We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Spacious and secluded villas with thier own private pool. Unless you go to the hotel restaurant for breakfast you wouldn't know there are other guests there. You can have breakfast and afternoon served in your room which has its own outdoor living room. If you wanted to you never have to leave your room. Make sure you go and hangout at the hotel pool, its has a great outlook. The hotel also has a driver service that will drop you off and pick you up to sites in Ubud as it is a bit away from town. The butler is also helpful. Note, if you are planning for cocktails by the pool, stick to beer as the hotel staff were a little confused on how to make some of the cocktails.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Didwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 723 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

Kayumanis villas is a lovely retreat in Ubud. The villa itself was lovely and the pool amazing. The bathroom area is all outdoors so for those a bit squeamish about bugs, I would probably avoid. Having said that, other than a few ants here and there, I didn't have too much of an issue with the bugs. The staff are very professional and very friendly. A few issues with conveying breakfast orders but nothing major. Breakfast is lovely as it's not a buffet! Much better to choose from a menu what you would like to order. We we're only in the hotel for afternoon tea once and it was very nice and a good quantity - not too much, not too little. The shuttle service in to Ubud is fantastic and you need it as Ubud is a good 10-15 minute drive. The trek to Bridges is very good. Bridges restaurant is amazing quality food. Highly recommended. Only criticisms, needs more lighting in rooms as very dark and some of the cushions are stained on outdoor furniture. Also, you can here the roosters!!!

Room Tip: Roosters are noisy so room away from outer perimeter advised for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Indi-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Absolute serenity and warmth are my lasting impressions of Kayumanis. A little further out of Ubud than I've stayed previously, the car service on demand ensures this isn't a problem. My travelling friend and I each had a deluxe villa and the whole experience was amazing - from the very personalised service (dial through to one of your butlers and they'll ask did you enjoy your morning yoga or spa treatment) to the amazing breakfast and meals at the restaurant (wonderful too that you turn up to the restaurant for dinner or ring for room service when ever you feel like it.) for those that know the challenges of endless stairs at Ubud accommodation, Kayumanis seems to not have that many particularly if you request a villa closer to the lobby. I've stayed in several luxury places in Ubud over the years and as I do with the Tanjung Rhu in Langkawi, will actually make this property a destination now.

Room Tip: Would recommend you consider the larger and newer deluxe private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuxuryAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary with a short weekend stay at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa and Spa in July. Unfortunately, we were only there for 2 nights.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was tremendously enhanced by the breathtaking surroundings, and of course, attentive and cheerful staff of the resort. Suffice to say, we left feeling a little sad because the time we had there was too short.

The villa (we were upgraded graciously by the resort) we enjoyed was amazing. Tranquil, well kept, well equipped - total pampering for guests! In a way, I'm glad that we didn't busy ourselves with spending too much time in town (which was fun!) and had the opportunity to also enjoy the pool and 'al-fresco' living and dining area of our villa.

Food at the resort was surprisingly good! The breakfast spread was great, with fresh juice upon request, AND we were given Hi-Tea every day, including a specially baked anniversary cake! That was a sweet gesture by the hotel :)

The establishment's butlers, drivers and service staff were exceptional - always smiling, they took initiative to help before you asked, and requests were handled promptly. Beyond "work", you could actually feel the genuine care and friendship of the Kayumanis staff.

We thoroughly enjoyed the guided walk around the neighbouring village and rice fields, and appreciated the timely and personalised shuttle service around Ubud.

Kudos and many thanks to Kayumanis Ubud for making our anniversary and first trip to Bali such a beautiful, soul nourishing one.

Room Tip: All villas are well equipped and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenieseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PutuAgustini, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Bapak and Ibu Queenieseah,

Warm Greeting from Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa…

Congratulations once again on your 4th wedding anniversary and for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. However, our staff is the greatest asset of our company as they consistently deliver Kayumanis Service Concept to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa and Spa during your recent holiday

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,


Putu Agustini
General Manager
Kayumanis Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fantastic stay at Kayumanis . From arrival the staff were attentive and checking in procedure was actioned in villa . The Villa was 2 bedroom and we felt like we were living 5 * luxury in the midst of the jungle . Facilities fantastic , fresh fruit daily and plenty of water and free mini bar. The resort is 10 minutes from Ubud town but the hotel provided a shuttle service that departed when you required a lift to town and not at certain timings . Whilst we were there there was a power cut and we could not contact hotel to pick us up so got a regular taxi but on arrival at Kayumanis, the hotel paid the driver as we could not get in contact with them . Would I return ? Absolutely . A top spot in Bali

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janieN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Kayumanis Ubud is a wonderfully quiet and peaceful retreat near Ubud. The accommodation is of a very high standard and the staff are very friendly, welcoming and attentive.

A few reviews have mentioned slight inconsistencies with the cleaning and replenishment of the villas and this was indeed the case. However, we contacted housekeeping about this and it would appear that there are 2 teams responsible for each villa. The housekeeping team are responsible for cleaning and making up beds etc, but the F&B team are responsible for replenishing minibars, removing/replacing dirty crockery etc. There was a slight disconnect in procedures in that the housekeeping team assumed that the F&B team would automatically follow after the cleaning was completed. The manager was very apologetic and instigated a change to the procedures to ensure that this would (hopefully) not occur in the future, by getting the housekeeping team to gather up all used crockery etc and then contact the F&B team to collect. We experienced no further setbacks afterwards.

I would very strongly recommend this property to anyone wishing for a comfortable and relaxing break. The private villas are wonderfully appointed and the staff are outstanding. There is a strong customer-centric ethos throughout the Kayumanis properties and they appear to spend a lot of emphasis on training their staff to a very high level.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in a villa with a private pool for 3 nights. After reviewing the pictures on the hotel's website, we decided to spend the extra money for what we thought was going to be an amazing place for our honeymoon. Let's just say they had a great photographer who knew how to use lighting to his/her advantage. The community pool was disgusting.

The pool was nice, but so cold we didn't even use it. The bathroom area was outside and dimly lit, so unless you enjoy showering with snails and lizards, I would recommend using the bathtub only. The hotel shares an alley with the locals, so if your villa is near the front of the complex, be prepared for roosters to start crowing at about 4am and continue until sundown. Being literally next door to someone's house that sits higher than the hotel allows for some interesting bathroom time if you know what I mean.

The sleeping room was dark, musty and had numerous bugs. The first sign should've been the mosquito nets I guess. The bugs could enter the room because the doors didn't close all the way or had gaps in them.

If you want off the beaten path and to be secluded, this is the place for you. If you want to be able to walk to restaurants or Ubud center, then it is not.

The excursions recommended by the staff were not good and wildly overpriced.

Not that I need to be catered to, but we didn't even receive a "thank you for staying with us" when we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jayhawks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PutuAgustini, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Bapak and Ibu,

Warmest greetings from Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa…

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our property and service. I sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation.

I will follow up your concern according and share it to the rest of the team for further improvement. Once again we deeply apologize for not being able to deliver the service and products as expected during you stay with us.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback

Besty regards,

Putu Agustini
General Manager
Kayumanis Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.7 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,103 reviews
2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa

Address: Sayan Village Ubud P.O. Box 777, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $295 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayumanis Private Villa & Spa at Ubud is a refreshing retreat that takes travellers away from the demands of modern living. Gently nestled on a serene parcel of landscape above the flow of the Ayung River, a total of 23 luxuriously appointed villas offer total privacy from the outside world. Each villa is set within its own tropical compound with a private pool and open-style bathroom. Tastefully themed interiors draw attention to the artistic heritage of the Indonesian archipelago. All villas feature a gourmet kitchen and other high-end facilities to ensure that every stay is one of pure indulgence. A newly launched Spa environment, designed to focus on personal wellness, incorporates five treatment pavilions, a restaurant, an infinity edge swimming pool and a series of inspiration decks. The Dining Corner is an intimate restaurant at the property offering sweeping valley views and a signature menu of Thai cuisine. Kayumanis Ubud doesn't accommodate children under 12 years old ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa Hotel Ubud
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa And Spa
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing