We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay while in Ubud!!”
Review of Puri Gangga Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Puri Gangga Resort
Ranked #35 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place to stay while in Ubud!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

First, this place was absolutely AMAZING! The staff was excellent and made us feel so comfortable and special during our stay. The resort is fairly small and very relaxing, if you are looking for a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle this is exactly where you want to be. It is about 30 minutes from Ubud but they provide free shuttle service which was so convenient! The restaurant food was agreeably the best we had in Indonesia. The prices for food and drink were very reasonable too! We stayed in a garden villa and I have to say I felt like such a princess. The only issue is that you may run into some "visitors" but I don't blame that on the hotel, we are in the middle of the jungle so I wasn't too bothered by it, we just called the front desk and they had someone take care of it. We also had a tendency to leave the doors wide open while we stayed because the weather was absolutely perfect. The TV didn't really have any channels to really watch but again, no big deal, who wants to watch tv when they are in paradise anyway? My biggest upset was that I did not know that we needed to book the spa in advance and by the time I tried to book, the times that worked for us were unavailable. It is a very small, like 2 staff, spa that only takes one person or couple at a time. So just be aware of that and you wont have a problem! Also, there are plenty of spas in Ubud so crisis was averted! The resort is beautiful and you will probably be broken hearted when you have to leave, I definitely was!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabgabTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Sudarta, Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear GabgabTX,

Om Suastiastu

Warm greetings from Puri Gangga Resort " A Home In A Living Culture"

Thank you very much for your kind review. Thank you for you stay with us and delighted to know your experience met all expectations.

Please rest assured your comments will be shared with our team who are genuinely motivated and inspired by your feedback, all contributing to more excellent experiences for our guests in future.

Looking Forward to welcoming you again to Puri Gangga Resort next time

Om Shanti Shanti Shanti Om

Sincerely Yours,

I Wayan Sudarta
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    105
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
76
332
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this place for 3 nights back in December. This is a very new resort opened just months ago. Everything looks so clean and neat inside the property. The villa bathroom is very large and the roof is open.

The food in the restaurant is better than many restaurants in the ubud area.

Staff are very attentive and friendly. Really hope we can stay for a few more nights.

Only small problem we had was when we tried to fill up the over-size bathtub, there wasn't enough hot water even to fill up 1/3 of the tub, might have to do with the limited water supply in Indonesia?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bowbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

An excellent resort with 5 star service and gourmet meals.
The rooms were excellent, we stayed in a suite which was lovely and then upgraded to the garden villa which was outstanding.
The spa is for massage only but the masseuse was skilled and I recommend a visit.
The pool was clean and the fountains into it provide a soothing backdrop.
Impressive also are the gardens and art built into the hillside.
The view from the restaurant of the temple below was an added bonus.

Room Tip: The Garden villa was worth the extra:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is one of the best hotel I ever experienced. At the beginning, I felt a bit uncomfortable as the hotel didnt actually located in Ubud area but further. You would have to pay 400,000 Rh. if you take taxi from airport. The fix rate to Ubud is 250,000 Rh.
Once I and my husband arrived, it worth it. The view and the room are more than what I expected. It is really worth travelling here. I cant believe the view we have seen. Staff are nice and I feel like princess.
The food was so good. We took most of our meals in the hotel and I cant tell which one is not good because they are all excellent. It is really in the country side but the food quality was at 5-6 stars i would say. Their pastries are really good. They will serve with your breakfast. They have afternoon tea as complimentary. We didnt take it for the first 2 days but our last day we sit by the pool and ask them for complimentary tea. It came with some sort of local snack I dont know what exactly and the way they serve ... I really feel like princess.

There are few tourist attraction for you to visits as you can see from their website. We rent motorcycle to survey the area and it feel so good. We have some problem with motorbike but not a huge deal because it quite old and we end up change the inner tie.

If you could, you can go visit Ubud city, see money forest and do some spa. And you could go to see volcanic mountain. The view is breath taking. And another place that you will love it is a small village call Tegallalang.

If I have a chance to will go back there again.

However, when you get something beyond what you expected, it make the next hotel durng my visit not that good :) (A little bit byass)

Room Tip: If you travel for 2, I think delux would be enough and you can requested for 140 sq.m. The quality o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big18000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Puri Gangga Resort where we stayed in a garden villa. Room was a great size with enormous bathroom. We paid $275US per night for the room and this included breakfast, massage for 2 people, shuttle to Ubud and various other things. A few things to note before booking this hotel:

1. This hotel is definitely NOT 15 minutes from the heart of Ubud; the trip ranged from 35 minutes to 75 minutes depending on traffic and time of day.
2. WIFI in the rooms did not work, however it was very good at the restaurant and by the pool.
3. There was no daily afternoon tea, or none that we saw/were offered.
4. We were told upon arriving the free daily morning yoga session is only offered on Monday and Thursday (another couple staying there complained to management and they bought in an instructor each morning for them).
5. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly, however they had very little if any experience in pouring/mixing drinks. For the price of the alcoholic drinks, it it best to stick to beer or bring your own wine. The cheapest bottle of wine was 990 ++ and basic spirits were 90 ++ (I understand alcohol is always expensive in Bali but this is definitely higher than usual!)

Overall, I would say this hotel is 3.5 stars not 4.5 stars. It is only recently established so will more than likely get better with time. It is a very peaceful, secluded, small hotel, however if you are wanting to stay close to Ubud and/or in a true resort, I would recommend looking at other options.

Room Tip: Stayed in a garden villa (room 801) that was very large and looked over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarlaAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Sudarta, Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear CarlaAus,

Warm greetings from Puri Gangga Resort " A Home In A Living Culture"

Thank you for your stay with us and thank you for your compliment to our resort

We will increase our standard service to upgrade our service to the guest

Once again thank you and we pleased to welcoming you again to Puri Gangga Resort

Sincerely Yours,

I Wayan Sudarta
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Puri Gangga Resort is a wonderful tradicional Balenese place, surrounded by silence and beautiful nature. The room is clean, quiet, comfortable but the resort also has apartments with an own open air bathrooms (great idea!), internet connection is always available. The peaceful pool area has a wonderful view. The stuff is attentive, professional, cheerful and very friendly great team. The food is delicious especially the balenese specials, do not miss! Yoga and spa is also available, excellent program after a wearing day. the best resort I've ever been in Bali for a long time

Room Tip: Rooms with an open air bathrooms for romantic couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asitamandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

It was unforgettable moment to spend a nite in Puri Gangga Resort with bestie friends. We have so much joy as we have been friends since 20 years back....
Best place for a little escape from our rutinity. Surrounded by the purity and beauty of nature. Would be greater to spend it with your couple to fire up the marriage.. The foods are extremely good and hospitality of staff was awesome. Rainy will just make our day perfect...!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Retno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
9.3 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
5.4 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
7.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
7.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Gangga Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Gangga Resort

Property: Puri Gangga Resort
Address: Desa Sebatu, Tegalalang Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#30 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Puri Gangga Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Gangga Resort is a charming luxury boutique resort in Ubud, a home in living cultures where you can experience the richness of Balinese cultures live naturally in the village of Sebatu. Puri Gangga Resort is located minutes 30 drives from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and culture and only 35 minutes drives from Kintamani Lake Batur, a world Geo Park site. Puri Gangga Resort is surrounded by the extensive of beautiful rice terrace view of Ceking Tegalalang Ubud, an ancient historically Hindu's temple called Gunung Kawi where specific ceremonies host regularly and people do purification, and exactly located at the uniqueness of traditional Balinese village called Sebatu Ubud. Puri Gangga Resort offers 20 charming luxury rooms with four categories : 8 Deluxe Rooms, 8 Suite Rooms, 2 Garden Villas and 2 Pool Villas. The Resort has Restaurant, Spa, Swimming Pool and Yoga Centre. Staying at Puri Gangga Resort means you are sustaining the cultural and natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Gangga Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Gangga Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing