We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the World?”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #55 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We started staying at Alam Jiwa some ten years ago. Since then we have come back many times.

We have been fortunate enough to stay at loads of hotels in different places but nothing compares to Alam Jiwa.

Back in the old days you could simply drive by and find a room. Now the only problem is that you will have a really hard time booking this magical place.

Unless you are planning your trip way ahead of when you are going they will not be able to help. Most likely they will recommend one of the other Alam hotels - they are all good but only one is magic...

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have really nice rice paddy views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredrikWBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 545 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The pleasant staff were extremely efficient during our stay. Booking restaurants and activities and providing free transfers within Ubud was all part of the service. All requests were handled accurately and punctually. The room was tastefully decorated in traditional balinese style with a large daybed , lounge and table on the outdoor balcony. A beautiful setting overlooking the breathtaking green fields and the immaculate landscape surrounds, this is peace and serenity at its best. The sounds of running water from the creek and tiered ponds lull you to sleep. The traditional breakfast options are delicious. Would highly recommend visiting Ubud and staying at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaySpaCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our days in Alam Jiwa were a real pleasure. The rooms are wonderful and very spacious with a fantastic view on the rice fields. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast (served on our terrace) very god and the overall atmosphere was simply great - true, authentic Bali at its very best.

It is located not directly in Ubud, so it takes about 15 minutes by the free transport service to go to the town center (or you walk in 20 minutes through the Monkey Forrest - good during the day).

If you come to Ubud, Alam Jiwa is definitely a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

great staff, comfortable, large, clean rooms. beautiful views and great location next to monkey forest. peaceful and tranquil. nice pool. great massages and manicures within short walk. definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunalely we only had 2 nights at this accommodation. We loved the rooms especially the bathrooms which were semi open. The beds were extremely comfortable and the service was just great. We enjoyed sitting around the pool area relaxing. The breakfasts were delightful and we were spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: We were in a room for a couple I think they are all pretty much the same. We looked out over the ric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want peace and quiet this is the place to go. The hotel is loacated down a long alley way and backs on the rice fields and a flowing stream at the back of the units. The staff are extremely friendly and very efficient and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Every afternoon at 3-6pm there is "high tea" If you go to the office you can order coffee/tea and cake for free and they will bring it to your room. As you are located out of the hussle and bussle the hotel provides you with a free car service from early in the morning until 10pm at night. I would recommend this hotel (well not really a hotel, there are only 10 units there) to anyone that wants to wind down from all of the mayhem of Kuta/Legian and just kick back and relax..

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but take a CD player and kettle if you want to make your own coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Having come from lovely lombok we were a bit out of pace with the ubud masses, so loved coming back to this lovely village outside of town backing on the rice fields. I found the outdoor shower with views superbly relaxing and slept great with the sounds of the countryside all around us. Particularly liked having breakfast brought to our balcony each morning. Hotel staff were also very helpful - they arranged a very reasonably priced scooter rental for me, duly providing one with two helmets and two mirrors as requested, and were very helpful with shuttles in to and from town, and made dinner reservations for us. Overall a great stay and value for money in pricey (for indonesia) ubud

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#74 of 199 in Ubud
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 199 in Ubud
572 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#43 of 199 in Ubud
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing