We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Grounds and Property - Shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #65 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Grounds and Property - Shame about the room”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is notionally a 5 star property however this is overstated - 4 star is nearer the mark. The main hotel building, pools and gardens were first class however my bungalow was far from five star. A creaky, lumpy bed and non existent Wifi in the room. Very basic storage meant living out of a suitcase for the length of our stay.

On the plus side the staff were delightful and attentive, the room very clean, and the grounds were just beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and plentiful with eggs made to order by the chef. There at least four pool areas choose from with day beds to lay on.

The location in Sayan was away from main Ubud action but the hotel provides a courtesy bus otherwise it is a 50,000 rupiah taxi journey.

As you can tell this is a mixed review as some aspects of the stay were excellent and some to so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    405
    114
    63
    37
See reviews for
261
571
63
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before we came to the hotel, we sent them an email and expressed our needs. The hotel replied quickly and my need was satisfied. We got free upgrade and were led to a very large room with garden view. I realized that the hotel valued guest's need. The first impression is very good.

The environment of the hotel is beautiful with four swimming pools. They also featured in its own collections of art work. The staff were extremely friendly and polite.

Let me list some points can be improved in the future:
1. There are at least two massage pools by the swimming pool, but did not function.
2. Breakfast had limited choice.
3. Hot water supply is not satisfactory, and I could not use bathtub for the three days stay. The hotel changed another room for me, but the issue persisted.

Overall, I found the Mansion Resort a very good hotel for its good environment, quietness and quality service. I will probably choose this hotel again if I had chance to visit Ubud again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We checked into this hotel after our flight to Denpasar, a $30us cab ride away. It's approx 10 minutes from the city center and the hotel offers a free shuttle to town or you can arrange a taxi for 50,000rp or $5 us. There are 4 very different pools/ atmospheres for lounging, the infinity pool where breakfast is served is a beautiful thing to wake up to overlooking banana trees with swallows flying singing in the morning. The middle pool has a cafe and waiters , out favorite being Gusti who remembered us and always came to make sure we were being taken care of. We brought some cards and layed in the beds with roofs to stay out of the sun and it was so relaxing. Also the hotel has a chess board and we would sip cappuccinos and play for an hour or two. I wouldn't suggest the spa simply because it was expensive and you could get a massage for $8 us in town versus 95$ us there. We ate a LOT of amazing room service, as the food they provide is amazing. The dinner at the hotel is also quite nice I tried the escargot, oyster, and caviar appetizer and was surprised at how yummy it all was.

The hotel is always looking to assist you with planing tours of the city etc, we got a driver for a few days and also scheduled an elephant tour w white water rafting and it was all super fun. We extended our stay here from 2 days to 7. My suggestion is to stay indoors from 6-7 pm because that's when the Mosquitos are out in full force. Keep the door shut to the bathroom which is outdoors to keep the bugs out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you are wanting the most modern and clean 5 star hotel, don't stay here... If you are wanting an exceptionally beautiful and authentic Balinese style hotel you must must stay here.. It has everything you need in the way of wifi, tv, safe etc in the rooms, but it also has the feel of old style bali.. The grounds are exceptional and a little treasure trove of secret corridors , lovely day beds spread throughout the grounds, little ladders up trees to treehouses for meditation. You wander around and at every turn there is a sculpture, old black and white photos, lilyponds... I have been coming here for 20yrs and this is my 12th visit and I must say this is probably the best hotel I have stayed at... And the staff are exceptional. They obviously enjoy the work and I was lucky enough to be there on a temple day and the staff bring all their family to temple on the property. All in all I would recommend this hotel to most of my friends..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband & I went there for our honeymoon. When booking the room, I told them that its gonna be our honeymoon and surprisingly when we got to the hotel they already set-up the bathtub covered up with flowers petals making a heart shape in the middle, just sooooo cute & romantic (small effort that you'll never forget). The room itself was huge with a really high ceiling (we believe this is an old building from the colonial era) and the bathroom has sooooo much room, just wonderful. The staffs were really friendly. Its located about 10-15 mnts to the central of Ubud so quiet a really nice area. They provide the guess with complimentary ride (drop and pick-up) to/from the central. An our BEST spot was upstair... they have so many collection from a very famous Indonesian artist which I forgot the name (sorry) but the collection are wonderful. we really adore them, would love to take one with us back home but of course they are not for sale... :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my 3rd time back and i will keep returning every year . There is no beating the charm of the Mansion it is just magical from beggining to end . The grounds are breath taking and you could walk around for hours just admiring them . The service is second to none and there are no weak links from grounds keepers to reception staff . By far one of my favourite places to stay in Bali . The one piece of contructive critisicm i would give is the breakfast lets the place down . I think maybe an a lacarte menu may be the way to go as the buffet they have doesnt really work unfortunately but that being said everything else is AMAZING !!! Love love love the MANSION

Room Tip: There all good :D one with a pool view is nice or close to the spa's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaMGtheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013


The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island’s cultural centre.
I stayed in the Cheddar Room Villa and was very impressed by the size and appearance of the room. The bathroom was magnificent in true Balinese style with a huge bath tub at the end. I loved the bamboo shower feature. A shower dropping 3 metres from holes in bamboo pipes.
The grounds are kept immaculately, with many water features and statues scattered throughout the tropical gardens. Paintings and artifacts adorn the main entry and balcony area.
Ready to swim and relax? There are seven pool areas, many discreet - so you can have a pool to yourself. Lots of huge day beds as well as the traditional sun lounges.
A very memorable 5 star hotel experience.
Food was excellent in the hotel restaurant Indochine. Staff were courteous and friendly but not as outgoing as in other hotels. The only real negative is the lack of good Wi Fi connection. If you want to use your own personal device, you must sit in the main reception area or go to the computer area upstairs in the main building.
I look forward to visiting again one day soon so I can explore the Ubud region more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing