We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, great food!”

The Elephant Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #35 of 720 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Open all day every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the elephant serves earth friendly food and drinks that are delicious and healthy and created with an eye towards sustainability. As an accredited member of the slow food movement we use organic, local and ethical produce to create vegetarian and vegan food of the highest quality. As well as the food, come and enjoy the tranquil environment of our open air restaurant overlooking picturesque campuhan ridge and the ricefields and rivers below. We make great cocktails and antipasti to enjoy at the end of a long day sightseeing or healthy breakfasts and lunches to fuel you up. At night our candle lit colonial decor and dj-curated playlists give the bar and restaurant a romantic vibe. Western standards or cooking, service, hygiene and style, but in a relaxed and friendly environment with charming Balinese staff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently discovered The elephant after recommendations from the Ubud Writers Fest. What a lovely find! The owner, Jonathon, was on hand to make helpful suggestions to my daughter and I and made us feel very welcome. We aren't vegetarians and found the menu a feast for the palate.The White Tiger salad was a great choice on a hot afternoon and sharing smashed potatoes, yummy! The fried polenta was a success and the pot of Chai tea, just right! I've been back since and again, a restful and welcoming spot with excellent food. The staff are learning the ropes and eager to please. There's a lot on offer here in Ubud, and The Elephant adds a special touch, with location, delicious cuisine, very affordable and well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VarchaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    179
    46
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh healthy food. Wicked view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was hard to leave this place. And what a great way to start the day with a delicious healthy breakfast whilst gazing over the hills of Ubud. I particularly loved the fresh juices and I ordered the eggs florentine. Perfectly poached eggs, fresh herbs and some sauteed mushies on the side. Delicious. My friends work there way through a decent chunk of the large selection of veggie options and it was smile all around. I had a taste of most and (not being a vegetarian) was super impressed by the variety and flavours. I'm not sure who is doing there coffee, or where it is from, but being from Melbourne, and going to cafe's in Ubud you don't expect much - but it was a stand-out for me. Love what you doing Elephant Crew. Keep it up and I'll see you again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfbali8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
thanks surfbali8: we are glad you enjoyed your visit and that you appreciated the emphasis we place on fresh, quality ingredients. as part of our commitment to providing earth friendly food the bulk of our ingredients are sourced from local farms who we know to be chemical free/organic.

regarding our blend of coffee: again, it is sourced in indonesia to reduce food miles (and because some of the world's best coffee has been grown here since the days of the dutch east india company!). it is from our friend's company/cafe called "revolver" - we use the 40% java: 40% sulawesi: 20% aceh shotgun blend.

see you next time

jono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Stunning views over the jungle ridge ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

A great find. Elephant has only been open a few months. The ambience is gorgeous - stunning views over the ridge. The food is vegan and vegetarian and very creative. I had the grilled polenta, which was tasty and full of flavour and being a seeker of gluten free options I was impressed with their varied options.
Go here for the views, the owners great hospitality (Australian) and a wonderful menu choice - healthy and revitalising food.

Helpful?
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Forget any preconceptions about vegetarian food. Jonno has brought his successful formula (Zucchini, Seminyak and Green Ginger, Canggu) to Ubud, and what an addition it is. No rabbit food, but generous hearty servings of deliciousness. Situated in the grounds of Taman Indrakila hotel, there is plenty of parking and one of the best views in town to enjoy. The Elephant has become our go to place for coffee - the staff make a great brew. You won't regret making the trip across the Campuhan Bridge to try it out for yourself. A great addition to an area lacking affordable dining on this view side of the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayjay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous addition to ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stumbled across this gorgeous place today and so happy we did. Having enjoyed visiting the owner, Johnnos , cafe Zucchini in Seminyak on many occasions, we were delighted to see a similiar version in the beautiful part of the world that's Ubud . The cafe is charming, breezy and cool with fabulous views over the ridge. Food excellent - tasty and nutritious and served with those wonderful Bali smiles we so love . A very happy addition to all things we love about ubud. Thanks Johnno .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing