We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hotel you will not want to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #89 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a hotel you will not want to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, paid bit extra to upgrade the room. hotel staffs are very much money oriented and not willing to offer their assistance. TV broken, Phone broken, and any phone call you would like to make you have to go to front desk and they charge you whatever they want. no lift in so if you have a lot luggage, don't go there as they will not help you to carry luggage.
with breakfast, the staff are very rude and when you ask for 2 coffees, they will refuse to provide it and ask how many of us there. food are limited and sometimes dish run out you will have to wait for long time for them to clean the dish. In Bali there are so many options so I will not recommend anyone go to this hotel as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willseeyouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    306
    147
    72
    32
See reviews for
131
287
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed her for 4 nights in August. After staying last year we decided to stay again. Although the hotel is older it is still a nice quiet place to stay, very little noise at all, very tranquil . The staff are great , all were very pleasant . The hotel is in easy walking distance to great restaurants, also the market. I would have no hesitation staying here again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through booking.com. We got a late deal on what should have been a very expensive room.

The reception we received when we arrived (the manager made it clear to the staff we had booked through this website) was not very hospitable. We arrived at 2pm, check-in time and were told to wait until our room was ready. Staff forgot about us and we waited with our bags for 45minutes.

The room was basic, poor quality fittings, dated and, we discovered in the evening, was very noisy. The walls are paper thin! We heard tv's, conversations and bedroom activities from the three neighbouring rooms.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right next to the sacred monkey forest. This means that the hotel has lots of monkeys running around, some, not very well behaved. A woman sitting next to us at breakfast had her pastry stolen from her plate. Staff were very committed to protecting guests from the cheeky monkeys though.

The pools are lovely. Overall, I was left feeling like a second class citizen for taking a late deal, and I'm sure we were given a room to reflect that. If you stay here, and you can afford it, its probably worth paying top dollar for the best rooms. Maybe then you'd receive the hospitality we've been shown across Bali in other good hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinton8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Hove
Level Contributor
548 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had read mixed reviews about this hotel but booked there as went to Ubud on the spur of the moment and there was little accommodation left for the 12 days we needed. I was positively surprised. The staff are excellent and friendly and were very helpful. The room 408 was fine, big clean and tidy, a few chips here and there but.... I did hear other visitors complain but I checked before that I had booked an upgraded room. Many visitors seem to visit in tours and only stay a few days, if you are staying longer check that you have an upgraded room.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about, with the omelettes being cooked in batches and left on the warm plate. Tip ask for a cheese omelette and they cook it fresh and they were good. A lack of variety but it was OK.
Monkeys, not a fan but not really a problem, sit in the middle of the room and it was OK. One morning a troop of 30 visited and it kept the staff occupied. Some unthinking guests actually fed them! They were around the pool several times, but did no harm. As I said not a fan of monkeys but it was a lot better than some people make out.
Ubud I loved and we used as a base for getting out to the North and East of the island. Get up to the volcanoes and into the Paddy fields. Bargain for everything including Spa treatments.
Tip I used Ubud taxi and Laughing Buddha tours both excellent. I will write a full report on Laughing Buddha tours later but excellent knowledge and really shows you what you want to see.

Room Tip: Room 408 on quiet side. Top pool the best Ubud Taxi Laughing Buddha tours excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Altough the location is supererb, right in the centre if Ubud, the price you pay for the rooms is on the extreem side.
for example: standard room costs U$ 130 + another 30 in high season, which is about the whole summer. For that price you can book a 5* hotel in other cities in Indonesia. And when TV and telephone are not working, the room looks overdue, i think prices are not fair. But anyways, the location is perfect and those monkeys give a free show.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Net S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our third visit so obviously we really like it here; however for others not so keen on monkey matching you may like to give it a miss so be warned. Breakfast is mayhem at times and i was really upset at the behaviour of two guests towards the monkeys..one guy actually picked up a stick to hit the monkey which was eating a banana from breakfast and an elderly guy got quite hysterical yelling about hygeine as he tried to hit a monkey which was sitting at our table, with a placemat (we didn't mind the monkey and we told him); but he got quite nasty. Most guests find the monkeys amusing but if you can't cope with your croissant being nicked then go elsewhere! Or just take advantage of having a reasonably priced hotel a great location and have breakfast up the road! We had a lovely room at the side and found the staff really helpful. It's cheap enough to stay here and it's handy for everything. we accidentally left a cushion outside which of course got stolen by monkeys so be careful what you leave outside your room. The staff will ask you where it went and you have to write something.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was in a good location on Monkey Forest Road (adjacent to the actual monkey forest), walking distance from the shops and restaurants in the centre of town (Ubud Market) and those on Jalan Hanoman in the other direction. The Deluxe rooms were a good size - plenty of room for a rollaway - very clean and a large balcony overlooking a stream and rice paddies. The hotel has two good sized pools. There is free wifi in the lobby only, but it is slow and patchy. The monkeys do hang around at breakfast and in the afternoons, but they are not aggressive unless you chase them or try to scare them. They are actually quite entertaining and make this place different to the average hotel. Speaking of breakfast, it was included in our room rate, but not great quality. We ate there twice, and went outside twice. There is a café across the road that does good coffee and breakfast and lots of restaurants back up the hill offering breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpolka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#96 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#105 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Property: Champlung Sari Hotel
Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing