We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place with awesome staff and cool atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb place with awesome staff and cool atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Payogan is pretty sweet. We stayed in one of the normal rooms, the rooms are huge with plenty of storage, beautiful raised ceilings, marble bathroom fixtures, mini bar, tv, DVD player, air con etc etc. Best of all we had an outdoor marble bathtub actually set into the floor with suds provided and nice aroma sticks to burn, quite romantic.

The resort itself is in a nice location just out of Ubud, they offer a free shuttle, and it feels like staying in a temple with nice stone walkways and large grounds to explore. The big swimming pool with pool bar is very awesome. As our flight was late on the day of checkout we got a late checkout and permission to use hotel facilities after checkout. This was great as it meant we could enjoy the pool before the journey back to Bali for our international flight. They also permitted us to store our bags in the lobby until the time of pick up which was very nice.

The staff were all very helpful and really, really friendly. I would compliment the hotel particularly on their professional staff, we were greeted with bright smiles on every occassion.

Breakfast was included and was ample and tasty with choices of fruit juice, freshl eggs cooked to your liking, bacon, sausages, different styles of potatoes, breads, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruits and any condiments you desired. The quality of the food was good and as a buffet you always could have enough. We were busy exploring Ubud in the evenings so didn't try dinner but the menu looked appealing.

I have no hesitation recommending the Payogan, it is a very nice place to stay with all you need and excellent staff offering friendly service.

Someone else commented about unwelcome wildlife, this is pretty silly. If you don't like the idea of tropical wildlife perhaps you should avoid going to tropical countries. We had no wildlife issues at all apart from going wild in the bathtub.

Thank you all so much for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: 103 was pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itfiggures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    140
    54
    38
    34
See reviews for
89
282
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

In the back and beyond of Bali, in a small district called Ubud, this wonderful resort will remain as one of my most exotic destinations. Absolute peace, set in a lush green environ, this resort overlooks a green valley. The staff is so kind and helpful and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The villas with a private pool are even better. It can be boring so make sure you carry your reading material and a peaceful companion. Ubud also has some nice local markets and the Spas are an outstanding experience. Most restaurants / Spas offer free pick-up and drop so you can plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Take a room which is valley facing and has a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaiMisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Words cannot describe the beautiful setting of this resort, for a truly unwinding relaxing experience I would certainly recommend it. The staff are unbelievable friendly and helpful. It is peaceful and quiet. Surrounded by lush gardens and green fields... The spa is also one to check out for an awesome massge and pampering...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I went to Bali for our Honeymoon, we booked the trip through a travel agent and qantas holidays. We were told the payogan was a top of the line resort in bali and so ont he advice of the travel agent decided to start there.

Top of the line is a dramatic exaggeration, the resort is old and run down. When being shown to our villa we walked into our bathroom to find a venomous snake about a 1.5m long. The hotel staff member who was showing us through the villa ran straight past us out the door in fear. We asked to be moved to a room that was enclosed, the travel agent forgot to mention that the villas are open to the jungle and anything could crawl, slither or slide into your villa during the middle of the night.

Anyway we spend a night in a closed off room and were then upgrade to the honeymoon villa as token of apology, it was a nice gesture however again the villa was open to the elements. THe only difference was that it was a little bigger with a bigger pool. When it rained the roof leaked and our luggage got saturated. We woke up each morning to find that all the bugs and geckos in the roof had crapped all over the floor and the staff had to come in each morning and sweep it up.

The staff were not very helpful or apologetic when we told them about the leaking roof and the mess on the floor in the mornings. Breakfast was also included however it was absolutely terrible.

We complained to our travel agent upon return only to be told tough luck.

The other portion of our trip we stayed at the elysian in Seminyak and I can not do justice how nice that resort was, right near Ku de Ta, right near the beach, absolutely amazing resort and facilities, what you would expect when you hear the words top of the line.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Highly recommend this resort. We were Celebrating our 17year honeymoon and once the staff heard this, they made it even more special adding romantic flowers, honeymoon cake and lots of smiles. The staff were always friendly, helpful to everyone though. The pool is very clean and with magnificant views. Going into central Ubud is a very short and comfortable drive and returning after great shopping to the resort reminded you how beautiful and well kept this resort. We had the best time of our life and are already booking to return next year with our 3 children.

Room Tip: traditional beautiful balinese with excellent air conditioning and very very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a great holiday in Ubud, the best hoiday ever. We loved the Payogan, traditional Balinese accommodation; the peace, tranquility, staff very friendly and helpful - especially Dian. We recommend the pool villas. Private and peaceful. Staff happy to help out in any way and always with a smile. We loved the outdoor shower and sunken bath and the wet edge pool. 15-20 mins into town by hotel shuttle or taxi ($50,000 rupiah).

Room Tip: We loved the private villa with the pool. Very private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a great resort, however, our stay was dissappointing. Alarm bells rang when we were dropped at our villa to read a sign at the entrance saying "construction underway - Apologies for the inconvenience". Construction work was right outside our villa and very noisy with large loads of rocks being dumped throughout the day. Upon checkin we discovered we had no running water, Unfortunately, we were due to be picked up for white water rafting and didnt return back to the resort until quite late after our Elephant Safari. We then needed to move rooms. When we changed to the new rooms my friends room's airconditioner was not working properly. The next morning we woke to find we again did not have running water. This continued throughout our stay. Although we were offfered a free meal this hardly compensated for the hastle which is a shame because it is truly a beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayleCowdroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#103 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#61 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#77 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing