We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,263)
Filter reviews
1,263 results
Traveler rating
1,145
91
21
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,145
91
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef deanpersonal butlerpool villacocktail hourafternoon tearice paddiesfree laundryour honeymooncomplimentary mini barbutler putraghm hotelsbose sound systembutler servicekecak dancethe general managerlocal villageoutdoor bath
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,263 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This resort is top notch. Their property, set on a rice plantation is soooo relaxing and beautifully landscaped amongst the well appropriated free standing rooms and suites. We stayed in a pool suite and a regular suite. Decor and comfort is Balinese luxury. The resort has beautiful art and sculpture throughout. The service is top shelf supplying you with a butler who can and does provide whatever you require. The inclusive breakfast is a plentiful, delicious menu selection. We dinned one evening and enjoyed afternoon tea....all so good and very friendly, accommodating service. The open air dinning in their dinning building overlooking the rice paddies is breath taking and very relaxing. I enjoyed complimentary yoga in the morning open to the rice a paddies...what a rare treat. Their swimming pool is perfect for relaxing or swimming laps. Only problem was, we only had 3 nights there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanthewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed four nights. Suites are little cottages, rustic and worn, yet with charm. Amazing little water lily ponds surrounding the area. Pool Villa much more mondaine and thankfully with bathroom facilities inside as compared to the suites where your creams and pots are exposed to the heat and humidity, let alone only mirrors outside to accompany blowdrying hair. Butler service at its best (Mrs. Yuni is a gem!) and good staff attention all around. Food has its ups and downs with the Singapore Chef commanding a local kitchen brigade. It somehow lacks soul though.
Fitness facilities (Gym) outdated and very small, the tennis court totally run down and a safety hazard. Spa a delightful experience and good quality treatments. Overall a very tired resort complex in great need of "upholsterings" and upgrading. As other guests mentioned, it's all about gardens, rice paddies and tranquility. We recommend a stay after serious renovation investment.

Stayed: December 2012
5  Thank joyouslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property, and the comments for our staff that have been passed on, especially to Yuni your butler.

The Chedi was built as a Balinese home, a family estate, and during the process of converting it to a hotel every effort was made to preserve the original details that make it so special; one of these being the outside showers attached to the suite villas. The property's charm, as you say, lies with these details.

In the coming year, we do have a couple projects scheduled to upgrade some parts of the property. The bathrooms of the suite villas will be renovated with new fittings and fixtures; new gym equipment will replace the current set up.

I have passed your comments about the food to Chef Dean; if it is at all possible for you to give me a few more details about it, that would be greatly appreciated, you could e-mail me at sspiller@ghmhotels.com

Thank you again for your review and constructive feedback.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chedi is the perfect upcountry Bali experience. Like living on a huge private estate/botanical garden. Only 28 large villas on acres of open garden space surrounded by rice fields with flocks of wild ducks.
Impeckable relaxed service by the sweetest people you will ever meet.
The General Manager is on the scene and PRESENT to meet and greet and just be amazingly inviting.
No place better for the mountain experience. Thk you Chedi Club.

Room Tip: Nice to have a pool villa but not necessary. Huge gorgeous main pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drrobtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A simple gate greeted us after more than an hour of ride from the airport. We opted for the OVA thus skipped the hassle of queuing at the customs & immigration and Visa which on hind side we could have just gone through with but we wanted to start our holiday on a smooth note.
Our butler, greeted us and led us to the lobby for the check in process.
Well manicured lawns next to Chedi owned Padi fields lined the pathway. We could see the compound dotted with villas along a gentle slope as we strolled up the picturesque scene to the lobby. Everything is well taken care of and maintained.

Our room was the Pool Villa, one of the 20 villas in this hotel. It had a pavilion for in villa dining, a small dip pool, a laze couch, pantry and huge bath tub. The bed was great but the TV is small... but who needs a TV in this place where relaxing by the pool, snoozing on the couch, walking in the padi fields, reading a book from the pavilion library or enjoying the food is the order or the day?

The One and only restaurant is nested between Chedi owned padi fields and was a sight to behold. If one wants to view pre-harvested Padi fields, it would be wise to check with the hotel prior as we arrived to harvested padi fields which is not as stunning. What still lingers in my mouth is the Babi(pig) Guling or roasted Pig which is served only on Sunday nights.A trip to Bali would not be complete without this feast. Breakfast is sumptuous, afternoon tea delightful and cocktails intoxicating, all part of the price paid for the hotel room. Mini fridge had drinks that is refreshed everyday and also complementary .

It rained 4 days out of the 5 were were in Bali so if you want to have rain free vacation, choose your stay appropriately. Service is impeccable and one example was that when our butler discovered that our son had an allergy, that information is passed swiftly to the restaurant who verified with us without being asked by us when we stopped there for dinner. Whatever you need, just ask the butler...

What may not be so well known about Chedi Bali is its Eco friendliness. They use organic ingredients when they can and from what I understand select Eco friendly Partners or suppliers.They recycle when they can and the rice served are all from their own padi fields.

All these and more.... for a price

Room Tip: Pool & 2 room Villas has walls for complete privacy
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donovanSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Chedi Club is a resort that words cannot describe, seeing is believing!! First thing the resort only has 20 beautiful and CLEAN villas. In a short period of time the entire marvelous staff will know you by name. Then the best part.. Your own private butler.. We are fortunate to have Jun help make our stay magical and he has been very successful!!!! He coordinated our elephant tour, cycling trip, beach day at the resorts sister hotel and a wonderful dinner at Bridges. Jun doesn't just reserve dinner. He called the restaurant and made sure the staff had the best table available for us with rosé pedals on the table knowing we are here for our honeymoon. This is just one of many wonderful touches. Also make sure you ask your butler for the rice trekking tour, really cool. Jun made our honeymoon a great success with his wonderful touch, dedication to our concerns and his thoughtfulness. He is a wonderful person and a great representative of the wonderful Balinese people!!! The Chedi Club can't be described, you must experience it in person!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aznapoliello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews