We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 dollar phone bill as a big part of my memory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“100 dollar phone bill as a big part of my memory”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lets get to the point straight away.
Pros:
Amazing property, designed by one of the most respected architecture in this region. A perfect culturally Balinese experience.
Lovely butler, friendly and good service, who prepare my exotic fruits plate customer made for me!
Really enjoyed free minibar, sunset cocktails and afternoon tea. Those small arrangement made our whole staying very nice.

Cons:
On my last day, I was totally surprised by our phone call charge. 4 DOLLAR per minute to connect to Singapore... We end up pay about 100 dollar for total of 24 min call. I think this is insane and really upset when leaving the hotel. I wish they provided price list by the landline so I would have used my own UK mobile...
Food is expensive in this hotel and to be frankly, the taste did not fully justify the price. We also stayed in Samaya Bali with similar price tag but the food tastes better. For example, the pizza was made without proper tomato source and the French chicken was a bit taste less.
There are quite a lot complementary things in the hotel. But you still need remember to check each service's cost. We requested car to dine in bridges restaurant and get charged 25 dollar for the return rides. It cost less than half of this price if use local taxi.
Other small things...This hotel does not provide tooth paste and shampoo/condition not designer brand. I feel my long hair is hard to comb after conditioning. If you care these small details pls remember to bring your own one. For a five star hotel ranked number 1 in Bali where every possible hotel opens its branch in this small island, these small things let the hotel down.

Overall all, this is a hotel with wow factor, the amazing garden and nicely prepared room made us a good stay. However, it's a bit pity I feel a bit upset with the surprise price charges. Wish all the service and price list in this hotel will be more clear in future.

Room Tip: Please check all cost before enjoy the service to avoid unwanted surprise. Locations not in middle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prawnpipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for bringing the matter of the telephone charges to my attention. Unfortunately the telecommunications network the hotel uses for its guests is indeed very expensive to insure its quality; please let me assure you that the hotel is not charging margins on the telephone rates. However, as you have suggested, we will consider adding the rates to the hotel information found in our villas.

Regarding our transportation and price structure: as part of the Club benefits, we offer complimentary drop and pick up (on guest request, not by scheduled shuttle) to and from Ubud center from 9 am to 6 pm. The local metered taxis are very few in Ubud as the nearest taxi station is about 15-20 kilometers away. The hotel cars are a convenience so guests do not have to look or wait for taxis or negotiate rates with unmetered cars. Our service, being more comfortable and driven by our own staff, is priced reasonably in line with what these services are valued at.

Our property's restaurant price structure is in line with other luxury hotels in and around the Ubud area but I do apologize about your finding some menu items not to your liking; your comments have been passed to our chef and kitchen team. Additionally, all bathroom amenities including toothpaste are available but not displayed in the bathrooms; we are happy to provide it when requested. For other bath amenities like shampoo, we do not provide designer products but locally produced, refillable jars that support the environmental values of the property considering Bali's limited recycling capabilities. The quality of the bath products is often not apparent because we have very hard water in Bali; this influences the feeling of hair, skin and even laundry after washing.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Chedi Club Ubud.

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
191
668
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the moment you are greeted at the airport, until departure, every whim, desire and need is taken care of. The property is beautiful,rooms large and comfortable and the butler service very special. The hotel is very well run by a wonderfully attentive GM (Simon) and the staff are very helpful, friendly and enjoyable. Nestled in amongst the rice patties was a unique and unforgettable experience. I would urge anyone going to Bali to spend time in Ubud and undoubtably be a guest at the Chedi.

Room Tip: each room is it's own little house and all private and beautifully situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Chedi Club Ubud. It was a great pleasure that I read through your review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services accorded to you by all the staff at The Chedi Club. This review will serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards of service which we always try to improve in order to meet your expectation.

Thank you once again for choosing the Chedi Club and for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Chedi Club in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our experience at Chedi Club lived up to all the great reviews. outstanding service, beautiful setting and wonderful rooms. It was worth splurging on the villa with private pool - so delightful to have a private little pool and deck area. I agree with the reviews that comment on the restaurant - food was great but overpriced and we got a bit tired of the menu. But they have special menu nights to try to compensate. Plus you can get the car service into town to eat at some of Ubud's great restaurants. I would highly recommend Chedi to friends.

Room Tip: worth splurging for the room with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSarahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We thought this visit was a 'bucket list check off' item. But compared to other high-end resorts we've visited and 'checked off' (Post Ranch Inn, Lake Como Italy), we WILL return to Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Simply put, it was the most restful, magical, blissful 3 night stay we've ever had. We adored everything: The excellent design of the pool villa -- inside and out. Morning coffee/tea in the restaurant. Followed by yoga overlooking the rice paddy, with lovely gamelan accompaniment drifting across the paddy from the restaurant. Then, complementary car service to Ubud, spa treatments, a dip in our pool, complementary tea and cocktails and a lovely dinner. Friends asked where in Ubud we ate -- and we confessed that we stayed at Chedi each night -- it was too lovely to leave + the food and the service were just too good. Why risk going somewhere else? When we return, we will stay longer and visit the lakes and the volcano. But this first time, we enjoyed cocooning at Chedi -- getting to know the property, the staff and Darma, our wonderful butler. Agree with prior comments about Visa-on-arrival service; do not hesitate to avail yourself of this service. A no-brainer and a bargain considering time and aggravation saved. Chedi service for our domestic departure to Yogjakarta was also hugely helpful -- he helped us navigate departure fees and security that I'm not sure we otherwise would have understood (airport under construction and all rather confusing). Well done, Chedi Club!

Room Tip: Personally prefer pool villa, but case could be made for the spa villa. #14 did have some road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAis4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taichung
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted a relaxing break and this is the perfect place to do so. The hotel grounds are large and there are not so many villas and the feeling we got was of sublime isolation. We booked a pool villa and we were glad we did. Not only did we have a sizeable pool in which we could laze around day and night, also these villas seemed to us to be more private. Our butler, Mita, was amazing and it was wonderful to have one staff contact person who knew our likes and wants and arranged everything accordingly. The afternoon teas and cocktail hours were also a great way to wind down at the end of the day. The food at the restaurant was superb although I would preferred a slightly larger portion size and of course the prices are higher than at restaurants in town but we did that one day taking the complimentary car to Ubud and with the traffic, the crowds, the heat and slightly disappointing retail options we felt it more relaxing to just stay in the resort. The spa is clean and well designed and our spa treatment was satisfactory but not extra specially memorable. We loved yoga in the mornings (not offered on Mondays) which was a great way to start the day and most days it was only us and the instructor except for one day when one other guest joined us. We only returned yesterday but already are contemplating going back in a few months time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alextaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved it couldn't have picked a bad thing about this place. Well priced amazing people and the staff were like our friends in the end the management have truly run this place to perfection. Thank you for your amazing hospitality and i will tell all my friends to visit you on there breaks in Ubud

Room Tip: Our room was amazing and ive heard they all are
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angusira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Set among a majestic field of rice paddies just outside of central Ubud, we stayed at The Chedi Club for four nights. During our stay, we visited the shops in central Ubud, went scuba diving in Amed, dined out at Amandari, and visited the monkey jungle. The Chedi Club is the best possible place to stay while experiencing it all. Service is totally unparalleled. The grounds of the resort are absolutely perfect. Our butler Yuni was amazing. Our romantic candelight rice paddy dinner was better than we expected.

Given that we stayed four nights at Ayana in Jimbaran and then four nights at The Chedi, we got to experience two different resort experiences, each with their own unique highlights. What they both shared in common was the incredible attention to service. Never experienced anything like it. You just can't find anything like it in America. Service in Bali is in a class of its own, and The Chedi Club is the epitome of excellence. They have mastered the ability to stay out of your way and give you privacy when you need it while reactively and proactively meeting your every need. Our thanks goes to the wonderful staff, including Simon for making it all work, because it made our experience unimaginably great!

Finally, the Kecak performance was a real unexpected treat. Set in the outdoor amphitheatre, it's a great story and great cultural performance that will leave you wondering why you would have ever considered staying anywhere else!

Oh, and a quick shout-out to the restaurant staff: all of the above was graced by the excellent cuisine brought to us by Chef Dean and his staff. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Pool Villa #9 was great - best unobstructed and secluded view of the rice paddies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
3.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 family (two bedroom) or spa (one bedroom) villas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All hotel guests enjoy personal butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily A la carte breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included), complimentary minibar with alcoholic selection (refreshed once daily), complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, private car service to/from Ubud Centre from 8am to 6pm, free Wifi, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing