to buy craft, and eat wonderful food. Tegal Sari provides free transport around the inner zone of Ubud, and a nominal charge of a few dollars if you want to go further afield.

Staying at this Balinese Resort is a nice way to spend some down time in a beautiful part of the island of Bali. Nothing is too much bother and the Team at Tegal Sari treat every guest with respect and great care.

I have been coming here for years and stayed in all standards of accommodation here. Its faultless, I cant recommend this special living treasure enough.....relax and enjoy yourselves as it's easy to do that here at Tegal Sari.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fredtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

You can see why this is the highest-rated budget accommodation in Ubud -- the rice paddy setting, the stone bottom swimming pool, the big rooms, the wonderful staff...even the welcoming drink they give you. All first-class. But to get a room, that can be difficult. They have their own web-site for booking but instead of letting you book immediately if there is an opening, you have to reply and tell them you are interested and then they send you another e-mail asking for your credit card information. In the meantime, the room is booked from under you. Not sure why they don't let you reserve and book with credit card in one step. While I was denied my first night, they did accommodate me for the next night - but only one night. I was told that 90 percent of their business is repeat and that guests often reserve their next stay when checking out! If you can overcome the hurdle of reservation, it will be worth your while!

Room Tip: If you are rolling the dice to get a room, why not roll sevens and ask for one on the second floor -- gives you more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booking 3 months before, but only get 1 night, the staff is not to much but Very friendly. stay in super deluxe room, second floor with view to rice field. Big room with sitting area. The bathroom have a big bathtub with wonderfull view to ricefield. Fresh air, quite place, green view, nice food. Great experience to stay in here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edisalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked Tegal after reading TA reviews and we are definitely not disappointed !
From the first contact - booking via email through their website - we have been treated in a professional yet friendly manner, a lot of hotels in Australia could do with taking a crash course in hotel management here! We have been treated with the utmost courtesy by every staff member we have been in contact with, the check in was efficient and we were treated to a welcome drink while everything was explained to us and our bags were whisked away to our room. We were then escorted to our "super deluxe" room and shown how to get to the restaurant and Monkey Forest Rd. later that evening we were dropped into town for dinner at Fair Warung Balé (please see my review). Breakfast this morning on our verandah overlooking the rice field was magical. We were them dropped into town again and whilst we were there the staff arranged a massage for us at Peritanen, once again we were dropped off and picked up. We head to legian tomorrow but I really wish we had more nights here, never mind we will return:)
Now for the basics-
Beautiful spacious rooms, immaculately clean bathrooms, comfy beds and pillows, laundry service, hair dryer on request, water filters to fill your own water bottles, and our room was $66 a night for two, fantastic value !

Room Tip: We stayed in the super deluxe room - beautiful! Also viewed a one bedroom villa- great for couples or honeymooners but no view of the rice fields
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tindale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tegal Sari is a quiet place in UBUD among the rice fields. Very clean, great pool. Book in advance as the hotel is booked even in low season. It is a bit of a walk from the central area but that is okay becasue they have a shuttle that will pick up nd drop off anywhere in UBUD. Staf was wonderful. Very helpful. Also this hotel is close to Yoga Barn.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank Evon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews