We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Set the bar so high” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Set the bar so high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place was amazing, we stayed 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Our butler Darmah looked after everything but the staff weren't pushy. Free courtesy car into Ubud and they leave you with a phone to call when you want to be picked up. Free cocktail hour was nice just before dinner. The restaurant had spectacular views and the food was fantastic we ate here 2 of the 3 nights. Highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    79
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
175
627
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I decided to come here based on all the good reviews, but admittedly was ready to challenge that. Can it really be that good?? All I can say is that every expectation was either met or more than exceeded. This hotel makes the guest their absolute number one priority. The staff seems absorbed in anticipating your every need in comfort, starting with welcome drink to the final thank you upon departure.

In trying to articulate what I liked about the hotel, it's really difficult knowing where to start. The place is just breathtakingly beautiful, and the attention to detail is just a never ending process. From your private butler, to the restaurant staff, the pool attendant, the groundskeepers - everyone is just focused on your happiness. Whatever stressed out vibes I may have been carrying upon my arrival, dissapeared before my departure. If there's such a thing as spiritual cleansing, this hotel wins the award in making that happen!

I should probably pick a few highlights of things that really impressed me about the facility, and it's really about the detail. Lets start with the aromas. You are greeted with a cool towel that's infused with some awesome herbal infusion, together drink called a "Chedi Press" made of ginger and lemongrass. They just seem to be the exact thing you need at the moment. Your room is kept in immaculate condition, with basically complimentary everything - mini bar, fresh fruits, cartridge coffee maker, and even a couple of carafes of vodka and whisky for those inclined. We had a nice LCD TV with a complete channel lineup, but have to say that watching TV was probably not the first priority - I mostly watch news and stocks, so was good for that. You get a Bose surround with iPod (and yes I did bring my old 80GB iPod). The complimentary clothes washing service was just way to nice. Everything cleaned, pressed, and smelling so nice every day.

From your room to the outside, is in the truest sense, a tropical paradise. This place is huge for the amount of guests that it accomodates, and quite frankly a high maintenance proposition. They have quite the dedicated groundskeeping staff that do one of the most impressive jobs I've seen keeping up the perfectly manicured lawns, ponds, waterfalls, and of course the imported swans!

The food and service at the restaurant is definitely five star quality. The menu prices were comparatively a bit high for the lunches and dinners, but with the complimentary breakfast it all evens out in the end. They also have a complimentary afternoon tea and cocktail hour that serves snacks and hors d'oeuvres. I never went hungry, and in balance it all ended up being quite reasonable in cost. I should mention that the restaurant staff's attentive and thoughtful anticipation of your diet was very impressive. In a passing conversation with one of the staff I briefly mentioned I needed to avoid gluten. From there on, all of the staff were informed that I should only be served gluten-free bread with my meal. This all happend automatically. Once again, the focus on detail was everywhere.

There's so much more to say, but will conclude here by saying that this was truely one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had - anywhere.

Room Tip: Pool Villa romm #9 I'm told the hidden gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roadwarrior2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

So of course Bali is a very special place. Also of course there are many special places to stay on the island. (also stayed at the Ayana while there which was beautiful, and visited the Four Seasons which seemed wonderful). But I can truthfully say that while we have stayed at magnificent resorts, large and small, all over the world, no place has ever exceeded the Chedi Club in Bali. Simple, serenely beautiful and seemingly seamless attention to every detail. From sending a driver halfway across the island to pick us up at another resort for no charge to no charge for everything from a private butler to the minibar to breakfast & afternoon tea, to transport to town (Ubud). Moreover, since our flight back to Singapore was not leaving until 10PM, after our checkout (which was as late as we wanted basically) the Chedi arranged for us to spend the afternoon and evening at their sister hotel on the beach and nearer the airport called the Legion for free. The Legion, which deserves its' own fantastic review, gave us a free suite in which to shower and change before our flight. I could wax more poetic, but suffice it to say that we have never been treated better nor enjoyed a stay at any resort better than the service and wonderfulness that is the Chedi Club!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jgknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was the best hotel my family and i have ever experienced. personal butlers, afternoon tea, fabulous breakfast and coktail hour all included. The setting in the rice paddies is magical, and the serenity of the property is fabulous. The most amazing part is on transfer day, they drove us to a sister hotel in town, and offered us a full day of pool, beach, and a changing suite , all included!!!! You must experience this place!! the dinner was also very special, all around the best!

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We are guests at Chedi now (and loving it) and are curious about how much to tip our terrific butler when we check out. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

As for our stay -- it has been a dream come true. All the hype was true. So much so.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Britishbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt like royalty and I can honestly say, I have never stayed anywhere in the world where I have been better looked after. The grounds were so expansive that you rarely ran into anyone else apart from when visiting the many areas set up for relaxing or dining in. The whole time we were there we kept thinking that at some point we were bound to hear that some famous movie star or Rock God was also staying there.....such was the level of opulence.
Others have raved quite rightly about the butler service, the service in general and the extraordinary and exquisitely prepared food, so I wont repeat it all again, instead I will simply say.....believe every word and give yourself a totally memorable and romantic experience and visit the Chedi Club as soon as you possibly can :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Chedi Club Ubud and for taking the time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the hotel services, that is very much appreciated.

I have also passed your comments on to Chef Dean and his kitchen team, and they were very happy to receive them. We are very pleased to hear that you found our food to your liking.

I hope we may welcome you back again to the Chedi Club Ubud in the not too distance future

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Chedi club is the most amazing place to relax. The villa accommodation has all the comforts of home and your butler takes care of your every whim in an unobtrusive manner. The staff are friendly, competent and helpful. The main pool area has amazing views of the distant mountains and the local wildlife is extraordinary. You can take your complimentary afternoon tea and early evening cocktails in various settings and the quality of all meals is excellent. We really enjoyed the Kecak Dance evening and we felt the experience was very authentic. The courtesy transport to and from the airport was a treat and our driver was so patient after our flight had been delayed for 3 hours. The unique setting of this small resort is truly magical. The general manager and guest relations department deserve a special mention as they took a personal interest in ensuring you had a wonderful stay. The office staff arranged onward flights for us in advance and this proved to be a godsend as it is difficult to book on-line domestic flights in Indonesia.
Thank you for a wonderful experience - world class and exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#4 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.5 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing