We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great- super staff, perfect setting”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great- super staff, perfect setting”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Pin location on trip advisor is incorrect-
The uma is one of our favorite places on bali! Value is superb, staff are very friendly and the location close to the river are perfect for a rainforest relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hblanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    155
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
187
786
84
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed for one night at Uma Ubud to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

Check-in was easy and fast.

Complimentary cake and wine accompanied with hand written greeting by the GM were delivered to our room shortly after we checked in.

The spa was absolutely fantastic, the best treatment I had for a while.

Although the hotel was fully booked according to the staff, it didn't feel crowded at all. It was very peaceful and relaxing.

Definitely would come back! Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Our Garden Room was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antimonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Everything is right in Uma, from the moment you arrive until the day you leave. Fantastic and friendly Staff (terimah kasih banyak!), magical surroundings, great food, a beautiful pool and lounge pool bar, Uma has got it all for us!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller196420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in July 2011 and it was amazing from start to finish. We had a gorgeous garden room with wine and fruit and rose petal filled bath on arrival. Room was huge and clean and gorgeous. Staff were nothing but amazing, food was extremely delicious and healthy. There were other honeymooners but lots of families too so not just loads of couple which was nice. Major highlight was the Como shambala signature massage which was amaaaazing and worth every penny you pay for it.

We did have one slight issue with the hotel regarding some art we bought in Ubud which the hotel agreed to ship back to the UK for us. The final price ended up being over 4 times the initial price quoted by the hotel (and also 4 times the price if the original art itself!) we emailed a complaint and I am very please to report it was handled extremely quickly and efficiently - a full investigation was launched (!) and we were refunded a significant amount of money which both amazed and surprised us THANK YOU UMA UBUD.

We found this beautiful hotel through using a bespoke travel agent, Passepartout travel, who helped create an affordable personalised 2 weeks mixing in rest, relaxation, cultural experiences whilst creating the wow factor we were looking for, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Use Passepartout travel to arrange your trip to Bali as they have strong relationships wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just returned from a two-week stay at Uma Ubud, where I co-led a yoga retreat with a fellow teacher from Singapore. We had 45 retreat guests, and everyone loved the resort!

Service: The hallmark of a great resort, especially at the pricier levels. Guest Service Manager Marc offered helpful tips and ensured that everything went smoothly with our group. The entire staff was unerringly friendly and helpful, and many staff members remembered and referred to us by our names, even when we were simply walking around the resort. The room was discreetly refreshed twice-daily, and housekeeping was prompt when called. Drivers were always on hand for trips into Ubud town.

Accommodations: I stayed in a Garden Room, which was essentially a mini-villa, entered via a koi pond. Room was extra spacious, the King-size bed firm and super-comfortable, the indoor/outdoor bathroom a designer's tableau of black stone and bleached wood. Excellent Como Shambhala toiletries products! Everything was subtly beautiful and functional, though a brighter desk lamp would have been helpful for work matters. I also visited a Terrace Room, which is technically the lowest room category. Its terrace had an open view, which I ultimately preferred to the more enclosed feeling of the Garden Room. Still, no complaints for style or comfort in either room. If you need to be insulated in an A/C-blasting room and have absolutely no contact with bugs or geckos, this is not the place for you. The resort does its best to ward off mosquitoes and other creepy-crawlies -- even offering bug repellent in the rooms -- but it stays true to the Balinese way of indoor/outdoor living, celebrating rather than denying the gorgeous nature all around it.

Food: Kemiri, the main restaurant, is dramatically situated next to a large koi pond. Staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful, even if a few breakfast orders occasionally got lost in the shuffle (largely due to the size of our retreat group). Special requests were graciously and generously honored, unlike some expensive resorts which try to nickel-and-dime guests for every extra item. I loved the coconut pancakes, and the laksa for more savory flavor. Food was a nice selection of Western and Indonesian, and there was something tasty for every diet. More casual dining was offered at the poolside bar/lounge, which was a wonderful place to gather for drinks, snacks, and full meals. Waitstaff would bring portable eating trays, making dining both convenient and comfortable. While there were certainly cheaper places to eat near the resort and further in town, the Uma prices were still reasonable enough to eat in-house a few nights.

Leisure: Part of the Como Shambhala spa/resort group, Uma is perfect for wellness programs/retreats, or for anyone who enjoys a chic detox refuge. The two yoga studios had gorgeous views, and were fully outfitted for hardcore yogis -- all the props available. One of the studios overlooked the resort's gorgeous infinity pool, which was more than long enough to satisfy the swimmers in our group. I didn't try any of the spa treatments, though the treatment rooms looked peaceful and clean. I also didn't try the steam room, for which you must apparently alert the staff about 15 mins prior to turn on the steam. (Not sure why anyone needs a steam in a steamy climate!). A small gym offers cardio equipment and some light free weights, i.e., not a place for serious bodybuilders.

Overall Style: Chic, minimal yet warm, casually luxurious, a good blend of indoor/outdoor, taking full advantage of Ubud's lush greenery. Exceptional attention to details; every corner of the resort offers a fresh visual surprise. White/gray/tawny palette is calming, especially in contrast with the beautiful and colorful gardens.

Clientele: Younger to middle-aged couples, mostly straight but some gay, European/Western/Singaporean/HK. Best for couples and singles, though some guests brought young children. Generally fit clientele, which is helpful to climb the fair number of stairs throughout the multi-level property.

Summary: While there are many beautiful upscale resorts in the Ubud area -- including Uma's sister property the Como Shambhala Estate in Ubud -- this resort stands out for its hip-chic vibe and exceptional yoga/wellness facilities, which make is such a FANTASTIC VALUE. It's an extremely well-run resort, and they get the important things right. Would be thrilled to return as a solo guest or for another yoga retreat.

Room Tip: All the rooms differ slightly, even within the same category. If the resort is not full, definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I spent a week at Uma, doing a yoga retreat.

The terrace rooms at Uma are understated but beautiful. Rooms are furnished with whitewashed light wood furniture and four poster beds and the view is quietly breathtaking, especially the view of the valley. If you are doing yoga here, this is the best place I have experienced so far, especially in terms of facilities. The yoga pavillion next to the spa which overlook the valley is gorgeous.

One thing though is that given the proximity to nature, you have to get used to insects and I did get bitten many times throughout the nights there.

The ala-carte breakfast has a good variety of western and indonesian choices and food is very well-done except that service was not always consistent.

While the Uma is not walking distance to town, town is not far and the hotel offers a shuttle a couple of times a day. You have art galleries and spas (Bliss and Botanical Day Spa - recommended) and variety of eating places (Mosaic, Nuris and Pulau Kelagua) within walking distance. The distance from town is a good thing as the feature of the hotel is provding guests with rest and a quiet elegant stay.

Room Tip: Pick the terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I finished off our Bali holiday with 2 nights at Uma, however next time I will make this hotel the highlight. Sure this is not the most luxurious hotel in Ubud however in term of elegance and tranquility Uma certainly gives the big guns a run for their money. I loved the laid back style and the staff were genuinely attentive and always warm and friendly. I had some terrible spa treatments in Seminyak but the Como Shambala retreat therapists at Uma are so wonderful that I enjoyed 3 90minute treatments during the 2day stay. Everything was heavenly and I even purchased product to bring back home. Another reason I chose Uma was for the complimentary yoga and morning walks. The yoga pavilion is beautiful and it was very enjoyable to practice listening to the sounds of the local animals and trying to remain focused during "tree pose" whilst squirrels were playing in the forest. I also took one morning walk
which was so beautiful and the guide was very informative as we wandered through the local rice paddies. Another highlight at Uma is the wonderful food, my 2 day stay was not long enough to sample everything I wanted to try even though we ate every meal at the hotel. The breakfasts were so enjoyable after yoga or walking, please try the bircher muesli and eggs benedict.
Thank you Uma for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYDmelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,852 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
2.2 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing