We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again...”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Another long overdue review.. Spent 2 nights last September at Alam Jiwa after the previous night at another Alam property - Kebun Indah. We were welcomed with a cool drink & then taken to our Deluxe Rice-Field View Room - Angsa.
The room had a canopied king size bed & a small day bed which we used as a single bed. The room had a lovely bathroom complete with bath & the shower looked out over the rice fields. On the terrace was a gorgeous big day bed that overlooked the rice fields & a pond.
Loved the breakfast served on your terrace each morning, my favourite being the banana pancakes with fresh grated coconut, palm sugar syrup & a squeeze of lime.
The pool was only a very short walk from our room & we never had trouble finding an empty sun lounge. Kids enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea by the pool which served a different type of cake each day.
We used the free shuttle service to be dropped into town for either lunch, dinner or some shopping. It was handy to ring them again when we were ready to come back.
One evening we ordered room service for dinner & the food is prepared by the Laka Leke Restaurant which is also owned by the Alam Group. The food was really delicious.
The grounds are just beautiful at Alam Jiwa & the kids loved exploring & taking plenty of photos of the scenery & wildlife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CantikSekali0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our expreience of Alam Jiwa was nothing short of excellent. This authentic Balinese style of accommodation was exactly what my wife and I wanted. Even though they were fully book it was a quiet and romantic experience. The staff were so friendly, we were greeted with smiles every day and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean , the breakfast was awesome. I have experienced many types of accommodation throughout S E Asia this was my favorite!
The view from our upper floor bungalow across the rice paddy's was sensational. Afternoon tea delivered to your door every afternoon by genuinely happy staff was such a pleasure.
And the price was very reasonable. I staff made us feel at home. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: The upper level bungalows get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed here before and their sister hotels. This trip was short however we loved our stay at Alam Jiwa. The staff are very accommodating and friendly, nothing is a problem. The rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast, though simple is delicious. Almost reluctant to write a review as it becomes increasingly hard to book here, we will stay again, hopefully for longer. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it makes up for it by feeling like home. Hope they never change a thing. Only small gripe is the wifi only works in the re epsilon, but think this is a common issue in Bali.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Macafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My second stay at Alam Jiwa confirmed that it's the perfect place for those seeking peace and quiet in beautiful natural surroundings, yet a short drive away from frenetic Ubud central. Located well off the main road in Nyuhkuning village (south of Monkey Forest), this thoughtfully designed, smallish hotel is a series of villas full of Balinese character, which are set on a ridge above a stream with a stunning outlook over rice fields. Most of the villas are two storeys with single rooms on each level, and are surrounded by luxuriant gardens that ensure privacy. The extremely spacious rooms have enormous bathrooms both indoor and outdoor, air conditioning or fans. Lower level rooms have large balconies facing the rice fields where you can enjoy a delicious breakfast or free afternoon tea to the sound of birds and running water. Upper level rooms have outdoor seating areas with garden views. Although Alam Jiwa is not at the upper end of luxury, it's location, character and wonderful staff set it apart from other Bali hotels I've stayed in. Service is clearly something the Alam hotels take great pride in. The staff are unfailingly charming and helpful, managers even remember your name. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to and from central Ubud, and will organise reliable drivers for trips further afield. There are a number of good restaurants close by and an excellent spa service is offered at Jiwa's sister resort Alam Shanti, 5 minutes walk away. I will return to this place again and again.

Room Tip: Check what kind of view your room has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Ganesa room and we loved it. The patio is in the front of the accommodations so you don't have to enter the room to enjoy the patio. The room is on the second floor with a great view of the rice paddies. We had breakfast every morning in the common area and it was delicious. Tea is served every afternoon (whenever you return from your day), and fresh fruit is always available. The staff is wonderful. The room has air conditioning and a fan and we found it very comfortable. We will be back.

The second floor rooms have better views. There are only 11 rooms, so the rooms are quiet. All room buildings are two floors, an upper room and a lower room, with outside shower and private bathtub and toilet. It is very private and you won't even notice the folks downstairs. The wi-fi was pretty good, but slow and sometimes unavailable.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have the best views of the rice paddies. All the rooms are quiet and beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2mchfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Recently had 4 days here as part of Urban Providers Tour of Bali. Didn't know that this facility was here even though we had been to Nyuhkuning Village before to visit the Birthing Center just down the road. There are several restaurants / warungs within easy walking distance or the hotel will bring in food from their sister establishments locally. The walk back through the edge of the monkey forest is an easy walk so Ubud is within a 20 minute walk or available via the shuttle busses the hotels offer.

The manager Komung dazzled us with his magical tricks and kept us entertained whenever we passed by. Astri was another delightful staff member who made the stay all that more enjoyable, both of the were always smiling and wishing you well as did all the staff.

Although we were there as a part of a group, we never felt we were over looked as the rooms and balconeys are large and relatively private. The breakfasts were served each morning on our balconey overlooking the rice fields whilst you could have an afternoon tea beside the pool area when you wanted, all served with balinese delights.

Ibu Wayan and her husbands compound ajoin the hotel and they can be proud of the wonderful staff and facility that they have. We would still be there if we could and Alam Jiwa is definitely on our list for further stays.

Room Tip: Any room has a view of the rice fields and from some you could catch glimses of Mt Agung
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StewartNeuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is more of home as there are values and ethics and caring that you don't feel elsewhere.
The small touches, the coffee/tea when and where you want, afternoon tea with delicious cake, lovely breakfast anywhere you want.
You hardly see or hear anyone.
Beds are a little hard but look romantic. Sheets annoying as they didn't stay tucked in (minor issue)
Wifi a little patchy but adequate.
Outdoor showers are great.
NB if there is no hot water it means they need to change the gas bottle so you will need to contact staff.
Great restaurants on the street outside.
Walking distance to monkey forest and you can walk around the outskirts without paying and get just as much fun. We even walked this at night and it was fine. It is actually quicker to walk via monkey forest to town as the traffic is horrendous at times.
They provide a transfer to Ubud town and return FOC but you just need to co-ordinate the timings. Nothing seems to be a problem.
Only 1 room key that you just leave in reception and Safe at reception - normally this would be a problem for us as we all do our own thing but it just worked.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#76 of 199 in Ubud
416 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
786 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#48 of 199 in Ubud
410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $94 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing