We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #26 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
randwick
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at kayamunis Ubud as part of a 10 day Bali trip. The other 5 were in jimbaran . See other review.

What an amazing place. We were greeted like old friends from the moment we stepped into the lobby until the moment we left and called by the Balinese titles of Mr and Mrs ibu and bapak .

The villa was everything we expected plus more. A high standard of cleanliness everywhere and nothing too much trouble. We loved the sounds of the night particularly the geckos and frogs and even the roosters and dogs did not disturb our peace as others have mentioned. We were so in tune with the tranquility we barely turned the tv on but all channels available for tv buffs . Why disturb the natural peace with tv and music.?

The views from the restaurant were spectacular down to the forest and river. We choose to eat in the restaurant rather than room service and a special word of thanks to Kiki for her excellent service and smile .

The spa is awesome outdoors with the bird sounds and flowing river which enhanced my treatments.

Finallly a big thanks to all staff who made our stay so memorable and we are counting the days and saving up again to return ASAP.

Kind regards Martina and Roger Harmes Sydney and London

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy the roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyrandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Martina and Roger,

Greetings fro the beauty of Ayung River!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had relaxing and enjoyable stay in our resort.

We always stripe to provide the highest level of product, service and facilities and to receive a comment such as yours is very motivating. I am really happy to learn you easily blend with the nature as we are located in the middle of quite dense tropical forest, hence you will listen the wild roosters crowing from a distance.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud during your visit to the Island of the Gods and look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    71
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
445
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This review is LONG overdue.....but the experience I had at Kayumanis Ubud will be with me forever. We did a LOT of research before we decided on Kayumanis Ubud and we were not disappointed for a moment! From the moment we arrived I felt like a princess. The hospitality and the warmth of the staff and management was incredible! Our Villa was spectacular.....from the moment we stepped inside and had our feet bathed and sprinkled with rose petals to the moment we very reluctantly left, everything was pure perfection. They always seemed to know exactly what we wanted and also when we didn't need a thing! Our privacy was honored and respected throughout. Our 'butler' tour guide was absolutely lovely and we felt taken care of every moment. I just can't say enough about the beauty and peacefulness of this place. We loved how large and spacious our Villa was...it was an entire compound with a full sized swimming pool. The bedroom was huge and luxurious and we loved the his and hers indoor/outdoor bathroom and our entire dining pavilion. It gave us room to be together and also have private time as well. I felt like we were the only people there and yet I know the resort was full. The massages were masterful and the setting was gorgeous. The food was wonderful too. If you're looking for the ultimate, peaceful, romantic, beautiful stay in Ubud.....Kayumanis is the way to go! I would return in a heartbeat!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImTLC4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear ImTLC4u

Greetings from the blissful Ubud!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay in our resort from the moment you stepped in until the conclusion of your stay.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence to receive great comment such as yours is very motivating. I will certainly share your feedback to the entire staff

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa and Spa during your recent visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Kayumanis for the second leg of our honeymoon. Coming from the Oberoi in Seminyak we were hoping to have a similar warm welcome for the two brides!

First the good stuff:
The staff we polite and very kind (they also had a welcome cake for us). However we were not happy with the villa we were given - it was - the perhaps now renown, villa next to the chicken farm. However when we expressed our concerns they kindly moved us.

The villa really was lovely and the pool a lot bigger than we expected. I love the outdoor living area with the flat screen tv/ dvd, along with and the dinning and kitchen that had the needed conveniences - although we never really used them! The outdoor bathroom (toilet, bathtub, closets and vanity area, plus the open air shower) took a little getting use to but it actually was quite nice.

As we walked to our complimentary 30 minute massage, we were lost in the grounds, so serene and really beautiful, you could hear the river flow as you walk over the amazing bridge to the main pool area and the spa. Naturally we enjoyed it so much we booked another full session!

The staff are always on hand to help and offer ideas for relaxation or adventure. The most special thing about Kayumanis is the ways to may your stay special booklet that offer dinners and events to suit everyone. If you are o a romantic getaway then the "romantic candle light dinner" is beyond words. It is certainly one of the most memorable nights of our honeymoon, truly amazing.

Other great pluses were the free breakfast (you could have at your convenience and in the villa)and afternoon tea - both included in our stay- I must say both were very generous and great value.

We had an early checkout but a late flight, yet the hotel still treated us like a guests. The transport took us too and collected us from Ubud for shopping, we were allowed to use the pool and given a villa to shower and get ready for our flight. This was certainly beyond the call of duty and we really appreciated it.


The stuff that could be better:
The welcome was nice enough but lacked the warmth we felt at the Oberoi, that said it actually got better and better each day.

The restaurant has a great view and good food, as well as very friendly service but the level of professionalism isn't so great (got our started with our mains and the no cutlery - twice! But again they fix the problem quickly and are so sweet you just get on with it. The wines are also rather expensive and not of the best selection

The house keeping brings this place down a bit. The bedroom (indoor) when we entered it was dark and a bit musty - they gave us some candles but to be honest it did not improve. The problem was simple - the curtains (in particular)and bug netting we smelly/ dampish so the room had that odour, which we really did like. The living area the chairs are from a type of fabric, which again hold smells and also attracts little animals in the evening (its a warm/ woolly / linen type of material.

If they could keep the rooms a bit brighter and fresher and the living spaces cleaner - e.g. leather / outdoor material sofas that can be wiped clean . this place would rock!

The Team did a great job and have given us many fond memories, we would certainly recommend Kayumanis for romantic trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the middle of the grounds can be a bit dark given the surrounding vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear LMH 101,

Greetings from the blissful Ubud!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very detailed review. It is a pleasure to receive your positive comments which is very motivating compliments to our staff.

We view your negative feedback as an indication to improve our product and service including the attentiveness of our server in the restaurant, but I am glad to learn that you feel at ease and convenience with our breakfast.

Once again thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud during your recent visit to the Island of the Gods, feel free to drop your note to gmubud@kayumanis.com if I can be of any further help.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pros:
- deluxe villa ground is quite big so you don't feel cramp like other villas in bali. Pool especially is very pleasant and long enough to swim. Outdoor lounge is very comfy. there are 2 tv And dvd player!
- nice villa layout with 2 pavilions (one for the room and one for the living room)
- complimentary mini bar
- the property is very large, in a nice setting, with spa pavilions overlooking the forest, and main pool close to the river
- staff was very friendly
- spa facilities and therapists are flawless, yet a bit pricey for the category
- efficient and comfortable private car shuttle around ubud compensates the sayan location 15mn off the center by car

Cons:
- rooster sound from nearby village all day and night... It's from afar but loud enough to be heard. So light sleepers should be prepared.
- the villa is a bit worn out, with old fashion furniture, garden could be replenish to make it an absolute perfect hideaway
- walled villa with no views. Not necessarily an issue but it's good to know beforehand.
- breakfast food is average, though it is appreciable to be able to order all day long.
- main pool facilities (lounge chairs, day bed) is a bit worn out too. Could be replaced or upgraded for a better experience.
- we booked from the reception a fastboat transfer to gili at the high cost, but ended up in one of the worse speedboat. We picked the most expensive option thinking we would have had a better boat but ended up in a 80 seaters claustrophobic room with poor aircon. Prefer booking in town or specify to the butler which one you want. Our bad experience is not the butler's fault, but We would have appreciated if the butler had explained the different options available, company names, rather than just explaining in terms of price.
- booked a motorbike via the reception, which was not in very good condition (electric starter broke down).

Overall:
Very friendly staff and huge size villa are the major assets of the kayumanis. A bit of modernization and upgrade would make it perfect. A very pleasant stay and i would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you very for taking the time write a very detailed review of your stay in our resort. We are very delighted to receive your positive comments while we view your negative comments as our tool to improve our product and service.

As you are aware that our resort is located in the middle of quite dense tropical forest you will be able to listen the roosters crowing from a distance, beside some from nearby villager houses.

We have also noted your comment on the average quality of our breakfast and other facilities that need to be upgraded, we take your comments seriously and already set a plan for the improvement. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, but fell short on this occasion.

I wish to thank you for choosing to stay in our resort on your recent visit to the Island of the Gods, should you have further concern to discuss please feel free to send your note to my email address gmubud@kayumanis.com

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very nice villas, accurate service, privacy galore and beautiful countryside around: Kayumanis Ubud is the right place if you want to pamper yourself, take it easy, relax. Each villa has a private garden and a private swimming pool.

Breakfast: very good, much to chose from and flexibility to blend together the different menus proposed. Quick service.
Room service: nice and tasty, a wider offer would be appreciated.
Spa: Massages are recommended, make sure to book ahead.
Shuttle to Ubud: flexible and easy.

Personnel: all the staff is very smiling, most of them quite well trained and anyway trying hard to satisfy your requests.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_Marylebone_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear JP_Milan,

Greetings from blissful Ubud!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had memorable and relaxing stay in Kayumanis Ubud.

Furthermore I am happy to learn that you like our breakfast and the flexibility of blending them together. We always strive to achieve the highest level of product and service, hence all of our staff will go extra miles to attain your request and to ensure that your stay would be memorable. I have taken your note on the wider offer of our room service menu and will work with our resort chef to make it happen.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud during your recent visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite at kayumanis in August 2013 and have to say that we could not have asked for more. The Villa itself was massive with everything you could possibly want but more to the point the staff and management simply could not do too much for you. The ethos with Kayumanis is whatever the customer wants then they will do it.
My advice is make sure if there is something you want or need , do not be afraid to ask.
In particular, Sukarja, Yuli and Agus offered unbelievable service and were extremely helpful and friendly. We decided to stay a further 2 nights and the suite was not actually available, however Yuli worked her magic and moved things around for us in order that we could stay longer. Sukarja and Agus took us on complimentary mountain bike excursions and these were fantastic too. Ubud itself is great and the resort has a complimentary shuttle bus that is there whenever you want it to take you the 10 minutes drive into Ubud.
I mentioned in the title that we are picky and really what I mean is that we have been lucky enough to stay some unbelievably nice resorts worldwide, however I genuinely would say that the level of service offered by Kayumanis was the best we have experienced anywhere.
All in 11 out of 10, well done Kayumanis you deserve nothing but praise.
By the way , Kayumanis allow you to have your breakfast 24 hours per day! this is great if you want the lie in!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B6723UYjasonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Oakfurnitureman,

Greetings from the Beauty of Ayung River - Ubud!

Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this review of your stay in our resort. It is a pleasure to learn that you had relaxing and memorable stay.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence receiving such great comment from you is really motivating. Flexibility and tailor made service is one of our primary Kayumanis Service Concept, our staff will go extra miles to attain your request and they are proven to be very sincere in attending any special arrangement. I appreciate that you personally mentioned some of our staff who did outstanding effort to ensure your stay would be memorable.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Kayumanis Ubud during your recent visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We awoke every morning to the sounds of bells from the temple across the valley; it was wonderful. We were upgraded to a nicer "room" (two buildings) because it was our honeymoon. One of the butlers took us to a farmers market when we wanted to get off the beaten path. Also breakfast every morning was fabulous. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtydirtyretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyoman A, General Manager at Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Dirty Retro,

Greetings from the spirit of Bali - Ubud!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review and we feel honored that you still remember your great time spent with our fabulous resort in Ubud.

We always strive to achieve the highest level of standard product and service, receiving a great comment like yours is very motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa and Spa on your last year visit to the Island of the Gods, we look forward to serving you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nyoman Astika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.7 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa

Property: Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Address: Sayan Village Ubud P.O. Box 777, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayumanis Private Villa & Spa at Ubud is a refreshing retreat that takes travellers away from the demands of modern living. Gently nestled on a serene parcel of landscape above the flow of the Ayung River, a total of 23 luxuriously appointed villas offer total privacy from the outside world. Each villa is set within its own tropical compound with a private pool and open-style bathroom. Tastefully themed interiors draw attention to the artistic heritage of the Indonesian archipelago. All villas feature a gourmet kitchen and other high-end facilities to ensure that every stay is one of pure indulgence. A newly launched Spa environment, designed to focus on personal wellness, incorporates five treatment pavilions, a small restaurant, an infinity edge swimming pool and a series of inspiration decks. The Dining Corner is an intimate restaurant at the property offering sweeping valley views and a signature menu of authentic Thai cuisine. Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa do not accommodate children under 16 years old ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa Hotel Ubud
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa And Spa
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing