We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like family...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #5 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I suppose my review title could be interpreted in a couple of ways, but rest assured, it is intended as a compliment. This was the second visit to The Chedi Club for my partner and I, and having the staff remember us was lovely, especially as it had been a year ago since we last saw them. While on our first visit we were treated as highly valued guests, on this occasion we were (literally) greeted with open arms. It is great to see that the property is going from strength to strength under Simon and his management team. The addition of Dean, the exec chef, is a great asset to the property. Dean is a real character with an obvious love of growing and creating good food – take his cooking class and see his amazing garden.

On this visit I really had a chance to see how much the staff care and how far they are willing to go to help you. Unfortunately I caught a severe tummy bug (just one of those random things that happens) which required a visit from the doctor. Our butler, Jun, was simply fantastic, arranging for the doctor (who arrived in 20 minutes, no less!) and made sure I was as comfortable as I could be. Jun recommended and provided re-hydration drinks and food to restart my appetite (plain rice porridge is a new #1 tummy cure!). Dean’s special chicken soup and tea were so gratefully received. The guest services manager kept a close eye on how I was which was appreciated. It is not nice to be ill while on holiday, but honestly, I felt like I was really being cared for. I have to say a special thank you to Dayu in the restaurant for her kindness, Dean for his brilliant food, Simon for just being so caring about his guests’ welfare, but most importantly Jun, our butler, who apart from doing a fantastic and professional job, is a really lovely guy. Thanks again Chedi team for a great break – we’ll be back!

PS: Take note of the other comments re: the express visa service - it is really worth it.

Room Tip: Any pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KierenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about this amazing resort everyone was so caring and sweet,mostly our fabulous butler Mita. Simon Spiller the general manager has done a fabulous job getting marvellous people to take care of us.
Our spa treatment which was performed by two synchronized therapists was one of our best massages we have ever experienced.
Dean's food was delicious and we loved our set Xmas dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is small with individual villas surrounded with beautiful landscaping and rice fields that supply the organic rice served in the hotel restaurants. The private pools add to the sense of sybaritic seclusion. It is hard to imagine a nicer experience than staying in The Chedi Club! In fact it is diffucult to leave to do the obligatory sightseeing,

Room Tip: No tip needed. Any room is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at a pool villa. I will mention what was a highlight for us and not repeat what has been said previously. As a start, the express visa on arrival service offered by the hotel is worth us $45 per person. We were whisked through not only visa queue but through customs and bag screening and we were out the airport in no time. The queues were long i an airport completely in need of an overhaul which is underway.
Our butler Supri was accomodating, professional with a sense of fun. When we complained about the bed he changed the mattress, my partner needed his shorts rehemmed he took it away and fixed it, we bought some paintings which he unstapled from the canvas and rolled it up all packaged in a tube for our trip home. all done in true balinese spirit.
Chef Dean catered to our dietary restrictions with the most delicious food. When we asked for certain foods we got it all with thought and down to earth service.
We got a chance to meet Simon the GM who is a personable man blessed with people who are gentle spirit in an amazing location.
The spa is worth a visit. Wiwik who did my massage, mani and pedi was lovely. She even offered to redo the colour of my nails in the morning if i changed my mind as it was done in the evening and the lighting was making it hard to choose a colour.
Are they any areas that need looking into?Perhaps upgrading beds [sprung mattresses as an option]?
When we mentioned coming back with our children, we were encouraged to do so and that our children will not only be welcomed and entertained by your butler they will become part of the chedi family. And I believe them. Thank you to everyone at The Chedi for a truly memorable stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Go for the pool villa for absolute privacy, nothing quite like swimming ala natural.:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drsfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We could not fault anything here. We can not stop talking about The Chedi to family and friends. From the minute we were picked up from the airport to the minute we left everything was amazing. They looked after us so well. They offer very personalised service. The complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails were all fantastic. Great restaurant. Also enjoyed yoga overlooking the rice paddies with a great instructor. We stayed with our two small children who had a fantastic time feeding the swans and in the pool although we do want to come back without the children one day as it would be a perfect romantic retreat. We thank the General Manager, Simon, the Executive Chef, Dean, our butler Japa and all the staff for an unforgettable holiday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we do value and appreciate your feedback. I have passed your gracious comments to Japa, Chef Dean and the team, they were very happy to receive your comments.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

Kind regards,

Simon and The Chedi Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pros.
Most picturescue / beautiful hotel we ever been to. Just can not stop enjoing it.
Good restaurant for romantic dinner (5 star hotel prices of course)
Great villa and private pool.

Cons.
We did not find services offered by hotel on good price/value ratio..

Cars - everywhere in the 5 star hotels in the world we have an option either to take local taxi or pay double price for hotel luxury car. In Chedi the only option is to pay double price for same not very new Suzuki used by all the Ubud drivers.. if you want to go anywhere else but Ubud, take free drive to Ubud centre and then take local taxi from there..

Spa - we did not try it, cause it was 10 times!! more expensive then best ones in Ubud..

Already mentioned by others price of alchohol in the restuarant - we know we have to pay more on Bali cause of 350% tax for alchohol.. However glass of cheap Italian wine can not cost more then price of 2 bottles in Europe. Same for local beer when 1 bottle in Chedi cost the price of box in the store.. Common..

Again - its common you pay much more for luxury in 5 star hotels. But you know what you get for this price - luxury service in luxury surrounding.. Unfortunately not always the case in Chedi..

One of the really annoying things, surprisingly was the nice attitude of the stuff.. Sounds crazy a bit :), but when 6 different waitresses comes to you during the dinner asking, are you Ok? how is the food etc? interrupting your privacy and which is even more important chewing process its quite awful..

And the last thing is very nice batler you meet right upon your arrival, and then he becomes part of your family (we did not really asked for it, didn't we?).. Visting you to offer different hotel services, when you did not really ask for it (number of times) so you have to find polite excuses to avoid them or starting to make pros and cons right in front of the batler, feeling quite stupid.. I do not know why it was necessary to prepare our room only during our presense in the hotel? One day I specially asked to finish all the preparation before 8pm and have some fruits delivered to our room at that time, as we wanted to have some privacy right upon our arrival at the evening.. Needless to say, when we came back we found dark villa.. Guy showed up to asked can he prepare it for night at 8:30 and fruits where delivered at 9.. It did not ruin the evening of course, however surprisingly - hotel, which is acclaimed for privacy, did not provide us even with the usual privacy level we used to get in other hotels all over the world..

All the prices are subject to 21% goverment and service charge.. So you never know exactly how much you should pay at the end, until good in math or use calculator..

Last thing is charge - they block amount for the whole stay on the card, when you get to the hotel and during checkout charge the whole amount, despite ensuring its for additional servises only, once again.. In according to my bank, initial sum should be unblocked in 30 days, though I do not really see the reason why I have to loan money to some Balinese bank, and not be able to use them when I want. Would be quite happy to pay for the stay at the first date and then to pay additional charges upon checkout..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chuk_I_Gek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and the feedback you have provided.

We apologize for the lapse you encountered in the service of the butler; I have communicated this to our entire team to make sure that preferred times of servicing villas are strictly followed. Our butler service is designed to be personal, but not at all intrusive, and I am sorry that you felt it to be disruptive. I will be concentrating on this with our team.

Regarding our transportation and price structure, I would like to address these issues; as you have rightly mentioned, they have come up once or twice before. As part of the Club benefits we offer complimentary (on guest request, not by scheduled shuttle) drop and pick up to and from Ubud center from 9 am to 6 pm for our guests. If before or after these hours any of our guests would like a local metered taxi to be ordered, it is done without any hesitation -- as long as the taxi is willing to come up from the nearest taxi station which is about 15-20 kilometers away.

Our property's restaurant and spa price structure is in line with other luxury hotels in and around the Ubud area. While the restaurant prices do differ from those in Ubud center, the Chedi offers its guests Club benefits that include airport transfers, breakfast, evening cocktails, afternoon tea, a fully-stocked minibar including alcohol, transport to Ubud center, and yoga classes.

I have just checked the credit card procedure; unfortunately this cannot be altered as the unblocking depends on the bank that has issued the credit card.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback which will help us to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and found it to be the most magical place we have ever stayed. From the moment we pulled off the busy street we were in a tranquil paradise of the rice paddy fields and luxurious villas.
The food was fantastic including the lovely cocktails they offers complimentary each evening until 7pm.
20 minutes from Ubud the hotel will kindly put on a free butler an give you a mobile phone so you just have to call them when your ready to be picked up.
I wouldnt miss this place for the world!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,086 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,230 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
269 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $354 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing