We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma Ubud exceeds all expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uma Ubud exceeds all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived here after a tree night stay in singapore. The journey to Ubud through the Bali roads led me to think where are we going as it was an hours transfer from the airport. However when we arrived at Uma it was amazing! We received a pool suite with an infinity type pool overlooking the foresty area of Ubud, we were blown away. The service from the staff is polite and always on hand. My wife is also a vegetarian however they did not hesitate to offer up a substitute to those meat items on the menu. We also visited the spa which was more pricey than the street places but it is for a good reason - as this is a spa resort they make every effort from start to finish. We hope to return here in the future - thank you Uma for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogo1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Rogo1806

Uma is your first TripAdvisor review. So we're happy to know that your experience with us made enough of an impression to make you join the community and write your generous comments.

Thank you for making a point of our massages. Yes, our team are exceptional at what they do. After hundreds of hours of training from COMO Shambhala's international trainers, we believe the slight price variation from what can be found on the street is well worth it.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.


With best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    146
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
175
742
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The biggest mistake we made when booking our break was not booking enough time at this hotel! We used it as a transition from Java to Bali then to Lombok, staying 3 nights. Had we realised what it was like we would have def added an extra day. It's a very cool boutique hotel, with fab pared down decor. The rooms are beautiful, elegant and spotlessly clean. Ours had a small garden overlooking the valley - an amazing view. The staff are friendly, helpful and smile all the time. We ate in the restaurant one evening which was very good. Breakfast is good too - healthy options available jic your are dieting! I tried the yoga whilst I was there run by the tiniest, bendiest person ever - my arms ached for 2 days after but don't let that put you off, the classes are run to a level to suit all. The setting for the yoga is amazing too you gaze out over the valley. We ate at a couple of local restaurants recommended by the Uma which were good. We enjoyed the morning walk and had we had more time we would have attempted the 3 hour trek in the surrounding countryside. This is a fantastic set up where you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueflossy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Blueflossy13

We too wish you'd stayed longer. But also happy to learn that the time you did spend with us was very enjoyable.

Thank you for highlighting our wonderful cuisine and design in your review, but I'm also delighted that you tried a bit of yoga while you were here. Introducing our guests to yoga in a relaxed and easy setting is something of a mission at Uma - so we're glad you enjoyed a few of our 10 x weekly complimentary classes.

With best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My new hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights before we ventured onto a Disneyland type resort in Nusa Dua, oh i wish the whole stay was here. From arriving and being greeted at the reception, the service here was beyond anything i've experienced before. All of the staff where adorable and I have no-one now to address as Miss Pooja each morning. Both of us have never been more relaxed...we didnt think about our hectic and stressful jobs once as the place just instills calm. We had the terrace room, super sweet, clean and mossie nets - very important for me as i always get bitten. There was also a bath tub of petals for our honeymoon arrival. We were given a lovely honeymoon welcome gift of Balinese wine - my only teeny change would be that perhaps offer honeymooners a glass of fizz at the bar. The Balinese wine isn't the greatest but a lovely thought.This place was pure 5* luxury. The pool is stunning and the bar tranquil. Breakfast each morning was a lovely way to start the day, yummy fruit salads and the choice to order eggs a number of ways. Service, always with a smile and Marc Lacoste, Guest Services Manager was a delight too. Uma went out of their way to ensure they could do anything for you. We wanted to do a cookery class with the chef but the timings clashed with a bike tour we were on.....we returned from the tour to find out the cookery class had been moved just for us - that is going the extra mile. I was so so sad to leave Uma. The Disneyland type resort i mentioned earlier was a vast disappointment compared to this and we even looked at the availability of going back to Uma - we realised we were probably being a bit unfair to our new resort but it didnt compare to Uma . I've become a stalker of como hotels and am looking for where i can stay next year as this has set the bar for us - can you tell we loved it? ;-). Take advantage of the complimentary morning walk with the lovely guide and do the bike tour we did via the hotel. thanks for an amazing and memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear "Ibu Pooja"

It's so wonderful to read your review and lean of some personal recounts of your Uma stay. We were hoping you'd write on TripAdvisor.

Please know that it really was a pleasure to have you and your now-husband stay with us. It's not every day we have guests who immerse themselves so fully into what can be experienced at our COMO Hotels.

To know that Uma offered you a complete escape from your stressful everyday lives is magnificent to read. But thank you also for the recommendation for improvement - a great suggestion!

I hope your journey home was an easy one, but also hope to see you at another COMO property soon.

Congratulations again!

Warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the very "cool" Ubud, a nice art-village, this hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The small "houses" (with an own courtyard, a seperate bathroom and a bedroom) are really impressive. The breakfast and cocktails are fantastic. There is a shuttlebus to the center, but it is also reachable by foot. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjacobs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear tomjacobs20

You stayed in one of our Water Garden Rooms, and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed their unique architecture. Their entrances over koi ponds and separate bathrooms make them a very special room.

Thank you also for mentioning our dining and drink options. Our team put a lot of energy into the Pool Bar's extensive beverage list and I know they enjoy mixing their creations for our guests.

Thank you for reviewing Uma with such praise.


Best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic! We stayed at the Uma Ubud for 3 nights from 7 - 10 July 2013 The service was impeccable, the rooms beautiful and the facilities great. The restaurant caters to all tastes, even including a light version for the health conscious, and is genuinely delicious.

The staff were incredibly considerate and enagaging - a passing comment mentioning how we had arrived on a birthday resulted in a surprise cake and candles at supper. The morning walks, daily yoga, spa and general ambiance contributed to the best holiday we've ever had!

I would 100% recommend the Uma Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear CPHR87

"Best Hotel Ever" and "the best holiday we've ever had". We're extremely humbled by your comments and thank you for branding Uma with such a great stamp of approval.

We hope to welcome you back. But if you decide Bali is a little too far to return, we at least hope to welcome your family and friends who come as a result of your personal recommendation.


With warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic 6 night stay at the Uma and couldn’t have been more impressed with the property, services or the staff – all of which are excellent.

The hotel itself is a short distance from the center of Ubud itself, about 10 minutes by hotel shuttle or a 30 minute walk. If you decide to walk be careful as they sidewalks can be patchy in spots. The hotel shuttle ran five times daily and was a great option to get between the hotel and Ubud itself. The property itself is immaculate with lots of green, making it feel like a part of the landscape. The yoga studio overlooking the river was quite peaceful and a great place to practice even on the day it rained. We stayed in a Water Garden room which was spacious. We enjoyed the layout of having our own mini pond and sitting area between the bedroom and bathroom. Initially I was a bit concerned about the pond being a hiding spot for mosquitoes but those fears proved unfounded as it was a relaxing spot to sit and enjoy the day or evening.

The hotel offers its guests plenty to do with tours, walks and classes all available through the hotel. We enjoyed the walk through the rice fields in the morning and the rafting trip we set up through the hotel. Our highlight was the daily or twice a day yoga classes offered onsite. They were phenomenal, accessible to all skill levels, and lead by terrific instructors who really connected with the classes they were teaching. We ate a couple of meals at the restaurant and/or poolside and enjoyed each of them (plenty of organic and healthy options available). Don’t start your day without going to the complimentary breakfast – there are lots of options including a fresh juice mixture of the day which was a nice way to start the day.

As good as the property and the services are, the staff is really what set the Uma apart for us. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. The staff went out of their way to remember our names and ask us how our trip and specific activities were going. It didn’t come off as pushy or a fake attempt at service but as a coordinated effort on the part of the staff to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We are grateful to everyone at the Uma who made our stay so great. We definitely plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fadochicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear fadochicago

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Uma on TripAdvisor.

You're absolutely right - it is Uma's team which makes the experience here so special, and they really do genuinely care. Many of our team live in the immediate village surrounding Uma. So guests staying with us are welcomed to Uma as if welcomed into a home. This is how village life in Bali is, and I'm very thankful to know that you felt cared for during your stay.

Thank you again for recommending Uma to future visitors of Ubud. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Ubud. There's a lot to in Ubud itself, but the hotel makes you want to stay indoors and enjoy everything that the Uma has to offer. Staff are courteous, very helpful, knowledgeable. The rooms and amenities are very well maintained. Pure and simple luxury. Food is healthy and divine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear S S

Your review of Uma touches on many of our favourite aspects of our hotel, and perhaps the things that set us apart. Barefoot, casual luxury is something that we strive to offer our guests. So we're all happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Uma by COMO, Ubud on Tripadvisor. And being so close, to Bali, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing