We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #7 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Would you like your own villa?
With a massive bed?
And a free mini-bar?
A mini-bar that is refilled for free every day?
How about welcome bottles of vodka and whiskey?
Or an inclusive butler service?
How about a restaurant service top quality Indonesian food?
Do you like a free cocktail hour at sunset?
Or free afternoon tea every day?
Maybe a free taxi into and back from Ubud during daylight hours?
Or do you want somewhere to simply relax in 5-star luxury for a few days?

If the answer to any of the above it YES, then CONGRATULATIONS - you have selected your Ubud 'hotel'!

We stayed as the first part of our honeymoon for three nights. The Chedi Club is located on the outskirts of Ubud but a complimentary lift into the town is easily arranged, provided you plan the day before and not make unrealistic demands for a car to be ready immediately!

One tip I would advise: there are a number of highly rated restaurants in Ubud, but ask your butler to book a couple of days in advance as the restaurants we attempted to book on the day (our fault) were fully booked.

Finally, don't be put off by the 'average' reviews on here. I notice one complained about there being nothing to do. The concept of the Chedi Club is all about relaxation, so if it's a resort type hotel you are after then the town of Ubud is not for you - try the Chedi's sister hotel in Seminyak ... The Legian.

Overall, I can't fault the Chedi Club. I could have stayed another night (4 or 5 would be enough) and you only realise how relaxed this hotel is when you move on somewhere else!

Room Tip: Several villa options are available - either with or without private spa or a larger villa with 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Chedi Club, we sincerely thank you for a fantastic review. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful honeymoon stay with us and are glad you could enjoy our various Club Benefits to its fullest.

All of us are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon and hopefully next time you will be able to stay a few more additional nights with us.

Thank you very much and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights in a pool villa at the Chedi Club. The overall experience was sublime! We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the setting, the service, etc Sure the cost for a 5-star resort in Bali is quite high but that only raised our expectations and we were not disappointed. Perhaps what I enjoyed most was the simple serenity of the property. After spending long chaotic days touring around Ubud the return to the tranquil Chedi Club was perfect. We also particularly enjoyed the service from our butler and kind attention from the GM - Simon. Thank you for a truly memorable experience!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank socal7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on honeymoon with the romance in style package and were made to feel like royalty. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Food was top quality. Highly recommend the rice paddy trek and would have arranged more trips though the hotel if we'd had time. Location is STUNNING. Close to Ubud and free transport made it easy.

Would recommends the VIP airport pickup as we didn't and queues/visas were a hassle.

Room Tip: Private pool villas are luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my second time writing this review. The first one had a pricing error in it, which I wished to correct. I very much enjoyed our four night stay at the Chedi Club, but am undecided if I would return.

The Good:

- The Visa-On-Arrival Fast Track is worth every penny! We were met right inside the terminal and everything was taken care of. No lines, no hassles. While other people waited in numerous lines, we were escorted through as if we were celebrities.
- Our welcome was warm and friendly. We were given drinks and fried bananas as well as a tour of the grounds.
- The rooms are lovely. We had a private pool villa and it was stunning. The gates could be left open for views of the mountain, or closed for complete privacy. The outdoor bathtub was also delightful.
- Breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail hour and the mini bar are all complimentary. (The mini bar is just drinks, though, and not snacks.) Breakfast was very good, with lots of options.
- The staff were attentive and kind. Everywhere we went we were greeted with smiles.
- The complimentary laundry service was wonderful, especially given the heat.
- The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful. It was lovely just to stroll around and enjoy them.
- We arranged a tour through the hotel and enjoyed it very much. With the 21% tax and service fee it came to about $87 AUS ($78 USD) for five hours for the two of us and we felt we paid a fair price for all that we saw and did, even though this is really quite high for Bali prices. Our guide was knowledgeable and made the tour very enjoyable.
- Upon checkout, there was a small gift of rice grown on the premises, which was a lovely gesture.

The so-so (I don't want to say "bad", because it wasn't):

- Outside of breakfast I would not eat at the hotel for other meals if I were to return. Prices are comparable to five star hotels in Europe, but when you consider that a ten minute drive will take you into Ubud where the same quality meal (or better, truthfully) will be a quarter of the price or less, it's hard to justify. In addition, there was exactly one vegetarian option on the menu, an eggplant parm.
- We did have a special dinner after seeing the Balinese dancers, and while I'm happy I did it, I wouldn't do it again, as I'm not sure it was worth it. The food was good, just not great. Truthfully, while "pressured" would be the wrong word, we did feel almost obligated to attend as it was brought up several times by our butler.
- Speaking of the butler, there were times where it was a little uncomfortable... We found we often had to request a moment just to speak between us before deciding what we wished to do each day. The level of service is outstanding, but it can feel a little intrusive.
- After 6pm, the shuttle into town is not longer complimentary. I assume this to to encourage guests to have dinner at the hotel. Get the name of one of the many drivers in Ubud and save the hassle of the hotel shuttle after 6 pm.
- When we wanted a driver to take further than Ubud (we wanted to see the bird and reptile park), the hotel offered to arrange this for us at what felt like a very inflated fee. When I questioned this, they offered to arrange a local driver for less than half the amount, but twice what we would pay if we arranged a driver ourselves. Again, get the card of a driver you like in town and use him. It's a very quick and easy way to save.

Truthfully, I think the European hotel prices did not seem justified when compared to the local prices. Everything just felt hugely inflated. This may seem an odd thing to be concerned about when you're staying at a resort like this, but the inflation is just so over the top it's very hard not to be aware of it. In Europe, while eating in a hotel will be more expensive, it isn't three to five times the cost of a comparable meal at a restaurant.

Please don't get me wrong, the service and ambiance at this hotel are fantastic. It was romantic and lovely. It was just what felt like price gouging that rubbed me a little the wrong way. (I know from previous comments that other travellers have felt the same way as well as the fact that the response from the hotel is that they feel their prices are fair. I guess it's just a matter of opinion.)

Overall though, this was a lovely stay and I'm very glad we had the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbrandywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and we very much appreciate your feedback.

Regarding the vegetarian dishes, while Chef Dean is happy to cook specially based on guest requests I do agree with you that we need to extend our choice on the menu and we will make sure to start work on that immediately.

For the butler service, it is our aim to make sure that the level of service is just right and not intrusive and I apologize if this was lacking during your stay. I have already addressed this with our Rooms team to avoid such incidents in the future.

Regarding the transportation to Ubud, we are happy to arrange an outside car at any time as you have mentioned – but we don’t encourage it because most of the drivers running private services in town are not insured and if an incident occurs it could put our guests in a difficult situation. Our drivers are hired and trained by the hotel, they possess a valid driving license, the cars are licensed, insured and checked on a regular basis, and emergency assistance from the hotel is just a phone call away. The safety of our guests is of upmost importance.

I hope that explains somewhat our perspective and again, thank you very much for the feedback that helps us improve our services. We look forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chedi Ubud lived up to its name as a quiet and luxurious accommodation. Service levels met expectations while we were there and the location was quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, overlooking padi fields.

We stayed in both the spa villa and pool villa. The spa villa would be ideal for guests who prefer in room spas. The pool villa has a bit more privacy as it it was enclosed with a lovely lap pool. The spa at Chedi has a nice view of the rice paddies and is spacious. Daily breakfast was held in a lovely alfresco area, allowing one to relax completely in a serene environment. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

However, we were disappointed that despite writing a long letter/completing the feedback form, and complimenting individual staff and how each of the different staff had helped us, it was not acknowledged. Instead, we were sent the generic email a few days later asking us for our feedback. The after-service experience could be improved to leave guests with a long-lasting positive impression of Chedi accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shunshineeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property and we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your gracious comments about our colleagues were very much appreciated and were promptly passed on to the entire team.

Regarding the letter you have left us, I do normally respond to all personally-written feedback and I am terribly sorry if we have missed you. The feedback e-mail is auotmated and unfortunaltey I am not able to change that or decide who it goes to. I do agree with you that the after-stay experience is very important and I will personally make sure that it remains a priority.

Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's really difficult to add to all the other rave reviews. There is something special about the Chedi Club.
The beautifully landscaped gardens, the pools, the statues, the view down the rice fields combine to make the setting unbeatable. Add to that sublime levels of service, delicious food, the inclusion of so many extras in the room price ( minibar, evening cocktail, laundry, wifi etc), the attention of a personal butler and you have a hotel in a million.
For the first time ever I felt emotional when checking out. Thank you to everyone for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for recommending the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah to future travelers. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

All of us are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently returned from the Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah and wanted to share our delight with our experience. The service was out of this world, with our private butler "Bawa" looking after our every need. The property was magnificent, the reflecting pools and lotus ponds attracting gorgeous birds and butterflies. The statues, flowers and artwork displayed throughout the property are amazing and make for an inspiring walk if the heat is not too intense. We loved our Pool Villa and swam every single day; a bonus for me is that the pool water was perfect - not too cold and not too warm. What a refreshing way to spend the day. Breakfast in the Dining Room bordering the rice fields was idyllic - wonderful food, incredible juices and smoothies, friendly and attentive service could not be beat. We loved it so much we've written a full, in-depth review for our website, newjetsetters.com and we invite you all to come and read it. We can't put a link in to our website here, but if you type in new jetsetters, once you get to our site, search for "Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah" you will find the review. It has beautiful HD video embedded in it as well, so you can really get a feel for this astounding property.

Sincere thanks to Simon Spiller, General Manager, who met with us and allowed us to really explore the property and the other villa categories in order to gather information for our reviews, and to all the staff for treating us with incredible warmth and hospitality. We also want to thank Bawa, our wonderful butler, who became a friend over those seven days. Hopefully one day we will return! Hope to see you all visit our website; the review will be published on newjetsetters the week of July 8th, 2013.

Room Tip: Request a Villa backing onto the Rice Paddy for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,265 reviews
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $352 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing