We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #89 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great potential but overpriced”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

(I just found this review from a year ago which I forgot to publish)

Positives

- quiet and relaxing and has very nice views from the pool. good for people really trying to escape.
- staff at the hotel was very friendly (not necessarily professional).

Negatives

- the hotel has great potential but felt like it was lacking professional management.
- the villas are very large but a bit old. it didn't seem very cosy. furniture needed an update and showers and bathroom were not 4 stars. not sure if its the case in all the villas but our shower and toilet were outside in the garden which means that in the middle of the night you had to go to out.
- to go to the village centre you need to go either with the free "shuttle" service which goes 4-5 times a day or come back by cab. a bit inconvenient that the last shuttle to return is no later than 20:30. Still cheap but beware that a cab booked by the hotel was IDR 50k while you can get them for IDR 30-35k.
- Breakfast was below average.
- Very little value for money

Other
- this was the first hotel we stayed in bali (see also Indiana Kenanga and Courtyard Marriot). If you come from nusa dua dont expect the same quality as in the western chain hotels.
- With some investment in the facilities the hotel could improve significantly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrider86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    148
    59
    39
    35
See reviews for
94
305
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT, U.S.A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Payogan with my husband and two children ( 5 and 3) and we could not have had a better time! From the moment we arrived, the staff were kind, courteous and nothing was too much trouble! From ferrying us around the beautiful grounds in their handy gold carts, to catering to my kids needs on occasion, this would be the perfect place to stay with kids, or without. Our villa was out of this world! Two huge bedrooms and an amazing outdoor area complete with a huge pool, pool loungers and even a pagoda where you could eat alfresco. The room was clean and tidy and they even provided a cot for my youngest which meant less for me to bring all the way there.

While we were staying at the Payogan, there was trouble with the hot water system. The staff were extremely apologetic and comped some meals and invited us to try their amazing spa. Needless to say, we thought we were staying in paradise! From the kindness and attentiveness of the staff to the wonderland of the actual hotel grounds (unique villas, views to the jungle, the huge infinity pool that provided hours of fun complete with swim up bar) we will be back. Not if, but when. This would also be the perfect place to bring lot of friends and bliss out here which is our plan for 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v_and_kCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is where we started our honeymoon from and it couldn't have been better !
We had booked a private villa with a swimming pool. The rooms were archaic in design with high ceilings and wooden floor, overlooking paddy fields. The staff was extremely affable and courteous. There were golf carts to take us in and around the hotel. Private, peaceful and perfect for a romantic stay. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Considering the size of the room, the air condition did not seem to be very effective (So, not a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prachirashmi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a nightmare with the original hotel we booked in seminyak and decided to book a night up in Ubud at the payogan. We booked a pool villa. This is what a hotel should be like the world over. A massive room, separate shower and bathing area, separate toilet. A private sun bathing area and pool, with endless day beds to yourself.
The hotel is outside of the main area of ubud, but if like us you don't mind getting on a bike or bus. It is great. During our stay we maybe noticed 3-4 other guests. We loved it that much that we cancelled our reservation with another hotel and stayed for the rest of our trip.
The views from the restaurant or villa look into forest and paddy fields. I cannot describe how wonderful it is.
We will be back for sure, my second favorite hotel in the world now behind Santhiya in Thailand. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Room 105 or 106 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely weekend staying at the Payogan.

I had read that there was some construction, but there was no noise and we weren't in contact with any workers. You can see some of the building that is going on but it didn't get in the way of the breathtaking views from our private pool.

We ate in their restaurant both nights and thought the food was lovely, we had complimentary cake, tea and breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and had great English. We ended up going on a rice fields tour with one of the workers from the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed, if you have not seen them it is worth a visit.

We were allowed our room for two hours more without charge and could still use their facilities while we waited for our taxi to the airport. We were also given a beautiful spa room to freshen up before our flight.

It was very clean, there was however some yellow stains on one of the pillow cases. This did not bother us though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After checking in, I realized that this hotel was once was a luxury resort, somewhere between 4 to 5 star boutique resort. The resort area was quite large, very quiet and should be a perfect place for relaxation.
We stayed in a villa at the back, which had good views of the valley, but now the new under-construction villas are blocking the view. The bathroom was large, too large it seemed inefficient. The bedroom was great, in term of size, view, and the interior, although they could benefit from more lighting at night time.
The breakfast matched only a 3-star quality (bearing in mind that this resort listed itself as a 5-star in some online travel agents). Choices were limited and quality was average. Waiters and waitresses were slow in reacting to guests demands, in providing coffees/teas, or adding more spoons and forks before they ran out.
I woke up early that morning so I could swim first before breakfast, but was disappointed to find the common pool near the breakfast area quite dirty. Waited by the poolside until the pool cleaner guys finished his work. Was still dirty when he finished, so I changed my plan.
Overall, this was a nice resort, and it should still be a nice resort. The management hasn't been doing their job well. Falling leaves should be cleared daily so the resort area could remain clean and attractive. Pools should be maintained as attractive as possible. The service standards of the hotel team should be reviewed, so they could match a standard of 4-star.

Room Tip: There was a construction going on for newly appointed villas which can be disturbing at daytime and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regawa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stabling three weeks in Bali and we spent two days at Hotel The Pagoyan Resort. We enjoyed quality hotel for the reception of people, for cleanliness, for the comfort of the room and the beauty of the environment. If you want a moment of rest, Pagoyan Hotel The Resort is for you. See pictures that confirm this comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlitosMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#102 of 197 in Ubud
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#40 of 197 in Ubud
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#64 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing