We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMY, worth the splurge”

Restaurant Uma Cucina
Ranked #15 of 723 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Uma Cucina is an Italian-inspired restaurant and lounge bar at Uma by COMO, Ubud. Informal and convivial, with outdoor terraces and a large communal dining table at the heart of the space, Uma Cucina reflects the homely 'kitchen' spirit behind its name ('cucina' means kitchen in Italian).Menus are strong on fresh, locally-sourced produce and the flavours of Italy. Seasonal vegetables, seafood and slow-cooked meats are rendered in colourful, easygoing options, perfect for sharing with friends. House specialities include handmade pastas, cheeses and sausages, woodfired pizzas and breads, as well as classic Italian gelatos and granitas.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“YUMMY, worth the splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I went to Uma during their soft opening week. And was surprised the food was soooo darn good even before the restaurant has really opened. My group ate so many dishes, and each one was delectable. It's been 2 months but the standout for me was the octopus. The chef from Bridges is now at Uma and he wowed me from appetizers, main course to dessert. The service was excellent as well. Look forward to returning!

Helpful?
1 Thank AnneXuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    104
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Since I moved to ubud it's hard to find good restaurant not like in seminyak , but now I know where should I go , and it's uma cucina !!! This restauant is part of uma ubud by como hotel and it's in jalan raya sanggingan not in jalan raya ubud , when I was there I always eat the pasta and also the polenta !!! -) u shoul go and try and they have wry nice cocktail it's call chiky tiki and the lime tart also super

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malintri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As residents of Ubud we had watched this restaurant being built and finally went for dinner the other night. We were looked after by Agung who addressed us by name during the evening and took excellent care of us. We both enjoyed the Rabbit Ragout Pappardelle and then shared a chocolate dessert which was superbly balanced and thoroughly enjoyable. The only negative comment I could make was that it was a pity it is so close to the main road and the traffic noise goes against the otherwise wonderful atmosphere. We will definitely eat here again and will recommend it to our guests as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReplyInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Shiny new , Chic with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Uma cucina - a part of Uma ubud- has only been opened a few weeks, so they are still getting a few things sorted out, but they admit to that which is very honest. However they do not have much to apologise for as we had two great dinners there.
It's not one of the cheapies in town, but the food is fresh, tasty , good size portions and modern Italian .
There was a rabbit ragout, tuna tartrate salad, carpaccio, great pizza and some lovely pasta. Did not try dessert as we were way too full,
Staff are very accommodating, with kids as well, and always have a smile . Hopefully it will do well. It's just up the road from indus and mozaic, so a few goos choices in the area.
There is no great view down the valley, but a nice deck area on the hotel side which overlooks greenery.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hamiriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas l, Executive Chef at Restaurant Uma Cucina, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Hamiriver,

Thank you for your descriptive review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read great reviews regarding our performance here at Uma Cucina.

Thank you again, hope to see you next time.

Best regards,

Nicolas Lazzaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Puts La Luciolla in the shade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were recommended La Lucciola as a must when in Seminyak and although the location is stunning it is nothing compared with this amazing restaurant in Ubud. we stumbled upon it when in Ubud for the usual touristy stuff. From gorgeous cocktails to stunning food (I had squid ink risotto) it was a real highlight of our trip. Dessert was rosemary panacotta with salted caramel popcorn.... amazing! Our 6 year old son was also happy with his slice of chocolate cake! We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas l, Executive Chef at Restaurant Uma Cucina, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Helena Z,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our restaurant on TripAdvisor. we here at Uma Cucina are very happy to read your very positive comments and glad to know you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Ubud.

Best regards,

Nicolas Lazzaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Uma Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Uma Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing