We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #12 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit just as wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I returned to the Chedi Club having stayed there in 2010. We stayed 5 nights and only ventured out one night to Ubud for dinner. We wanted complete relaxation and yet while we had that, there was plenty to keep us occupied! Yoga in the morning, followed by a sumptuous Indonesian breakfast overlooking the rice paddies, a swim, a walk in the exquisite gardens, a nap, afternoon tea, cocktails, dinner. The Sunday night BBQ allowed us to sample lots of different dishes and was very good, but the highlight was a romantic dinner just for 2 in the middle of the rice paddies, under a full moon. Chef Dean is a great asset and he goes out of his way to make sure you are happy. He even made us a special dish for breakfast so we could sample more of the typical Balinese fare. Simon the General Manager runs an efficient operation and the fact that many of the staff seem to have been there a long time is always a good sign. We hope to be back in the near future! Thank you to everyone at the Chedi for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard villa - not a spa or pool villa - and found it to be more than adequate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for staying with us a second time at the Chedi Club.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was as good as the last one. I can't agree more, a romantic dinner out in our rice paddies is something quite special. Its so nice that you could enjoy it under a full moon, which makes it even more unique.

I'll make sure to pass on your comments to the entire team and especially Chef Dean.

We are very much looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    81
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
191
661
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Chedi Club for four days at the end of May. We were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary and the Chedi Club was the perfect place to start off this very special vacation in Bali. We stayed in one of the pool villas which was very spacious and tranquil. Coming from NY and not being used to the climate, it was so nice to have a private pool to go relax in after spending our days out traveling. We were in villa 5 and we have complete privacy.

There are only about 20 villas on the property so it is very private and quiet. The breakfast which is included with the room is delicious and filling. The restaurant overlooks the gorgeous rice paddies. One morning we decided to have breakfast in our room due to an early departure for a cooking class and our butler, Darma (who was amazing-so good natured and helpful) set up a beautiful spread for us in our outdoor space.

The hotel also provides laundry for up to 6 pieces per person per day which was extremely helpful as we were able to pack lighter. They also have free shuttles into town from 8 am-6 pm and after 6 pm they can arrange a driver for you. They will even give you a cell phone to use to call when you need to get picked up. It is only about a 10-15 minute drive into the center of Ubud so can easily go in for dinner.

If you are making a trip to Bali, I would highly recommend staying in Ubud as it has so much culture and adventures to offer and the Chedi Club is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The pool villas had complete privacy while some of the other rooms did not so I would recommend choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Fist of all, congratulation again on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing the Chedi Club to celebrate this special occasion.

As I can take from your note, you were able to enjoy our various Club Benefits to the fullest. I agree, the fact that we have only 20 villas on 5 hectares of land, makes our resort a very private place and perfect to relax.

I'll make sure to pass on your review to the entire team, especially your butler Darma.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Our next stop after Legian was The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Service was excellent. Chedi arranged a driver to pick us up from Legian. The driver was really friendly and gladly explained everything about Ubud. When we arrived at Chedi, we were greeted by our personal butler. She was fantastic! Her english was good and very friendly. She even provided us with food, drinks and even cold towel while we waited for our room. Chedi was very different from Legian. It is a hotel that is very rich in Balinese art. Every part of Chedi is unique. We were completely amazed by this hotel. Every part of the room reflected the Balinese culture. At first my wife was pretty worried about the mosquitos and peeping tom because of the open concept bathroom, but she was wrong.
We stayed at Chedi for 2 nights. My advice for fellow traveller is "stay longer!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Its very nice to hear that you enjoyed the Balinese aspects of our hotel. I agree, its nice to see different parts of this beautiful island and Ubud, the cultural hub of Bali is definitely a must to visit.

We hope upon your next visit you are able to stay a bit longer with us. Congratulation again on your honeymoon and thank you again for choosing the Chedi Club Ubud!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Before heading to Bali, We were looking for a place not too busy and away from the busy crowd of Seminyak. Naturally UBUD came to my mind. Having done some research The Chedi Club Ubud seemed like a good bet. I have to say the experience was wonderful. The suite room was spacious and the scenery was beautiful. With only 20 villas it is definitely very private and exclusive and that's one of the reasons why I booked it. Our butler was very attentive and was helpful in helping us book restaurants for our dinner. Having said that the food at the restaurant was outstanding. They were equally good in both the western and balinese cuisine. We also had a not from the Chef that he would be able to customise our meals or cook something that we liked.

We also had the opportunity to experience the Spa and the massages were excellent. I would rate this as one of the best massages we ever had. To sum it all up we had a wonderful stay at The Chedi Club and we are already planning a return at the end of the year if time permits.

Thank you for giving us a well rested holiday and experiencing the hospitality of the Chedi Club. We had the experience of personal touch from the staff to the Chef to the GM. This is something very rare and we treasure this experience.

See you again Chedi Club and thank you all staff of the Chedi Club Ubud for making our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ridgecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and its wonderful to hear that we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the privacy, our services and facilities. I'll make sure to pass on your kind note to the entire team especially Chef Dean.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have stayed in some wonderful hotels all over the world and the Chedi has joined our (very small) list of favourites. We stayed 3 nights as part of a 5 week tour through Indonesia and this hotel was certainly the best. Our suite was spacious and well furnished and beautifully looked after each day. The staff were all wonderfully friendly and efficient and we very much appreciated the service of our butler Komang and all the extras like the laundry service, afternoon tea and cakes and evening cocktails. At the lovely pool there was iced water, sun cream and even face spray mist. The manager was also in evidence introducing himself to guests - always a sign of a good hotel.
The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained, the restaurant looks out over paddy fields and overall there is a sense of peace and quiet.
At breakfast there was a choice of different styles of food rather than the usual buffet and we also had a very good dinner in the restaurant one evening.
Besides the complimentary car service into Ubud we recommend the short (10 minute) walk to Goa Gajah, the Elephant Cave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing it with fellow travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel privileged to be on the list of your favorites hotel.

Its always nice to hear that you could enjoy the peacefulness and calm of our Estate. I'll make sure to pass on your note to Komang your butler and the rest of our team, they will be very happy to receive it.

It was a pleasure to meet you personally during your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is just amazing and gives you 150% Bali. Privacy, Service and attention to detail in an absolut private setting. An example how hospitality should be. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY IN PARADISE

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

" Heaven on earth"! A better compliment we could not have received. Thank for that and for sharing your experience at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah on TripAdvisor.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We came from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, so this peaceful getaway was just what the doctor ordered. The staff at the Chedi Club go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay. I have done my fair share of traveling and have to say this is truly one of my favorite hotels in the world. We loved our private villa. Our personal butler was very accommodating without being too obtrusive. We made use of the spa which was great. massage with a view of the rice paddies. Also highly recommend the cook-out. Fantastic food. I felt bad for the hotel we stayed in after this in Jimbaran. Even though it was very nice, Chedi Club is a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icenero007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We could not be happier to receive such a fantastic review! Thank you very much! Its very nice to hear that the Chedi Club Ubud is one of your favorite hotel.

Your comment about our colleagues and your personal butler is very much appreciated;they are working hard every day and I am really proud of having such great people in my team.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
3.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 family (two bedroom) or spa (one bedroom) villas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All hotel guests enjoy personal butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily A la carte breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included), complimentary minibar with alcoholic selection (refreshed once daily), complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, private car service to/from Ubud Centre from 8am to 6pm, free Wifi, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing