We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #96 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights from Aug 16. This is a really good value hotel. Only had a standard room but it was huge with huge bathroom also. Had a great balcony too. It is clean and staff are friendly. Right near the monkey forest. Didnt have any bother from the monkeys at the hotel, had them in the grounds once but the staff move them on. Had breakfast included which was better than I expected. A nice range of food. Best meal of the day by far. Located at start of Monkey Forest Rd so easy to get anywhere. Had free wifi too. Was a lovely stay and would happily stay again

Room Tip: Stayed in a standard room and had everthing I couldve wanted. No lifts so be aware if you dont want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceydasoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is our second time staying at this fabulous Hotel. We love the proximity to everything and its easy walking to great eateries, fantastic coffee across the road directly opposite entrance to Hotel, Monkey Forest and great shopping. Staff are always lovely, friendly and smiling. Nothing is too much trouble. Brekky always great, and food fresh, tables always available. The pools are clean and we enjoy sitting, relaxing and watching the antics of the monkeys when they come by, which is mainly in the afternoon. Our room was clean, serviced promptly every morning, and always with a smile. Something interesting to note, my husband lost his money clip with a fair bit of money in it one morning, he retraced his steps but could not find it. When we went back to the room it was being cleaned and as we walked in, the cleaner pulled open our bedside draw and gave my hubby the money clip which he had found when making up our bed. Money all accounted for. Will definitely be back again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Missmuffy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Practical hotel for exploring Ubud and monkey watching.

Not at all an luxury stay although it looked like it could have been nice in it's heyday, but it's very centrally located for exploring, eating and drinking in Ubud. The monkeys were a cute distraction there certainly wasn't any aggressive behaviour from them but I think they got up much earlier than we did :) At 4am we'd wake up - watch them play on the balcony and then go back to sleep - by 9am they had pretty much all retreated to the forest.

We stayed there so we could explore Ubud without relying on car rides and it served it's purpose. Good wifi. I imagine it'd be quite good for those travelling with kids - rooms are cheap and pretty big and the monkeys are cute. Only complaint would be the shower - seriously needed descaling the pressure was good but the jets were like razors on your skin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, paid bit extra to upgrade the room. hotel staffs are very much money oriented and not willing to offer their assistance. TV broken, Phone broken, and any phone call you would like to make you have to go to front desk and they charge you whatever they want. no lift in so if you have a lot luggage, don't go there as they will not help you to carry luggage.
with breakfast, the staff are very rude and when you ask for 2 coffees, they will refuse to provide it and ask how many of us there. food are limited and sometimes dish run out you will have to wait for long time for them to clean the dish. In Bali there are so many options so I will not recommend anyone go to this hotel as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willseeyouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed her for 4 nights in August. After staying last year we decided to stay again. Although the hotel is older it is still a nice quiet place to stay, very little noise at all, very tranquil . The staff are great , all were very pleasant . The hotel is in easy walking distance to great restaurants, also the market. I would have no hesitation staying here again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through booking.com. We got a late deal on what should have been a very expensive room.

The reception we received when we arrived (the manager made it clear to the staff we had booked through this website) was not very hospitable. We arrived at 2pm, check-in time and were told to wait until our room was ready. Staff forgot about us and we waited with our bags for 45minutes.

The room was basic, poor quality fittings, dated and, we discovered in the evening, was very noisy. The walls are paper thin! We heard tv's, conversations and bedroom activities from the three neighbouring rooms.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right next to the sacred monkey forest. This means that the hotel has lots of monkeys running around, some, not very well behaved. A woman sitting next to us at breakfast had her pastry stolen from her plate. Staff were very committed to protecting guests from the cheeky monkeys though.

The pools are lovely. Overall, I was left feeling like a second class citizen for taking a late deal, and I'm sure we were given a room to reflect that. If you stay here, and you can afford it, its probably worth paying top dollar for the best rooms. Maybe then you'd receive the hospitality we've been shown across Bali in other good hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinton8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had read mixed reviews about this hotel but booked there as went to Ubud on the spur of the moment and there was little accommodation left for the 12 days we needed. I was positively surprised. The staff are excellent and friendly and were very helpful. The room 408 was fine, big clean and tidy, a few chips here and there but.... I did hear other visitors complain but I checked before that I had booked an upgraded room. Many visitors seem to visit in tours and only stay a few days, if you are staying longer check that you have an upgraded room.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about, with the omelettes being cooked in batches and left on the warm plate. Tip ask for a cheese omelette and they cook it fresh and they were good. A lack of variety but it was OK.
Monkeys, not a fan but not really a problem, sit in the middle of the room and it was OK. One morning a troop of 30 visited and it kept the staff occupied. Some unthinking guests actually fed them! They were around the pool several times, but did no harm. As I said not a fan of monkeys but it was a lot better than some people make out.
Ubud I loved and we used as a base for getting out to the North and East of the island. Get up to the volcanoes and into the Paddy fields. Bargain for everything including Spa treatments.
Tip I used Ubud taxi and Laughing Buddha tours both excellent. I will write a full report on Laughing Buddha tours later but excellent knowledge and really shows you what you want to see.

Room Tip: Room 408 on quiet side. Top pool the best Ubud Taxi Laughing Buddha tours excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#116 of 199 in Ubud
354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#114 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $30 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing