We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #95 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews based on the location. The hotel itself is quite comfortable with large rooms & two swimming pools. Our disappointment began with checking in. They couldn't find our booking and left us standing at the desk not knowing what was going on. When they finally worked it out we were grunted at and ushered towards the room. This was really surprising as I have always experienced friendly, helpful service in Bali. We decided to explore the hotel grounds and stopped off at the restaurant by the pool for a cocktail. The two waiters were going about their day to day duties & completely ignored us. We finally approached one of them, who was obviously disgruntled that we had interrupted him but served us anyway. The lack of service continued throughout our stay. Although this hotel is clean & comfortable, the poor service let it down and I would definitely not stay here again. Also, a word of warning, do not stay here if you are scared of monkeys! Our room was next to the monkey forrest and in the morning we had about 30 monkeys on our balcony. This was an awesome experience, although was a little scary when the monkeys jumped on the tables at breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid room 148 if you are scared of monkeys! This is next to the monkey forrest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 780 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just finished staying at the Champlung Sari Ubud. From start to finish this hotel was a giant disappointment. The hotel is unresponsive (we sent at least four emails prior to arriving and they never responded). They completely screwed up our airport pick up, which we had prearranged, and then no one offered an apology or explanation. We were left waiting at the airport for over an hour, while we had to call the hotel several times. Upon arrival, we had to ask that the sheets be changed as they were stained with blood. The towels were once white, but now they are grey. Everything is grubby around the edges.

We elevated our concerns to the hotel on two occasions but our concerns fell on deaf ears. Even an apology would have gone a long way but that wasn’t offered.

Aside from our obvious issues, the rooms and breakfast are marginally okay, except that rooms here are nearly $100 a night. We’ve travelled extensively in Asia and paid much less for much more all around. Take our advice, don’t stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Champlung Sari for 4 nights as a couple and completely loved it. We both agree everything was fantastic. We stayed in a Deluxe Room which was very clean and comfortable, with all the loved up trimmings such as a canopy bed and even folded towels to represent swans and rose petals on the bed!! The service was great, it was quiet, private and great value for money. Champlung is really well located, surrounded by nice shops and cafes, in walking distance to the market and rice fields. The only thing that may worry some people is the monkeys that are present in the mornings particularly. This didn't bother us and they steered clear of us, but if you truly hate monkeys, perhaps choose from the million other bungalows located on the street! Breakfast is an average buffet of fruits, pastries and breads, cereals, eggs any way, and a token asian dish such as Nasi Goreng, a great to start the day off and save room for organic lunches from various food places in Ubud! We both don't have a bad word to say about Champlung Sari, book there and enjoy spending the money you will save on your holiday!!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the monkeys as much as possible, ask for a room located closer to the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jul1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed two days at this hotel with a nice location close to Ubud square. The location is in my opinion the big plus of this hotel since it is located close to the hotspots of Ubud and monkey forest. This makes now and then some monkeys visit ur balcony to chill out and sometimes take a look at the swimming pool and restaurant. The monkeys are very sweet handled right and dont bite or scratch like alot of people say. Just dont touch then and dont tease with fake food.

The room itself were badly cleaned and in bad condition. There are no lockers in the room and no shower curtain or mosquito nets. As long as you just sleep and take a quick shower it wont bother to much but for people who stay here for weeks it can be very frustrating and I would not recommend to do that at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noisiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had no problems with this hotel. Great location at foot of monkey forest road, and by the monkey forest which meant that there were lots of monkeys around if you like monkey watching like i did. Our upstairs room was at the back overlooking the paddy fields...very pleasant. Breakfast consisted of cereals, 5 fresh fruits, egg selection, sausages and bacon and various breads, cheese and croissants so what more do you want? We just sat around drinking coffee and watching the monkeys trying to steal food most mornings which was fun. Would recommend you take your own hairdryer/tongs as the hotel drier is ancient and it would be worth packing a bath/beach towel too as the hotel towels seem to vanish to the laundry for a couple of hours then reappear! They mix a good Margarita too at the bar.

Room Tip: At the front got a lot of monkeys...we had a room at the back where they didn't get onto the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our trip to Ubud and were very impressed. Situated in a stunning location. Great value for money with large and clean room. Great helpful staff and very good breakfast.
We will recommand this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great location, lovely gardens and so close to shops and the monkey forest. Arrived at 10am and shown to our room. Room is a bit dated but lovely balinese features and has a balcony. Bathroom was in need of renovation. Buffet breakfast was adequate. Restaurant is very open and monkeys try to steal food from the breakfast tables, keeping staff busy shooing them. You could either enjoy the monkeys for their entertainment or hate it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 199 in Ubud
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#116 of 199 in Ubud
354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#114 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $30 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing