We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our time in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #64 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the Mansion in Ubud for two nights. The resort is much larger than we expected with multiple pools, spa, and lots of tropical area. Our room was great - although not the room we booked. They said it was an upgrade, which it probably was but we don't actually know. We also didn't spend much time at The Mansion due to the excursions we signed up for so can't comment on the breakfast. The location is fine if you plan to spend time at the resort, but you do need to take a shuttle (free from The Mansion) if you want to go into town. The service was amazing as we found it was across all of Bali. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: We had the Ambassador suite - it was in front by the lobby so there was some outside noise, particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BuddingWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Last year we stayed at the Beiji just outside of Ubud. This time we decided, again, through Trip Advisor research, to stay at the Mansion. You become philosophical about reviews and realise that when planning a holiday (as in life sometimes), it's best to sometimes have low expectations. Everything about the Mansion exceeded our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised from the service and food to the accommodation and gardens. We tend to travel in the off-peak season which can be a bit 'hit and miss' weather-wise but, we've been lucky on our past two visits. From the moment you enter this grand old dame (built in 1999 but resembling a Gatsby-esque style edifice) there's a feeling of immediate tranquility - it's quiet as staff shuffle around about their daily business armed with smiles and a helping hand, when needed. The four of us (two daughters) had the Frangipani Family room - a fantastic, clean, modern two bedroom apartment with a very large living room area adjacent and an equally large pool directly in front. The building houses three apartments and lucky for us, no-one else was staying and we pretty well had the pool to ourselves. In fact, there are four large pools dotted around the expansive gardens, most of them empty. Breakfast was the usual western or Indonesian fare and, filling. As for Balinese coffee - I was getting used to it. A regular shuttle takes you into Ubud, only 15 minutes away. A great place and inexpensive. Just make sure you wheel and deal.

Room Tip: Take the Frangipani room directly in front of the main building and facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonKrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Recommended to us by great friends - and they were right! As Americans, the mansion (& all of Bali) was an excellent vacation and extremely reasonably priced. The wifi was unusable in our room, but good all other places on the grounds. The staff was polite, prompt, and lots of fun to get to know. We would definitely come back and stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BogeyNipponIchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Mansion in August 2013 for four nights. We really loved this place: it's really an impressive and natural place. Inside the hotel there are plenty of flowers, gardens and fountains. It looks being in hidden and magic world! We stayed in two different rooms (the first one was in a noisy corner and we asked for a change) and we found that they are nice although not so wonderful as the outside facilities. We also tried the spa and although it was quite expensive compared to the local spas (50 dollars for a full massage) it was the best massage we had in Bali!
The staff is really an added value, they are really nice and they did their best in order to meet all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the best hotels in Ubud. They have upgraded us to bigger room. The hotel is great to chill and relax. The rooms are really nice. They offer free shuttle to the main area (city, shops, restaurants etc). Great place to take pictures. The service is very good.

Overall, great place to stay, and recommended for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We came across the Mansion only after purchasing a special internet offer. Despite a few glaring lapses in facilities, we were totally captivated by the grounds and the overall experience, left feeling like we'd stepped into a dream playing out in a bizarre old-world antique shop with endless nooks and crannies. If you are after a modern and glamorous experience this is not for you; while we probably wouldn't choose it again, the unexpected charm and romance of the setting was perfect for our first holiday as a couple and left us with lifelong memories. Staff were warm and delightful...much warmer than the showers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 687hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

By far one of the most unique hotel experiences available in Bali we return every year to the mansion and it always delivers . It's like something out of a movie or fairy tale book . Beautiful grounds and stunning service the pools are amazing and there's like 5 to choose from . The only thing that needs some work is the breakfast buffet as it doesn't match the Hugh standard of everything else . We will still be back this year though :) we heart the mansion .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaMGtheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $78 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing