We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil,opulent, relaxing but a few snags.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #19 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The villas are gorgeous, the food is decent, and the location is a bit out of Ubud which has its ups and downs. We really enjoyed our stay there last week in general though.

The staff were friendly but things seemed a bit...disorganized almost. Several different people said they were our "butler" and often one staff member (who claimed to be our butler)didn't know what was going on with our room or future plans. It seemed that one of our butlers knew our plans for the next day but another didn't. So we were asked the same questions often by different staff members.

One evening (well 1:30am) there was no one at all at the front desk when we got back from Ubud and we had to "break in" to our villa cause we couldn't get the key. That's something to be aware of by the way. The rope with a padlock that locks the villa main doors can easily be pushed open and you can slide in so security could be an issue.

These may seem like petty claims but for the price we just expected a bit better service.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RobB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 742 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights having transferred from Kayumanis Jimbaran for a different Balinese experience. Kayumanis Ubud is simply wonderful and it offers a chance to escape the concrete jungle syndrome so many other hotels present. In other hotels we have stayed in you could be anywhere in the world, but not here. K Ubud gives you a unique insight into Balinese culture and scenery in a beautiful setting. Add to this the brilliant staff and you have a winning combination. They simply cannot do enough for you!

Our room was very clean and private and the whole resort surprisingly free of too many bugs. We saw the occasional frog but to be honest we were expecting many more. The food was great and the spa was lovely with the treatments being held in open sided rooms giving a very refreshing experience.

We would highly recommend the local trek and cycling trips where you are escorted by a butler to show you the local area. They have great pride in their village and both trips were highlights for us.

The only problem we encountered was the noise at night with dogs barking and cockerels crowing at all hours. Next time we will request a room away from the perimeter. We will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We celebrated Vday and 10 years of being together at this villa. Having stayed in 4 other resorts in Bali (including 4 seasons, alila and furama), we have to say that the service standards at Kayumanis is of a different level altogether. It's not overpowering, a lot of flexibility and at the same time, eager hospitality is just a phone call away. The villas have great layouts, intimate and yet generous enough for personal space. Absolutely loved the stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tshendomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We first stayed at Kayumanis in Ubud when it first opened in 2003. It has nearly doubled in size now, with many new villas. The older ones (we stayed in the 3-bedroom) are showing their age. In Bali's climate, I guess it is hard to keep up with mold, ants and electrical problems. After a day of running the aircon, and notifying the staff, the wet smell and the ants went away and although the kitchen was dark, most of the lights were working.

The new swimming pool is beautiful but not used by many. No one seemed to walk down to sit at the cafe near by. That's probably because the private swimming pools are so nice and so easy to enjoy, just steps from the room.

The spa was fantastic. Our package included complimentary treatments and we topped up with extras at a very reasonable cost.

Breakfasts were excellent, although service was a bit slow. More food and choice than we needed. The staff is friendly and attempts to be helpful, a bit handicapped by lack of English. They organized an excellent driver with a comfortable car to show us around. He was very cooperative, did not insist we visit particular places, and suggested a good, reasonabley priced lunch on the beach for us. Transportation into Ubud is free.

We knew Kayumanis so that is why we chose it. There may be better venues but this is in a good location, close to Ubud. Unfortunately, the traffic in Bali is now as bad as Jakarta. It took us over two hours to get from Ubud to the airport. That's progress, I guess, but it puts a damper on much sight-seeing. You could do worse than relaxing behind the walls of your private villa at Kayumanis.

Room Tip: Request one of the newer villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great Resort for couples looking to just unwind and relax. The resort offers free shuttle to UBUD downtown area which is 10-15 minutes by car. So when you feel like getting out to see the city you have no hassles and at the same time you can return to this quiet location.
However, the washroom is completely outdoors, so if you are somebody who gets creeped out by bugs and insects or you are not comfortable taking an outdoor shower, this is certainly not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shixi_narula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

After two days, I left Nikko and stayed at this Kayumanis resort. The service was amazing. They carried my bags all the way to my villa and trust me that was a bit of a walk for them. The villa was excellent. It was very clean, and the bathroom was spacious. In fact, it was as big as the bedroom. The outdoor area included a radio, table, and nice day bed. It was pretty ideal for taking naps especially when the rain came.

The food in this villa was excellent. The congee and sandwiches for lunch were well prepared and tasted great. But, the problem is the food is a bit too much. I'd say a two person breakfast is enough to feed four people.

The draw back for this villa is that it might not be for everyone. There are a insects since you are pretty up there. I even saw a cockroach but it's not to say this villa was not clean. It was a jungle cockroach from the surroundings not from lack of cleaning. At night, there are also a lot of frogs which come out. You can hear them for the whole night and if you go for a night swim, you might even be sharing the pool with one.

If any of this makes you squeamish then it's best for you not to come, but other that this place, in terms of the villa, food, service, and the complimentary 90 minute spa deserves to be a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Get a villa near the restaurant. Most people stay in the villa, but once in awhile it's nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited Kayumani's Ubud for our honeymoon and enjoyed each and every single minute. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The private villas are outstanding and it would be hard to find this level of hospitality and service anywhere else in the world. You will experience ultimate peace here. The chef made us a separate vegetarian menu and made sure that our dietary needs were taken care of. We had a lovely breakfast by our villa pool in the mornings. The hotel provided a complimentary 30 min massage which was great to get over jetlag. we highly recommend visiting the spa and getting additional massages. We would recommend Kayumani's property to our friends and family without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyperknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 200 in Ubud
1,122 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 200 in Ubud
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 200 in Ubud
1,073 reviews
2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa

Address: Sayan Village Ubud P.O. Box 777, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $287 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayumanis Private Villa & Spa at Ubud is a refreshing retreat that takes travellers away from the demands of modern living. Gently nestled on a serene parcel of landscape above the flow of the Ayung River, a total of 23 luxuriously appointed villas offer total privacy from the outside world. Each villa is set within its own tropical compound with a private pool and open-style bathroom. Tastefully themed interiors draw attention to the artistic heritage of the Indonesian archipelago. All villas feature a gourmet kitchen and other high-end facilities to ensure that every stay is one of pure indulgence. A newly launched Spa environment, designed to focus on personal wellness, incorporates five treatment pavilions, a restaurant, an infinity edge swimming pool and a series of inspiration decks. The Dining Corner is an intimate restaurant at the property offering sweeping valley views and a signature menu of Thai cuisine. Kayumanis Ubud doesn't accommodate children under 12 years old ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa And Spa
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa Hotel Ubud
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing