We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
1,075
84
18
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
84
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef deanpersonal butlerpool villacocktail hourafternoon tearice paddiescomplimentary mini barour honeymoonbutler putrabose sound systembutler servicekecak dancethe general managerlocal villageoutdoor bathbanana frittersrestaurant overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fantastic service, quality accommodation and wonderful food.

It has all been said before for the Chedi, and they were right!

I will be brief because you can read any number of glowing reviews.

We had a pool villa - private and beautiful.

Staff - friendly and professional.

Food - beautiful.

Thank you to our helper Jun, Simon the GM and all the staff that made our stay memorable.

Do - the rice walk with your butler and the Duck!

Photos tell the rest of the story.

Room Tip: Pool villa
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodders70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quiet location in Ubud, a bit pricey but worth your money. Stayed in spa villa, spacious clean private. Service was great, staffs were always there to help. It's our first travel to Ubud, loved the rice paddy and all. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in a pool villa. The room was truly amazing, how many places can you say you prefer a hotel bed to your own (and I love my bed.) Our bath tub was outside, private with a roof but when the rain came down and we were relaxing back watching the steam rise...deary me!!
Our stay would not have been the same without our butler, he was truly amazing. He took care of us like we were royalty, from the small things like turning lights on at night and folding down our bed to arranging tours and meals. He recommended places for us and if he wasn't sure he would research what we had asked him.
The food was great the view out of this world! If you are looking for a place to stay look no further. Can't wait for our return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Chedi Club for 4 days over Easter followed by 4 days at the St Regis in Nusa Dua (you can read my other review for that) with a 3-year old toddler. The hotel is showing a little bit of wear and tear but the property itself is stunning and the service is absolutely out of this world. Highly, highly recommend. We stayed in a pool villa.

Pros:
- Service is just amazing. Each room is assigned a butler who really goes out of his way to attend to your every need. Our butler made restaurant reservations for us and sorted out transport (to and from) without us even having to ask. We hired a babysitter so we could go out and he came and checked on the babysitter and our son while we were out to make sure he was okay. We did the rice paddy dinner and my husband did not finish his scallops and the chef personally came and asked us if the food was okay since he saw that there were leftover scallops on my husband's plate and then offered to re-do a 3-course meal the next day for us. The list goes on and on.
- Small boutique hotel, with only ~20 rooms/villas. Service is really personalized. Everyone addresses you by name. The hotel was running on full occupancy but felt so serene and peaceful.
- Beautiful property with stunning views of the rice paddies, beautiful lagoon in the hotel with swans and fish for the kids to feed. Beautiful pool and setting overall. Such a peaceful environment.
- Well laid out and spacious villa. We had a pool villa that had a decent sized pool and outdoor Sala and separate sitting area. 2 sinks in room and large indoor shower and huge outdoor pool.
- Reasonably fast/strong wifi signal (for Indonesia) and free
- Spa was very nice and reasonably priced for a this type of hotel. My husband and I each did a 1 hour massage and the treatment was good (not amazing) but the ambiance was spectacular with the treatment room opening up into the rice paddy.

Cons:
- This hotel is not really built for children, so don't go there expecting a children's play room or children's pool. Despite the lack of children's facilities, the staff goes absolutely out of there way to accomodate families. There is a children's menu. The chef took our son on a kitchen tour and made him an ice cream treat, etc etc.
- The room is cleaned by the butler on a daily basis and while tidy, didn't really feel spotless.
- Only one restaurant. While the food was good, it was not mind blowing. The restaurant venue is beautiful though.
- The gym is minimal. 2 bikes, 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, a few weights. Disappointing.

Tips:
Definitely book a pool villa. There is a public pool and it is beautiful but not huge and not that many sitting out areas. Also, try and book a pool villa with a rice paddy view.
Also definitely do the rice paddy dinner (candlelight dinner in the rice padies) - it was a really unique and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LittleEinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate the great comments about our Chef and his kltchen team and butler service.

While you’re absolutely right that we don’t have facilities designed especially for children, I’m very happy to hear that you and your children were well looked after, and will pass your comments on to our butler team.

Regarding the villa, I will make sure to look at the housekeeping in more detail, and I apologize for that. And though our gym equipment has very recently been upgraded, at this moment we are not able to extend its capacity with additional space or work out equipment, but we will keep your comments in mind for future planning.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Chedi Club.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. This is truly Bali. Service, location and villas fantastic set amongst the beautiful rice fields on the outskirts of Ubud. Cannot think of anywhere better to unwind. 5 star...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RocketN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews