We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 172 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful. Very peaceful and relaxing. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Soon after our arrival there was a very heavy downpour of rain and our bathroom roof started leaking. Within 10min there was someone there to look at the roof and within 30 min we were in a new room, equally as lovely. It's a little way from town but there is a regular shuttle (every 2 hours) from the hotel into central Ubud and a return shuttle also which was very comfortable and reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 937Jessica_R937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    352
    97
    59
    27
See reviews for
230
486
57
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wow, we are so relaxed into the third day of our holiday.
Good food, lovely friendly service. A charming resort with fascinating art.
We chose a deluxe room, 'Waterlily'. This is on a first floor, so up a few stairs, which is a quiet spot. Bed large, comfortable, firm four-poster. Large bathroom, powerful shower. Very clean, shabby chic, definitely more chic than shabby.

The rooms are clean and well equipped although the TV quality isn't the best, but not a problem unless you really want to spend your days in the room!!

Lovely pool areas.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_williamswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Do not pass go! Give yourself the opportunity to live, breathe, absorb and feel this gem of a place! The Mansion in Ubud is a beautifully presented and cared for property. It is a feast for every possible sense, and more. You will feel like you have either stepped back in time or on an epic movie set, with the vintage cars, eclectic objects d'art, beautifully proportioned and well laid out gardens, sparking pools, eye-catching murals along garden passageways, little corners of peace under canopies with silk tie-backs flowing in the breeze, ... I could go on and on. The rooms are cool, peaceful and clean with comfortable beds and Cleopatraesque bathrooms. The spa is sublime, and although a little pricey by Indonesian standards you are made to feel truly pampered. I did yoga every morning with Ardhi; what a caring, cheerful darling. The thing that struck me the most is that not only was everybody - from the manager to the gardeners - friendly and always smiling ... I was constantly addressed by name! How they manage to do that is simply amazing. The hotel is a 5 min drive to the centre of Ubud and the hotel run a regular shuttle service. However, it is easy to get a cab for IDR50,000 one way if the shuttle times don't suit you. To the management and staff of The Mansion: please stay as wonderful as you are. The rest of the hospitality industry could learn a lot from you. Well done!

Room Tip: I preferred the garden villas rather than the rooms in the original mansion. They are all good thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jansykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10 pm due to flight delay. Our earlier plan was to dine in Ubud town needed to be scrapped as most restaurants close at 11 pm. The only option is the restaurant but it closes at 11 pm, we asked for extension and the manager allowed us to dine as late as we wish. That really lifted our spirit. Bags were delivered to our respective rooms. After dining, we went to our room and it was a beautiful breathtaking walk to our room. As we entered the room, another breathtaking view, aircon was switched on prior to our arrival so it was cool. We had a nice stay, friendly and accommodating staffs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Mansion was like stepping back in time to gracious living. Obviously not a chain hotel, or a franchise, The Mansion is a converted estate with Bentleys in the private garage. The pools, the grounds, the villas and rooms are all Balinese in style and feel. The staff are beautiful smiling hard working Balinese men and women who genuinely want to help you. It is close to Ubud, but tucked away and reasonably quiet for that area. I felt I was coming home each time their driver brought me back. So elegant, charming and refreshing. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the Balinese open air shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiaShandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This must be the most unique hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is reasonably small - only 90 rooms, but it is just amazing. The foyer was like a museum so many interesting things to looks at.
Accommodation was superb, the room had a big sunken bath, power shower and a curtained bed. My only gripe was the lack of draw space. There is three outdoor pools, two restaurants and another area where you can have afternoon tea! British or Balinese style. I can't praise the staff enough, nothing was too much trouble and they were available 247. The areas for lounging around the pool were comfortable and very fitting to the hotels ambience, I didn't want to leave. W

Room Tip: The animal noises at night take a little bit of getting used to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAJP000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

the hotel is located in the cultural capital of Bali. it is an ideal location if you want to explore the heart of the island. The hotel is secluded from the hustle bustle of ubud market. Three magnificent and well maintained pools are great assets to this wonderful property. the pools are open till late hours, but do inform the reception about your late evening plans in advance.

we stayed at the Lotus which was close to the spa area. if you plan to book this property you should take a walk around to see exotic plants and architecture. Restaurant was good with adequate indoor and poolside outdoor areas. Room service was prompt.

you can request Hotel management to arrange for tours in and around ubud.

recommended to people who want to take a break from fast life and enjoy peace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drvishii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#51 of 172 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 172 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#57 of 172 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#42 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#49 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing