We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every meal is a great meal!”

The Elephant Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #36 of 745 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open all day every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the elephant serves earth friendly food and drinks that are delicious and healthy and created with an eye towards sustainability. As an accredited member of the slow food movement we use organic, local and ethical produce to create vegetarian and vegan food of the highest quality. As well as the food, come and enjoy the tranquil environment of our open air restaurant overlooking picturesque campuhan ridge and the ricefields and rivers below. We make great cocktails and antipasti to enjoy at the end of a long day sightseeing or healthy breakfasts and lunches to fuel you up. At night our candle lit colonial decor and dj-curated playlists give the bar and restaurant a romantic vibe. Western standards or cooking, service, hygiene and style, but in a relaxed and friendly environment with charming Balinese staff
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“Every meal is a great meal!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Taman Indrakila off and on for 3 months and had the privilege of eating breakfast and many of our meals there. Subsequently, we have tried almost the entire menu and had wonderful meals every time--especially good for vegetarian food. Our favorites were the orange alert juice, ginger kambucha, smashed potatoes, (raw) lion salad, spaghetti zucchini, larb, antipasto platter and to top it all off Jonny's (raw) chocolate pie and so many more... The view is spectacular and the music and atmosphere great for hanging with friends--they make a great lychee martini=yum! I'd heard from many repeat customers that they make one of the best cappuccinos in town too. You've just got to go and check it out for yourself.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silshsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    188
    49
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Fancy place but...”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The place looks fancy with the higher class service and elaborate menu. But for the food, none of us thought it was good, specially for the higher price than a restaurant in town. And you have to take a taxi to get there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
thanks for your review. sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us: different strokes for different folks

for other readers please note the following:
- yes, we aspire to look stylish and upmarket but our prices are still absurdly reasonable for anyone from a developed nation. lunch for two including drinks, cake and coffee at the elephant shouldn't cost more than 250.000rp or about $22aud. a comparable meal in australia earlier this year seemed to cost $50-60.
- a cab fare from the centre of ubud to our beautiful location overlooking the lush campuhan river valley costs 30.000rp/$2.50 and takes 5-6 minutes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant to visit while in Ubud”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

As a real carnivor, I was surprised by the amazing vegetarian dishes they make here. Service is great as well. Affordable and great view! Ubud is full of great restaurants, but I would recommend everyone to include "The elephant" in your restaurant-tour while in Ubud!

Helpful?
Thank Cyril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view in an eclectic style restaurant...”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just a few minutes out of the town center, the Elephant is a great place for people who want something off-the-beaten path with a bit of decor and a fabulous view. The food is alright, not fabulous, not lousy, just okay. But the setting is lovely which makes for a nice lunch or sunset dinner. The staff is a bit on the slow side, but hey, if you're in Ubud, why rush at all?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KetutZZ2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I genuinely love the place and the view it boosts, but the lunch that I had doesn't reach the expectation. After hearing people rave about this place, I decided to go and was so happy to find a beautiful restaurant with amazing view. But the food was a little meh (had salad and singaporean noodle). There are heaps of other places in Ubud that have better food, for sure. Yes, they were fresh but I could do with a little bit of flavor. But will come again probably and check out some other choices in the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank fmhrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing