We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveler rating
1,144
90
21
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
90
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef deanpersonal butlerpool villacocktail hourafternoon tearice paddiesfree laundryour honeymooncomplimentary mini barbutler putraghm hotelsbose sound systembutler servicekecak dancethe general managerlocal villageoutdoor bath
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pros.
Most picturescue / beautiful hotel we ever been to. Just can not stop enjoing it.
Good restaurant for romantic dinner (5 star hotel prices of course)
Great villa and private pool.

Cons.
We did not find services offered by hotel on good price/value ratio..

Cars - everywhere in the 5 star hotels in the world we have an option either to take local taxi or pay double price for hotel luxury car. In Chedi the only option is to pay double price for same not very new Suzuki used by all the Ubud drivers.. if you want to go anywhere else but Ubud, take free drive to Ubud centre and then take local taxi from there..

Spa - we did not try it, cause it was 10 times!! more expensive then best ones in Ubud..

Already mentioned by others price of alchohol in the restuarant - we know we have to pay more on Bali cause of 350% tax for alchohol.. However glass of cheap Italian wine can not cost more then price of 2 bottles in Europe. Same for local beer when 1 bottle in Chedi cost the price of box in the store.. Common..

Again - its common you pay much more for luxury in 5 star hotels. But you know what you get for this price - luxury service in luxury surrounding.. Unfortunately not always the case in Chedi..

One of the really annoying things, surprisingly was the nice attitude of the stuff.. Sounds crazy a bit :), but when 6 different waitresses comes to you during the dinner asking, are you Ok? how is the food etc? interrupting your privacy and which is even more important chewing process its quite awful..

And the last thing is very nice batler you meet right upon your arrival, and then he becomes part of your family (we did not really asked for it, didn't we?).. Visting you to offer different hotel services, when you did not really ask for it (number of times) so you have to find polite excuses to avoid them or starting to make pros and cons right in front of the batler, feeling quite stupid.. I do not know why it was necessary to prepare our room only during our presense in the hotel? One day I specially asked to finish all the preparation before 8pm and have some fruits delivered to our room at that time, as we wanted to have some privacy right upon our arrival at the evening.. Needless to say, when we came back we found dark villa.. Guy showed up to asked can he prepare it for night at 8:30 and fruits where delivered at 9.. It did not ruin the evening of course, however surprisingly - hotel, which is acclaimed for privacy, did not provide us even with the usual privacy level we used to get in other hotels all over the world..

All the prices are subject to 21% goverment and service charge.. So you never know exactly how much you should pay at the end, until good in math or use calculator..

Last thing is charge - they block amount for the whole stay on the card, when you get to the hotel and during checkout charge the whole amount, despite ensuring its for additional servises only, once again.. In according to my bank, initial sum should be unblocked in 30 days, though I do not really see the reason why I have to loan money to some Balinese bank, and not be able to use them when I want. Would be quite happy to pay for the stay at the first date and then to pay additional charges upon checkout..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chuk_I_Gek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and the feedback you have provided.

We apologize for the lapse you encountered in the service of the butler; I have communicated this to our entire team to make sure that preferred times of servicing villas are strictly followed. Our butler service is designed to be personal, but not at all intrusive, and I am sorry that you felt it to be disruptive. I will be concentrating on this with our team.

Regarding our transportation and price structure, I would like to address these issues; as you have rightly mentioned, they have come up once or twice before. As part of the Club benefits we offer complimentary (on guest request, not by scheduled shuttle) drop and pick up to and from Ubud center from 9 am to 6 pm for our guests. If before or after these hours any of our guests would like a local metered taxi to be ordered, it is done without any hesitation -- as long as the taxi is willing to come up from the nearest taxi station which is about 15-20 kilometers away.

Our property's restaurant and spa price structure is in line with other luxury hotels in and around the Ubud area. While the restaurant prices do differ from those in Ubud center, the Chedi offers its guests Club benefits that include airport transfers, breakfast, evening cocktails, afternoon tea, a fully-stocked minibar including alcohol, transport to Ubud center, and yoga classes.

I have just checked the credit card procedure; unfortunately this cannot be altered as the unblocking depends on the bank that has issued the credit card.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback which will help us to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and found it to be the most magical place we have ever stayed. From the moment we pulled off the busy street we were in a tranquil paradise of the rice paddy fields and luxurious villas.
The food was fantastic including the lovely cocktails they offers complimentary each evening until 7pm.
20 minutes from Ubud the hotel will kindly put on a free butler an give you a mobile phone so you just have to call them when your ready to be picked up.
I wouldnt miss this place for the world!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This resort is top notch. Their property, set on a rice plantation is soooo relaxing and beautifully landscaped amongst the well appropriated free standing rooms and suites. We stayed in a pool suite and a regular suite. Decor and comfort is Balinese luxury. The resort has beautiful art and sculpture throughout. The service is top shelf supplying you with a butler who can and does provide whatever you require. The inclusive breakfast is a plentiful, delicious menu selection. We dinned one evening and enjoyed afternoon tea....all so good and very friendly, accommodating service. The open air dinning in their dinning building overlooking the rice paddies is breath taking and very relaxing. I enjoyed complimentary yoga in the morning open to the rice a paddies...what a rare treat. Their swimming pool is perfect for relaxing or swimming laps. Only problem was, we only had 3 nights there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanthewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed four nights. Suites are little cottages, rustic and worn, yet with charm. Amazing little water lily ponds surrounding the area. Pool Villa much more mondaine and thankfully with bathroom facilities inside as compared to the suites where your creams and pots are exposed to the heat and humidity, let alone only mirrors outside to accompany blowdrying hair. Butler service at its best (Mrs. Yuni is a gem!) and good staff attention all around. Food has its ups and downs with the Singapore Chef commanding a local kitchen brigade. It somehow lacks soul though.
Fitness facilities (Gym) outdated and very small, the tennis court totally run down and a safety hazard. Spa a delightful experience and good quality treatments. Overall a very tired resort complex in great need of "upholsterings" and upgrading. As other guests mentioned, it's all about gardens, rice paddies and tranquility. We recommend a stay after serious renovation investment.

Stayed: December 2012
5  Thank joyouslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property, and the comments for our staff that have been passed on, especially to Yuni your butler.

The Chedi was built as a Balinese home, a family estate, and during the process of converting it to a hotel every effort was made to preserve the original details that make it so special; one of these being the outside showers attached to the suite villas. The property's charm, as you say, lies with these details.

In the coming year, we do have a couple projects scheduled to upgrade some parts of the property. The bathrooms of the suite villas will be renovated with new fittings and fixtures; new gym equipment will replace the current set up.

I have passed your comments about the food to Chef Dean; if it is at all possible for you to give me a few more details about it, that would be greatly appreciated, you could e-mail me at sspiller@ghmhotels.com

Thank you again for your review and constructive feedback.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chedi is the perfect upcountry Bali experience. Like living on a huge private estate/botanical garden. Only 28 large villas on acres of open garden space surrounded by rice fields with flocks of wild ducks.
Impeckable relaxed service by the sweetest people you will ever meet.
The General Manager is on the scene and PRESENT to meet and greet and just be amazingly inviting.
No place better for the mountain experience. Thk you Chedi Club.

Room Tip: Nice to have a pool villa but not necessary. Huge gorgeous main pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drrobtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews