We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, lovely staff, amazing service, great rooms”
Review of Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Sonia
Ranked #19 of 616 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Sonia with our almost 2 year old son for 5 nights. From the first email inquiry answer to the moment we checked out we experienced 5 star service from the absolutely lovely staff there.
When we arrived we were shown to the room we had requested and the baby cot was set up ready in our room as requested. Our every request and expectation was met and I can't say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff there were with us and particularly with our son. They even accommodated a very late check out due to a late night flight.
The gardens are stunning, the pool is lovely, our room (no. 9) was very spacious and clean with a beautiful large bathroom (indoor sunken bath and outdoor shower). Every window in our room and bathroom had views of stunning tropical gardens (the bathroom windows to private walled garden) and we had a large terrace.
The room doesn't have a kettle or a safe, neither of which bothered us as they provide coffee and tea with breakfast and they have a safe in the office which you can use if you need to.
The location is great (particularly for children) as its in a quiet village area on a small lane with very little traffic and only 3 or so minutes walk to Monkey Forest and about 10 min walk to Jl. Monkey Forest in the centre of Ubud (either through or beside Monkey Forest). There are a few good restaurant choices along the lane as well as a couple of little shops with some of the friendliest people you will come across selling water and other essentials as well as clothes, trinkets, carvings etc.
I'm so glad I chose Villa Sonia for our stay in Ubud and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved room 9. It is a stand alone room (deluxe suite), near (but not too close) to reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndavies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at Villa Sonia a few weeks ago and have been meaning to write a glowing review ever since. I came for a weekend getaway during a work trip, needing somewhere to relax for the weekend. I couldn't have chosen a more lovely, perfect location! The rooms were immaculate, spacious, and comfortable with a huge deck where I was served breakfast at my designated hour every morning. The ambiance is very mellow and quiet and I woke up to birds chirping and sun streaming in every morning. Location is great - just near the monkey forest offering an easy walk into town but a perfect distance so you don't hear the hussle and bussle of downtown. And the staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I would not hesitate to stay at this oasis over (and over) again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 7 nights here. The setting is great. It is an easy 15 minute walk into Ubud and so is just far enough out of town to be quite but is easily accessible to all that Ubud has to offer. If you didn't want to walk the hotel would gladly arrange for a free shuttle into town.
The staff were absolutely amazing and went out of their way to attend to all our needs including a very late check-out due to a late night flight.
We have stayed in Ubud 5 times before and Villa Sonia was the best by far. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Coming to Ubud, Bali and choosing this accommodation was the best decision we could take. The Villa Sonia is located in a very clean and beautiful neighbourhood just 3 mins walk from the Sacred Monkey Forest. We got a small house (room No. 9) with a great terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast or dinner if you want to eat in privacy (otherwise in a small terrace above a swimming pool). The staff is very friendly and the service is perfect. I cannot recall a thing that would not be possible. You would expect this from a 5 star hotel but just because the staff does not have to take care of too many visitors you get really a very special care. On the last day of our stay here we asked the front desk for a direction to a coffee farm to buy some Luwak coffee and as this was difficult to explain its location the hotel manager Mr. I Nyoman Buana (in the middle on the photo) offered to drive us to that place. He finally spent a couple of hours with us and thanks to him we could buy handmade silver jewellery from a top Balinese brand.
What I want to emphasize is that what you see on the webpage that is what you really get. The room is very clean and I think they changed bed linen every day and you always have your new towels folded into a shape of an animal. The bathroom is cool and it is something else to what a man is used to have at the average hotel networks. You can decide between huge bath inside of the house or a private stone shower outside.
Not to make the story long: I wouldn't hesitate to come again if going for vacation to Bali. So enjoy if you book Villa Sonia.

Room Tip: We stayed at room No. 9 which is actually a small house with a large terrace just for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Quite romantic. Large rooms with sunken bath, netted bed, private balcony and outdoor shower. We ate the included breakfasts on our balcony and had a nice dinner there one night too. You can walk to Central Ubud through the Monkey Forest or the staff will drive you in. Quiet location (which central Ubud would not be). The AC was not that strong but that is OK in the Ubud climate. Its does not have a lot of rooms so a strong sense of privacy.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FB165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Cost of accommodation at this hotel was not matched by standards of comfort or service.
Rooms were large and clean, but somewhat sparsely furnished with no comfortable seating.
The swimming pool is a good size and pleasantly landscaped as you would expect in Bali, but with only four sun loungers, which have seen better days and apparently also double as massage beds.
The staff are very pleasant but took a long time to deliver room service. Breakfast varied in quality and on one occasion we had to ask for cutlery and other items that had been forgotten. When we had a problem with hot water staff did not communicate what was being done to fix it so that we had to keep chasing them up.
Not very large problems admittedly but not expected given the price paid.



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's a wonderful hotel with a lovely pool and nice spacious rooms. The room has a big bath and an outdoor shower. The bed is large and comfy. Breakfast is simple but tasty From the hotel it's a 10 minute walk to central Ubud right through monkey forest. The hotel offers a free pick up service.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to stay if you want to go to Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 198 in Ubud
586 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 616 in Ubud
179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pajar House Ubud
Pajar House Ubud
#23 of 616 in Ubud
436 reviews
1 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#16 of 616 in Ubud
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonia

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 616 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sonia Hotel Bali
Sonia Hotel Ubud
Villa Sonia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing