We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, luxurious and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very quiet, luxurious and great service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked our trip as a package, which always leaves me a little concerned about getting the 'leftover' rooms. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room was massive, and complete luxury. Usually when staying in Bali we have a private villa, so the only thing we really missed was our own private outdoor area. However, the gardens have lovely private areas you can set yourself up in. Unfortunately, the pool side service for drinks & food are non existent, & the hotel is too far out of Ubud to walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa. The rooms are nice, but if you are looking for privacy, the villas are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DockoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    398
    112
    61
    35
See reviews for
256
559
63
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the resort. Booked two deluxe rooms: Valleywood and Hillswood (very large room and bathroom).
Check-in: went smoothly and efficiently.
Staff: polite and try hard to please. Command of English was sometimes below average.
Design: The grand entrance with all its Balinese umbrellas leads you into a lobby which houses alot of artifacts and paintings. They are all very beautiful but the overal effect is overwhleming. It is too much of everything.
Food: Lunch, a reasonable choice. Seafood chowder excellent but they don't serve it with any bread which would be the appropriate thing to do.
Evening menu: Reasonable choice. Portions small.
Breakfast: buffet. Choices are simple. Bread: poor quality.
Rooms: big problem with mosquitos. No mosquiton nets and even after spraying the room I still had a problem with mosquitos. No tea or coffee facilities present upon arrival. After 1 phone call they were promptly brought. Design of rooms simple, mismatched furniture.
Bed: comfortable.
Bathroom: simple design, bad lighting. Shower is in the bath and the bath is quite high.
No sitting on the narrow balconies.
Surroundings/gardens: needs some more attention and maintenance.
In general this is an ok hotel. In my opinion 3 / 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is just plain wonderful. It really steps out of the box and is different. I was starting to feel all the resorts were getting a bit the same and then I stayed here. The rolling gardens are stunning. The multitude of pools to choose from are lovely and the rooms are spacious. I stayed with my 10 month old daughter and the staff could not do enough to help me. One young girl working in the restaurant, called Nic saw that I was struggling to eat my breakfast while holding my baby, so she took her and looked after her while I had a few moments to myself. Another beautiful lady who made the omelettes helped me as well. The food in the restaurant was wonderful as well. Every staff member here did their best to help me with my daughter and helped me get around from the restaurant staff, to the grounds staff, to the drivers. The decor is sumptuous and the feel of the place is just relaxing. Anyone finding fault with The Mansion is hard to please I think. I loved staying here and will make sure I return with my husband. The staff are impeccable, the grounds are stunning and architecture and decor are glorious. Thank you for having us Mansion we are coming back : )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kessienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This location used to be a mansion and was converted to a hotel. The most serene place I've ever visited in my life. Excellent food, great art everywhere in the hotel, very helpful staff, beautiful spa and pool area, convenient location. The only down side is that the mattresses in the rooms were too hard. The rooms are fantastic though!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is not 5stars. My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights and wanted to leave after the first 2hours of being there . If they didnt already have are money we would have. the pool areas were so dirty, that is the 1 that actually was operational . everything was run down and moldy . fixtures were green that should have been white. the buffet breakfast was terrible the food every morning was cold and over looked one of the pools that didnt work. it seemed like there was always construction going on but nothing was getting fixed. dont be disappointed dont stay here .lucky for us we were in bali for a month and this 6 nights didnt competely ruin are holiday .

Room Tip: stay at the fourseasons 5 mins from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmillich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoy our stay at The Mansion. from the arrival prior to our departure, the service was indeed exceptional. We have stayed in several hotels and villas around Bali, and we consider this one top on our destination list, if you are looking for a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city, this is the place to go!, The staff is very accommodating and helpful, and often surprised us by anticipating the needs without having to ask, although this is not our expectation, it was definitely a welcome surprise.

The restaurant offers excellent food, the swimming pools are huge and clean, and temperature of the water was pleasant. The massage was good, and the body-scrub was better than most I have received in Bali. If Ubud is to your destination, and you are ensure where to stay,
I recommend this hotel for your convenient stay !

liked - Excellent customer service, very attentive staff, garden setting around pool is very soothing and relaxing. convenient shuttle service into Ubud.

Stayed late of October 2012, traveled with friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After diving for a week at Candidasa, 6 of us divers went o Ubud and stayed here. We reserved three rooms, and to our surprise, my friend and I were given a suite with two bedrooms with a living room, and right outside our suite is a swimming pool. The room came with breakfast - we enjoyed the fresh riped papayas, mangoes, pineapple, and the omellete station as well as pan cakes cooked fresh. The restaurant had an infinity pool; 99% of the staff were very friendly (haha, one had an attitude - which was I think an anomaly for Balinese people who's usually very friendly and hospitable.) Perhaps she was tired of cooking omelette. Other than that, I enjoyed our stay here. We had a couple of massages and facials. There are 4 swimming pools in the resort, but we used our pool primarily. We stayed in the suite called Karna with a spacious bathroom and two bedrooms. Surprisingly right beside this villa is a temple. All around the resort are lounging beds great for meditation and reading and relaxation. Here's a video of the pool: https://vimeo.com/52272547

Room Tip: If sharing a room, pick Karna. If you have a child, the second bedroom would be great for the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
738 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#57 of 196 in Ubud
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#36 of 196 in Ubud
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing