We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$401
$360
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$373
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$204
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$250
$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$373
$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
$384
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$700
$631
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$713
$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $817/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
471
83
8
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
83
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaka lekecendrawasih suiteafternoon tearice paddiesmonkey forestcafe wayanoutdoor showereach morningfree shuttlecentral ubudshuttle service istraditional balinese stylesix nightsyogurton demandprivate terracebali trip
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 566 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! Superb rice field views from rooms, well kept grounds and spotless rooms. My favorite place to stay in nyu kuning. Offer free car service to and from ubud. Breakfasts are incredible! Homemade breads and yogurts. Staff is exceptional. 5 star place for sure. I keep coming back. Book early, they fill up quick.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

If I have chance to travel to Bali, Alam Jiwa is the only place I will stay for my whole holiday ! The staff helped us so much for our recent trip and they made sure our plan going smoothly. They have very comfortable shuttle van that take you anywhere in Ubud. You are immersed into the nature world while staying in Alam Jiwa, with the bird chirping, paddy field viewing at your bedroom, small stream flowing,etc...what a view...

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yyingpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Alam Jiwa is located in the village of Nyuh Kuning in Ubud, a 10-15 min walk from the Monkey Forest. An hour plus drive is needed to get to the hotel from Ngurah Rai International Airport and Alam Jiwa provides pick-up service for Rp. 350 000.

Our family stayed in the Hanoman Room (with a rice field view) and the Gelatik Room (garden view). We enjoyed our stay very much amidst a serene environment with lush greenery, lotus ponds and traditional Balinese architecture. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated with Balinese elements.

One of the highlights of our entire Bali trip was being able to enjoy the beautiful view of rice fields while savouring our scrumptious breakfast on the balcony. They have a decent number of options for breakfast mains and they're served with drinks, bread and fresh fruits (to be ordered a day in advance). On a clear day, we were lucky enough to see Mt. Agung from our room too! One can also enjoy complimentary afternoon tea in your room -- tea/coffee with the snack-of-the-day freshly made from Cafe Wayan, one of their sister establishments.

Other plus points of Alam Jiwa -- the shuttle service provided is very convenient; you only need to wait a few minutes before they arrange a driver to drop you off at Ubud center (or any place nearby actually), and generally a maximum wait of 15 min is required for a ride back to the hotel (just ask the staff of any store to contact the hotel for you, wait outside the store, and the driver will be there in a jiffy!).
I also appreciated some of the ecological practices Alam Jiwa adopted e.g. paper straws were used and mineral water bottles are also re-used (guests are encouraged to refill their bottles at the reception during their stay; a small electric kettle can also be provided upon request). The staff were courteous and helpful in answering our queries as well; the quality of service really makes or breaks your holiday eh?

Lastly, some feedback for the hotel -- it would be great if the fruit bowls in our rooms were actually filled with fresh fruits. We were quite surprised to discover mouldy and old-looking fruits in a hotel that served good food.
Also, a hair-dryer with greater wind speed would be the icing on the cake for guests who need to use hair-dryers regularly haha. I also hope that their credit card machines are regularly maintained to avoid inconveniencing guests in the future (which was what we experienced as we had to make payment at their sister companies instead). But overall, we had a great stay nonetheless and would love to return to Alam Jiwa!

Room Tip: Do stay in the rooms on the upper floors for an beautiful view of the rice fields!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

My husband and I stayed here 13 years ago and knew if we ever returned to Bali we'd want to return to this amazing place. The hotel consists of several bungalows, all with their own balconies overlooking rice paddys and beautifully landscaped grounds . Perfect location in a small village a 10 minute walk through the monkey forest to Ubud. Shuttle service to Ubud offered. Beautiful outdoor pool area. Fabulous breakfast included. Many restaurants and shops in the village.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different ground floor rooms. All were great. Very quiet except for the sounds of nature.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We were so thrilled to return to Alam Jiwa, a place we've thought about so frequently since our last stay in 2013. It was the standard in our minds, in many ways, and few places hit the marks we loved so much -- so we were excited.

And it turned out that our very short stay happened around Silent Day, which we did not know about until we arrived. On this day, no airplanes fly in or out of Bali, no one drives, people stay home and indoors, they don't use electricity after dark. We had two full days at Alam Jiwa, and Silent Day was one of them. We were told to stay in the hotel, not to leave the grounds -- we could use the pool, but quietly. There would be no food preparation on Silent Day, and since we couldn't leave the hotel our only real option was to buy a basket of prepared food.

We really wish we'd known this before we booked our stay. We were told how lucky we were to be in Bali for Silent Day, but losing one of our two days was a hard disappointment. The food we purchased for the day was disappointing and not good, which left us missing the wonderful breakfast and afternoon tea that we enjoyed. We were lucky to have both on our first full day, and breakfast before we left the last morning -- and they're still delicious as ever.

The room was just as wonderful as before; we'd booked the room Gelatik, which we'd had before, but were only able to have it for one night. For our last night we stayed in the room upstairs from Gelatik and we liked it even more. I wish I remembered the name of it.

The service was as good as always, the pool still beautiful, the grounds still exquisite. If you come around Nyepi (ask, before you book!), you'll have great fun with the variety of ogoh-ogoh being prepared for the parade, but Silent Day will cost you a full day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews