We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant review …..”

Restaurant Locavore
Ranked #7 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our non smoking restaurant serves modern, contemporary European cuisine using local, seasonal ingredients. Our chefs share a passion for crafting contemporary European cuisine from quality local ingredients. This concept is already popular in the west and, although it is still new to Indonesia where most chefs rely on expensive imported ingredients, we are proud to be amongst the first to introduce high-end and locally sourced cuisine to Indonesian kitchens. A great deal has been achieved in Locavore' first year which we hope to build on in order to continue satisfying our guests and to continue the strides made in spreading this concept throughout the country. We started working together in Jakarta over five years ago and gradually came to see that it just didn't make sense to cook with imported ingredients when we were surrounded by Indonesia's bounty. We think of ourselves as the catalysts between local producers and discriminating diners. Our ingredient-driven menu celebrates the farmers, fisherman and artisans we've met along our journey. By developing lasting relationships with local producers, we ensure you the freshest of chemical-free seasonal produce and ethically fed meat animals. And by supporting local farmers and artisans, Locavore is an authentic member of its community. A reservation is strongly recommended, typically you should be able to secure a table 2-3 weeks ahead. Reservations can be made via our website and our Facebook Page. Upon making a reservation via one of our two convenient online booking options you will receive a confirmation email to your inbox which will include a booking reference. 24 hours prior to your booking date you will receive an additional email asking you to reconfirm your booking along with instructions on how to do that. We realise many of our guests are busy enjoying their wonderful holidays in Bali or simply don't have all day e-mail access but we do kindly request your attention on the booking emails. We are very thankful for the interest everyone has shown in Locavore but without a confirmed booking we will regrettably have to release the table to other guests. Locavore is a small and cozy restaurant operated by a team of highly dedicated food enthusiasts whose primary goal is to ensure our guests savor their experience at Locavore while dining on artistically prepared, fresh and highly enjoyable dishes. Part of that process is to source 95% of our products locally and not to keep large stocks but rather to source as much of our products fresh on a daily basis. This, together with the fact that all of our dishes are prepared a la minute with only fresh produce, certainly leads to more strain on our team but absolutely allows us to achieve our stated goal of providing our guests with locally produced, fresh and delicious dishes. We are and aim to continue being a fine dining establishment that focuses equal parts on the cuisine and on the experience. To ensure that experience consists of the highest quality, Locavore focuses on a series of set tasting menus; 5-courses or 7 courses in either Locavore or Herbivore style. We are more than happy to modify our set tasting menus for those with dietary preferences, as long as those preferences are mentioned to us during your booking process, since we cater to our guests needs and especially since our chefs certainly love to be challenged to meet new heights. Some may call those preferences a 'dietary restriction' but we simply view your preferences as part of our obligation to ensure you enjoy the experience at our restaurant. Although a meal at Locavore may last several hours, the reason for that is not lack of care or attention but rather the exact opposite ... every dish is prepared with meticulous attention so as to ensure that every one of our guests will walk away from Locavore remembering the cuisine they experienced with us. Come to Locavore not for a rushed meal based on an endless menu but for a meticulously planned culinary journey prepared by our team that will leave you satisfied, fulfilled and eager for your next visit. While we understand that this philosophy may not be applicable for everyone, as food enthusiasts we welcome everyone and anyone to join us at Locavore to take part in this culinary approach which we believe in, standby and advocate for within the sphere of fine dining. As a final note, generally we can advise guests that our menus can take the following service time: - 5 course : 1.5 to 2 hours - 7 course : 2 to 2.5 hours
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reluctant review …..”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having recently had dinner with several close friends at Locavore, I am very reluctant to write this review …. because it was so utterly and overwhelmingly wonderful that I'm afraid that word will soon spread and we will have difficulty making another reservation! Everything about Locavore is superb … everything. The food is amazing … not the usual ho-hum offerings. The staff and service are impeccable, friendly and informative, yet not intrusive. The chefs are both great guys who are dedicated to using the very best of local ingredients in order to bring you a fantastic meal. I'm running out of superlatives, but I can't say enough about how great this new restaurant is … if you want a wonderful meal that's utterly delicious and different from what's usually found on island, Locavore is the place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccnbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    205
    90
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Heart of Ubud”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

At last, world-class fine dining right in Ubud. I've been following these classically trained chefs for 2 years and the amazing food they consistently produce astonishes and delights me. Choosing to work with 90% local ingredients, their tasting menus are imaginative, whimsical, delicious and always surprising and the cost is very reasonable for this level of dining. Everything I've sampled has been beautifully prepared, presented and served. If you're serious about good food, don't miss Locavore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must! Excellent, beautiful food in a gorgeous setting. Amazing service and great price.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I have been in Ubud for 4 weeks and this is easily the best meal we've had (although the food in Ubud is consistently very good). The restaurant is newly opened and is a beautiful, minimalist setting. The service is wonderful, very attentive but not at all intrusive. The food is modern European made with local ingredients (approx 95% sourced locally, mostly from Bali but always from Indonesia). The food is beautiful and perfectly executed, it would rival some of the Michelin star meals we've had in London. That being said, the prices are very reasonable. Two glasses of wine, two beers, jasmine tea, two appetizers, two mains and dessert all came out to 800,000 rupiah (approx $68). They also brought out delicious fresh sourdough with pesto, toasted bread rounds with smoked roe dip and a complementary dessert. The owner came to our table to introduce himself and was gracious. Note it is cash only and there isn't really a vegetarian main selection, although there are several fish options and I have no doubt they would accommodate any food restrictions. The gnocchi starter was served with perfectly cooked vegetables and complex and interesting sauces. The hamachi starter was very fresh and beautifully prepared. My husband and I shared the whole sea bass which was elegantly presented on two plates so no messy sharing or deconstructing yourself. The coffee dessert is seriously the best thing I've ever eaten. If you are in Ubud, it would be a shame to miss this gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great new concept restaurant in the heart of Ubud”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This can easily be one of the best restaurants in Ubud. With a new concept of using local food (more than 90% of ingredients used are local), we are very excited to try the menu.

The restaurant has cozy ambiance, and the decor was simple yet elegant. It has a kitchen bar table where the diners can dine while watching the chefs in action (although this section is not yet opened to public). The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the products. The chefs also came to the tables to explain about the food and interact with the customers.

We had a 5-course tasting menu recommended by the Chef. It was opened with complimentary amouse bouche from the Chef, smoked mackerel mayo served with focaccia crouton. The mayo has very nice consistency and very smooth with a hint of smokiness from the mackerel, and it works really well with the crouton.

Our first course was an appetizer, Bloody Mary sorbet served with tomato consomme and cherry tomato salad. The sorbet was served on a plate, and then the waiter then poured warm tomato consomme into the plate. The sorbet was light, sweet with a hint sourness; combined with warm consomme it produced a delightful combination. I personally dont really like tomato, but even I can enjoy this dish a lot.

Before our next course, the waiter served sourdough with local pesto, which is quite good. The second course was also appetizer, Crab & Cucumber, cold crab salad served with cucumber and mint gazpacho, pickled baby cucumber, cucumber mousse, young coconut and transparent potato. The crab was so good that we wished we can get bigger portion. The gazpacho was ok; the cucumber (pickled and mousse) was tasty, and the transparent potato is unique.

Our third course was Hamachi served with eggplant puree, green asparagus, young sorrel veloute and oxtail ravioli. The fish was cooked to perfection and the ravioli was to die for.

The last main course was rabbit cooked 3 ways, sweet and sour leg, bitterbal from shoulder and sous vide cooked loin served with crispy bacon, pommed dauphine, celery infused jus, roasted baby carrot and caramelized shallot. I find it very interesting that different part of the rabbit can have different texture. The sweet and sour leg was like beef, and the loin was like chicken. The bitterbal was very good, even my wife who was a bit scared eating rabbit found this delicious. The sweet and sour leg was a bit heavy toward the sweet which overshadowed the sourness.

The dessert was a delight. We tried three of them. Local Berries (cold strawberry consomme served with mulberry sorbet, white chocolate mousse, thick homemade goat yoghurt infused with kemangi leaves) was very refreshing; the sorbet was a pleasure and the strawberry consomme was cool, with just the right amount of sweetness. Coffee (jellied cold drip coffee served with espresso ice cream, white chocolate mousse, coffee crumble and cinnamon infused cream) was also very interesting, and the flavour of the coffee jelly was really intense, like concentrated coffee. The last one was Mango (seasonal mango sorbet, coconut mousse, coriander syrup and coconut foam infused with lemongrass.

As if that was not enough, the chefs gave us each one home made lemon flavored (if I am not mistaken) madeleine which was soft in the middle with crusty surface. Delicioso.....

The dining experience was such a pleasure that we immediately made plan to return with friends, because the menu will change frequently to accommodate their available ingredients.

The restaurant is (for now) open for dinner only, but I think it will also open for lunch some time in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rianto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Fine dining with reasonable price in Bali”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is my first time to Bali. I love this island so much and thanks to have chance dining in this restaurant as well. The atmosphere in restaurant just fine enough for dinner and quit relaxing after one day long travel in Bali. A little bit hot when I was there. It might be the air condition system? Or because of the open concept kitchen? Cause our table quite near to the kitchen. I can see the chef's enthusiasm when they were busy preparing the dishes. They explained every single dishes when serve to our table so we can know how they prepare and what ingredient use for the dishes. From appetizer to desserts, I like all of it. The taste was suitable for me and the food was fresh. Another attraction to me is the slogan which you can see from the restaurant signboard "Modern Cuisine, Local Produce"

Try it out and you will know what I mean.
Will be back to Bali and of course this restaurant as well.

Thanks to the friendly staff in restaurant :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahlunlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant Locavore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing