We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue and management” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent venue and management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The property itself is well located in Ubud with close proximity to all that is Ubud. The complex comprises beautiful rooms, gardens, outside communal areas and swimming pools. The rooms however do not have an attached sitting area other than outside and if it is raining this is limiting.
Communal areas are however very good and the clientele are pleasant, travelled and sophisticated. Our first night included some adjoining room noise that was both loud and concerning. However when discussed with Marc Lacoste, the guest services manager, he attended to our relocation and made every effort to rectify our unpleasant first evening. His attention to our enjoyment over the rest of our stay is to be highly commended and we are extremely appreciative. Several of our party found the spa and complimentary yoga exceptional. We ultimately departed the resort at the end of our visit and can say the Uma by Como is definitely worth a first or return visit.
Y

Room Tip: Request a non attached or stand alone room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Jo C

It was a sincere pleasure to host you and your family at Uma for a few days. Thank you for choosing to celebrate the festive season with us.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and am also appreciative of your understanding of the noise situation. For the benefit of our Tripadvisor readership, we are in the process of renovating our rooms and are on task to have this resolved within the coming months.

Your review is very much appreciated, and I, together with the entire Uma team, genuinely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Uma very soon.

Wishing you and yours a very happy 2013.

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    146
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
175
741
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Uma is a small property and therefor the service is very attentive. The grounds are lush with tropical plants and the suites are understated luxury. The most important thing to know about Uma is the food is delicious and nutritious. There are options for almost every type of diet and the staff are more than happy to modify items to your request. Uma is the perfect place to go to get in touch with nature and RELAX!

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the river (I believe most do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cownsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Cownsheep

Sincere thanks for highlighting our healthful options available to guests at Uma. Indeed, we're very happy catering to those commencing new health regimes and with specific dietary preferences.

We are indeed a small resort, perfect for unwinding and relaxation, as well as adventure and site-seeing, and so we're glad you were able to enjoy some rest and recovery during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma, by COMO soon.


With best regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just stayed at Uma Ubud for 3 nights mid December. Our room included free breakfast and one can order anything from the breakfast menu which was fantastic with a few items from the Shambala Estate available. Also loved the yoga lessons at the pavillion that overlooks the lush green forest and a stream below. The spa treatments were also fantastic and reasonably priced. There is such a startling difference between the grounds of this resort to the street outside. Once you step inside, you're transformed to a different world. Will definitely come back for my next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Colette Y

Your review focusing on our COMO Shambhala wellness options at Uma is very much appreciated. Many guests do not realise that Uma is equally a place for relaxation and rejuvenation as it is for adventure and discovery. So thank you for sharing this with the Tripadvisor readership.

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you back to Uma by COMO soon.

Best

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Not much to add to other reviews -- we had a wonderful 5-night stay at this hotel. Garden room was comfortable and spotless; pool was large and beautiful; grounds wonderfully kept; delicious breakfast and room service; good tours; massage at the spa was the best we had in Indonesia (and we had several at comparable hotels). Location is also great -- not entirely isolated, with Neka Museum right next door and Naughty Nuri's a very short walk away, 30 minute walk to Ubud, mostly downhill, if you are so inclined.

What really sets this hotel apart is the service: the staff are up to par in niceness and sweetness to many other hotels I have stayed at in Indonesia -- however, they are also exceptionally trained and provide discreet, intelligent service that anticipates your needs and provides insightful advice and feedback. They really made the stay special.

Room Tip: Garden room is walled in and doesn't really have a view; after 5 nights, it became a bit claustr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear yaneh

Your compliments to our team are very much appreciated.

You are right in that it's our wonderful team that make Uma a special place to visit. Many of our staff live in the local village, so welcoming you to Uma is like welcoming you into their homes. It's a special something, and I'm happy to read that it didn't go un-noticed.


Wishing you memorable future travels

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

After a long hard working I rewarded myself to escape to Bali. It was no plan or any booking in advance but I rather prefer to stay at Uma Ubud for its well-known of COMO estate. I wish to stay at this hotel many years ago but have not a chance to make it. So this is a right time I decide to spend almost US$335 for only one night to experience the thing that I dream to. It was paid and meets my satisfaction. I did a yoga in the afternoon then sip the tea in the evening at my balcony . Every moment I was calm, relax, clean and spend a night on bed without Air-conditioned to soak up the jungle atmosphere. At sunrise I joined the morning walk around Ubud area. The total experience that I recall was peaceful and like a meditation for my mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangeleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Kangeleno

Thanks for writing such a humbling review of your stay with us at Uma. We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again, perhaps longer.


With very best regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spontaneously with two weeks notice I booked a week at Uma as a 30th birthday present for my daughter. Despite the additional cost involved in changing our flights we extended for a further 24 hours - both of us wished it could have been longer. We were not the only ones, a solo guest told us she had doubled her stay by extending for 4 days; while another couple told us they come back each year. So what is it that made us all feel like this? It's Uma heaven. Uma has everything - but most of all it's the staff who, every last one of them, are warm, caring, and gentle and offer just the right amount of attentive service which appears seemlessly and in a timely manner anywhere within the hotel grounds. They are also willing to share their stories allowing you to gain a sense of place. Our 'room' and bathroom were a generous size yet intimate in feel, the garden is nurturing and nurtured. The pool refreshes and the spa is a luxury hard to resist. Like most other travellers I carry a camera, but photography is also my profession, and although intended as a holiday the day trips we made found me pressing my shutter release in a way I only do for work - often and in a very happy way as subjects spontaneously appear to tell a story of different lands. It's impossible not to be inspired by the cultural side of Bali, particularly that in close proximity to Uma. I made the first of my seven trips to Bali forty years ago and thought I had found paradise in the warmth of its people, the hurricane lamp light dirt streets and seemingly endless rice fields. Much has changed but at Uma the spirit of the people and their pride of place has not been lost. Uma offers an invitation to reflect, relax and revive. (Widely travelled this is the first time I have been moved by a hotel enough to want to write a review.)

Room Tip: Room 26 has it's own small pool and is on the very edge of the view to the river and tranquil tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear anaustralian

What can we say when 'thank you' doesn't quite seem enough but anything more seems to lack sincerity?

At Uma, we strive to be discrete and uncomplicated, stylish and effortless. We know that Uma is not for everyone. But for those wanting a genuine, culturally-rich experience of Ubud and Bali, we hope that we offer that in abundance. Your review makes us feel as if we've achieved that.

So thank you for spending time with us and for enriching us with your appreciation - we can't wait for you to return.


Merry Christmas to you and Em

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The Uma Ubud is a magical place. As honeymooners we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a koi carp pond entrance which which gave our room a real sense of the exotic. The bathroom had a big tub in the centre of the room and a section which is open air. The bedroom was lovely too and the exotic fruit was exquisite. The interior of the hotel was beautifully executed throughout. The staff were friendly, the food was good, I can see that they have adapted well to constructive criticism in the past as breakfast is two courses and ample. It's always reassuring to see a hotel value and respond so well to its customers.
There were only two minor problems for us - the pool was too cold & the abundance of Mosquitos.... But we would highly recommend the hotel and stay there again in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelajaneabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear pamelajaneabroad

Your review is very much like how we like to approach Uma - uncomplicated and elegant. Thank you for enjoying your stay with us.

Our guests, and your satisfaction are paramount to us. So I also thank you for recommending Uma by COMO, Ubud to travellers considering this amazing corner of the world.

Indeed, the shade experienced at our main pool has received recent comment. So I'm delighted to advise you and our future guests that the trees have been pruned to make way for additional sunlight to heat the water and provide ample sunbathing. We have also ramped-up our mosquito-management schedule to ensure our guests enjoy a comfortable stay.

Congratulations again. The entire team and I wish you many happy holidays together

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing